We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel near the Bund” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astor House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Astor House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astor House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Historic hotel near the Bund”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This well preserved hotel is situated a short walk across a bridge from the Bund, making it's location perfect for a nightly stroll. We had two deluxe rooms and they were very spacious, there was only wi-fi in the lobby unless you upgraded your room type. The breakfast was 78 rmb for the buffet (it was very nice but quite expensive). There is plenty of memorabilia within the hotel and a stroll along the vast corridors is really interesting.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    385
    83
    30
    11
See reviews for
103
235
89
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our treat for our family trip and was not disappointed. Building oozes character and stories from the past. We had 2 large spacious, comfortable well appointed dux twin rooms in keeping with the building design with modern bathroom.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not the best we ever had but the setting in the Peacock room made up any shortfall.
Easy walk to the top of the Bund and 15-20 minute walk to Metro (East Nanjing Rd - Line 2) but metered taxis are inexpensive for travel further a field.
If this has helped you please press helpful vote below. Thanks.
Happy travels

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beautiful old hotel at the top end of the Bund, yes it has creaky floorboards and could do with a lick of paint here and there but you feel immersed in history, worth taking the time to explore as it's like staying in a museum. Massive rooms, we had a queen bed each! We were at the back of the hotel away from the road and had blissfully quiet nights sleep. Very reasonably priced and easy to get to as it's abit of a landmark. Taxis easy to obtain from here but so much on your door step to look at too. Would recommend to friends who like us enjoy the unusual hotel stay to the standard boxes that so many new hotels provide. Have at least one breakfast in the Peacock Ballroom just for the fun of it! Loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel on first floor nice and quiet although no lift, but the staff managed our bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Agree with grazmulcahy - "Creepy but great"

Book this hotel coz' of friend's recommendation of how historical and special abt this historical building. The hotel feels so different in daytime to evening.

Check in at 8pm and feels like a haunted house. Stayed at the 3rd floor and a staff was waiting at the lift lobby... Greeting me AND... handed me a small fruit basket and asked me to carry that welcome fruit to my own room. HUH?!

Room is huge but other than the door handle lock, there is no door shaunt / lock from inside. Doesn't feel that safe.

Everything in the room is clean, new and comfortable. Such a big contrast to the building / corridor itself. But the shower head is hopeless. Maybe they want you to experience the low water pressure in the 20's as this is the 1st hotel in Shanghai has water come into the room.

Location is unbeatable! Next to Grand Hyatt, small bars and several convenient stores in 5 mins walk. 1 mins from the white bridge connected to the Bund.

For 1st time travelers or just short stay in Shanghai, it could be a good choice to stay.

Room Tip: Book at least Executive Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

It's a bit like a haunted house or something out of cluedo, but it's good value and right on the bund.

I stayed in the room that Albert Einstein stayed in. I enjoyed it a lot for my short trip to shanghai.

There's definitely some cooler and nicer hotels in shanghai, but I would stay here again if I got stuck. It's unlike any other place I've stayed that's for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Being in Shanghai for the first time, I took a BBC audio tour of the city, where Astor House Hotel was one of the notable historical attractions. When I searched for an extra night accommodation, and stumbled (on booking.com) upon this hotel at less than $80, I could not believe it! I thought maybe there is something wrong: run down, or undergoing construction, or maybe another property masquerading as a historic hotel. I booked it. Upon arrival, I was given a free upgrade to a Classic Double room. This room is large, with an optimal combination of luxury of yesteryear and modern facilities (which included free fast internet, flat screen TV, and everything else you can imagine). Large room, legendary high ceilings, old parquetry. Bathroom larger the size of some hotel rooms. In my book, this is over 5 stars. This was my 4th hotel of my trip, and the only one where staff spoke very good English. Also excellent buffet breakfast, combination or Western and Chinese dishes. Nothing to fault this hotel for. The only slight problem was that air conditioner switched off during the night. As someone else said, so much sense of history, and without any compromise on quality. And location: in the heart of historical Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our second visit to Shanghai and we stayed at the Astor House again and were not disappointed. The room rate is very competitive considering the standard of hotel and the size of the rooms which are all huge. It is a very historic hotel, close to the Bund over the small bridge which is lit up at night. The staff speak very good English and were very helpful on where to buy train tickets, finding a pharmacy and best ways to get around. From the hotel you can wander around the back streets of Shanghai or just head for the Bund and take in the amazing views across to Pudong. Would definitely stay there on our next visit to Shanghai.

Room Tip: All rooms have high ceilings and character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor House Hotel

Address: No.15 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#99 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#168 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astor House Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Astor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor House Hotel Shanghai
Astor Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.