We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steeped in history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astor House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astor House Hotel to your Saves list
Astor House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ripley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Steeped in history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Clean, basic but utterly fascinating. You could spend a day just catching up on the history of the place. Long atmospheric corridors, wood everywhere and breakfast in a ballroom that was once the Chinese stock exchange. Staff were helpful and polite, bed comfortably and breakfast fine. My partner is still asking where the lychees are for breakfast. If you are not looking for luxury this place has an aura of history that is unique.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorhousehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Astor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,The Astor House Hotel is a distinguished gathering place for both Chinese and foreign political figures, as well as well-known celebrities. Dignitaries such as Albert Einstein, Charlie Chaplin, Russell, and Zhou Enlai, have all stayed at this hotel. The Astor House Hotel is a place where Chinese culture and western civilization converged. The first electric lamp, the first telephone, the first semi-sound film, and the first Western-style social dance all made their debut in China at the Astor House Hotel.
Thanks for your affirmation and encouragement,we will continue to work hard and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    411
    91
    32
    12
See reviews for
129
281
107
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Astor earlier this month. We really enjoyed it. We were given a free upgrade into a lovely 5th floor room. The floor is creaky since it is the original red mahogany, but we were not bothered by this at all--it added a lot of character. The breakfast felt so elegant--beautiful music playing and delicious food that changed daily. We took some time just to wander the halls and look at the pictures, and see the various rooms where famous name people of ages past had stayed. Also, don't miss the in-house store. They said it was a closing sale, so perhaps it will not be there for long, but I felt like I made a killing there, with pearl strands and silk tapestries--the best prices I saw anywhere. I highly recommend a stay at the historic Astor!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I visited this hotel after seeing all the rave reviews. I have stayed in a wide range of hotels from 50p a night cockroach infested rat holes to £500+ a night. This was just the strangest hotel I have been in. Upon entering I just knew I didn't want to stay. There was a Russian wedding taking place. Some very strange guests - almost looked like it was a brothel. Walked down a long dark dingy corridor and was accosted by a Chinese 'matron' hollering at us not to smoke - I don't even smoke! Got to the room and just didn't want to spend the night there. Drab, dreary, creepy. Despite having paid for 2 nights in advance, I grabbed a cab and booked into The Westin, which was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is close to transport, the Bund and local attractions. The hotel had a wonderful atmosphere and the buffet breakfast has plenty on offer from Western to Asian cuisine. The breakfast room is beautiful. We were upgraded to the executive room which was amazing. Staff were friendly. A lovely place that won't disappoint

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel has a great atmosphere, the rooms are comfortable. A very authentic place. However, if you like to have a relaxed breakfast, there are far better places to stay at. The breakfast choice is not extensive, and the service poor. We had wait long time for a coffee, that was not even tasty. And at the end decided to have breakfast elsewhere. Overall not worth the money.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This historic hotel is five minutes away fron The Bund and other attractions. When we arrived we were offered an upgrade to the exceutive floor for a small addition. The room was beatiful and very very big with a king size bed, a desk and armchairs and a large bathroom.
There was always at least one english speaker at the front desk, very patient and helpful.
During our stay the wifi wasn't functioning well but it could have been a temporary problem. I don't know.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorhousehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Astor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,Stay in Astor House Hotel,you can feel the elegant of the old building,you can enjoy immediate access to the world famous Garden Bridge,Huangpu River,the Bund and the Nanjing Road.
Concerning about the Wifi you proposed,we plan to speed up WIFI in recently,we promise you will surely get the convenient Internet experience.
Thanks for choosing us and comment,we will continue to work hard and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, not modern but satisfactory. We stayed on the executive floor for 4 nights. Service was ok. Wifi doesn't work very well. Comfortable beds. Breakfast is ok. The location is GREAT! So close to the Bund...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor House Hotel

Address: No.15 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#116 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#201 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astor House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Astor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor House Hotel Shanghai
Astor Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.