We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant ,wow,beyond 5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.20 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Elegant ,wow,beyond 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Will return...fabulous,location ,rooms,service,luxury,the most amazing day spa,spotless,
Incredible beds for fab nights sleep,and most of all the staff..the moment you step out of the
Vehicle the service starts....a impressive hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't have a few to the harbour,I believe all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Lyndzm,

I would like to sincerely thank you for coming to stay with us at our iconic property during your time in Shanghai.

We are so pleased to see that you had such a memorable stay with us and that our colleagues made such a difference in your experience with their attentive service right from the arrival.

We greatly appreciate this feedback that you have shared that will allow us to recognize many colleagues for a job well done.

Again thank you very much and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future should you be returning to Shanghai for another visit.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    179
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
140
292
61
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have stayed at many 5 star hotels across Asia, and without wishing to sound spoiled, many are the same and you never really know where you are once you are in the building.
Not so with the Peace hotel. The building, decorations and many pictures on the walls exude history. It is a delight to walk around, and worth reading through the history of this amazing place.
The staff are very helpful, the facilities provide for all your needs and the various eateries mean that you need not leave .
The surrounding area is also a pleasure to explore, with the Bund and a view of the Pudong skyline directly in front. Bars and restaurants are also close by.
Highly recommended, and excellent with kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear ajphelps,

Thank you very much for taking your time to detail so well your experience here at our iconic property. We are thrilled that you had an outstanding stay and also appreciated our historical and cultural significance dating back to the late 1920’s when Sir Victor Sassoon built the Cathay Hotel.

I will look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team. Thank you very much for your feedback and we truly hope that you will be able to return and visit us again.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here for the 2nd time and this hotel will not disappoint.

Firstly, it's on the Bund and a nice stroll on the Bund at night is not up be missed with the Pudong pearl tower visible from hotel entrance. This hotel with the green roof top is a distinct feature within the Bund landscape. Further on about 10 minutes away is Nanjing Road east where the shops are.

The entrance of the hotel looks normal till you walk in and the lobby gives you a sense of the historical significance of this hotel when it was known as the Cathay and the most expensive hotel in Shanghai at one time.


The rooms are spacious and classic in design. Extremely comfortable beds and lovely bathroom witha nice bathtub.

Service is nice and polite and very attentive. The staff especially the concierge staff are extremely helpful and can organize tours for you.

If this doesn't already entice you to stay here, there's a jazz bar near the lobby with the oldest jazz band where the members are all above 70 years old !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear JoeCool_KL,

I am truly grateful for you sharing your experiences at our iconic property. Your feedback really touches on all aspects of our service culture and I will be very proud to share this with our entire team.

We are also so delighted to see that you got to experience our world famous Old Jazz Band. It truly is an experience that cannot be missed by anyone visiting Shanghai.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that it will not be long before your next visit to Shanghai so we can welcome you back.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

What a characterful hotel. Elegant rooms, large, classy tiling in large shower with claw bath. View from floor 8 breakfast hotel is breathtaking. U know I are somewhere special in this place.
The ceilings at breakfast are a work of art, the ballroom is unbelievable. The downstairs traditional jazz bar has great character, not the usual modern set up.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear ozzieslost,

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us during your time in Shanghai as well as for taking the time to share your experiences.

We are delighted that your stay was memorable and what you should expect from a luxury hotel experience. I also greatly appreciate this opportunity you have given me to thank our staff for their outstanding service to you.

We hope that you will be back to Shanghai in the near future and we look forward showing you our warm and engaging service once again.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend and it was like stepping back in time. The art deco feel of the hotel was spot on for our stay and when you add on a Jazz bar and also Cin Cin cocktail lounge it was nigh on perfect. What impressed us the most though was the service that was provided by all staff it was an absolute pleasure staying at this hotel and we certainly would stay again

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. We are a Fairmont Club member so this gave some little extras such as choc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear ChrisBra63,

On behalf of all the colleagues here at the Fairmont Peace Hotel I would like to extend our most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay with us.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share this wonderful feedback about your experiences. It is always of special significance to us when we here from our loyal Fairmont Presidents Club members. I am also especially delighted that it was our staff that really made the difference for you with their service and I will make sure to thank them for this.

We sincerely hope that you will be able to plan a return visit to Shanghai and our iconic property so that we can show you our warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We decided that this was the place to stay when we visited Shanghai in 2010 and we were not disappointed. From the time you enter the hotel you realise this is a wonderful place to stay, great reception and foyer and when you get further into the building the surprises continue. We decided to upgrade to exec lounge for the 12 days we stayed and this was a wise move, It saved us a load of money, the food was good and enough so you didnt have to go out for a meal every day. The room quality was good, plenty of space and an area to make hot drinks. Service was very good and discrete. The jazz band was well worth listening to, straight jazz standards and a good singer. Great massage - we had one each week we stayed, the pool was nice too.

Room Tip: Book the exec lounge for breakfast, afternoon snacks and evening canapes, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear MarcWeinzweig,

I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation for you coming to stay with us as well as for taking the time to share these wonderful comments. We are always so delighted to be able to welcome back our return guests and I am very happy that our team took great care of you once again.

It is especially important for us as when we do have guests staying with us for extended periods as we always want to ensure that throughout the entire stay we are making every effort to make you feel special.

It is also great to see that you got to enjoy our world famous Old Jazz Band and also that you were able to enjoy a relaxing treatment in our Willow Stream Spa.

We are looking forward to your next visit and until we wish you all the best.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Fairmont Peace hotel is well located and provides good services. Our suite was fine equipped clean and well maintained. Staff was polite, friendly and always helpful. They could only smile a bit more. The only problem was English language, there should be definitely improvement done in order for staff to understand and communicate better.

Room Tip: suite on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Evifka77,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your time in Shanghai. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted that your overall stay was great however we will certainly look at your comments for opportunities to improve our service.

I certainly hope that you will be looking at a return to Shanghai in the future and we would love to be able to welcome you back.

Best wishes,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.20 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#255 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.