We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful time at the Peace Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.20 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
MA, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful time at the Peace Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent location, great room, spacious bathroom, comfortable bed. Our room was quiet even though we were facing the street.
Spa with swimming pool was outstanding, and nice to unwind in the evening.
Excellent breakfast buffet with beautiful view of the river.
Concierge was very helpful and attentive getting us train tickets before we arrived.
Afternoon tea was pricey, but like a small meal, and worth it for seeing the tea pouring acrobatics! Gas masks/respirator mask were found in the closet, but we also found them in our hotel in Bejing - to be used in event of a fire,
Fairmont tip-Enroll in the "President's Club" at no charge online, and you will be able to have free internet, otherwise there might be a charge for use in the room.

Room Tip: Confusing floor layout, seemed quiet everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal N, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We really appreciate for your great comments. Thank you for choosing us and for the great compliments on our room facilities, guest service and location. We look forward to having you back at Fairmont Peace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    180
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
140
294
62
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central NJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Loves, loved, loved this hotel. Excellent location, helpful staff and gorgeous rooms. The rooms were spacious, full of ammenities (we enjoyed the expresso machine (complimentary), generous towels and a dressing area with vanity. The bathroom itself is bigger than a New York hotel room. We were 2 adults and a teenager and we never felt crowded. Housekeeping staff was excellent and provided 5 star service.

We enjoyed drinks and tea in the jasmine lounge, a fantastic buffet breakfast overlooking the Bund and watchful security. Spa service will get better with time and a bit more organization.

No question this is the place to stay when you want location, top service and old workd elegance.

Room Tip: Can be a bit confusing- we were on the first floor and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont Peace Hotel in Shanghai. It reopened two years ago after a 4 year renovation and is absolutely wonderful. They have restored all the Arte Deco charm and grandeur. The rooms are very spacious and well-appointed with all the "fancy amenities". There is a museum in the hotel that is very interesting as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

For a long time the Bund and this hotel in particular was symbol of colonoialsm, and this is still noticeable by some of the decrepit buildings near the hotel. Today, with China's remergency as a world power it has come to simpolize it's new found wealth and focus on luxury.

We were upgraded to a suite that was very spacious; our bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms I stayed in. Not only that, the suites are themed based on the one of the colonial powers so you'll get a sense of the furnishings from that period. Marble and every accoutrement you can think of has been fitted in these rooms - definitely one of the best Fairmont hotels I've stayed at.

Close to the river and Nanjing road, the hotel is also in a great location - although there is still a bit of seediness after hours. Only downside is that the it's a bit of maze inside the hotel, like getting to the pool, I gather because of the structural limitations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I loved staying at the Fairmont Peace Hotel in Shanghai. Although expensive, it is a real experience -- elegant, luxurious, and spacious. Although the style is not my favourite (I prefer modern/contemporary), I loved the rooms and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to treat themselves to a beautiful and relaxing space. The first room had two queen beds in a separate bedroom with a full living room with separate desk area, washroom with huge claw-footed tub (with tv on the wall) and enclosed shower and toilet areas, coffee area in the hallway, and full-size closet with safe! The second room was smaller, but with the same huge washroom with all the amenities, a hallway/full closet/coffee area, and large room with king sized bed, desk area, couch, and armoire with a flat screen tv. I had the opportunity to see a number of rooms, since I was here on business with colleagues, and was pleasantly surprised to see the unique features of the different configurations -- all were beautifully appointed, however, and spacious. We stayed at the Fairmont at the beginning of our trip, and then enjoyed it so much that we returned for our last evening. The staff even turn down the bed in the evening, put on music and "night lighting" (a great feature of these rooms) and refresh towels. Decadence at its finest!

Although expensive at about $35 Cdn/US, the breakfast buffet is extensive, delicious, and fresh. The food choices are almost endless with both Chinese and Western selections, and the quality of food is high. I enjoyed yogurt and croissants, a freshly made omelet, and some great cheeses (which we did not find anywhere else). The restaurant is on the 8th floor and overlooks the Bund, which is an architectural treasure chest.

The hotel is expensive, but you definitely get your money's worth here. Since we stayed multiple nights and there were a few people in our group, we were able to negotiate a really good price with the manager ahead of the trip. If you're a Fairmont President's Club member, then you can access free Wifi in your room (you can sign-up for free on the spot).

The hotel is so large that the hallway system can be daunting depending on where your room is located in relation to the elevators. Our first room was at the opposite end of the elevators and was very confusing to find, despite the fact that I am quite good with spatial orientation! However, the quality of the room was so outstanding that this was a minor issue. Also, the hotel is extremely quiet, even on the street side.

I highly recommend a stay at the Fairmont Peace Hotel when in Shanghai and would happily visit here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lovely hotel in fact luxurious! Room was large with everything finished quite elegantly. Bath was vey large with double sinks. The sinks were on opposite walls, so you really had your own space. There was a cartridge coffee maker. I know a lot of people really like those but I'm not a fan. There also was an electric kettle. The coffee making area was seperated from the bath and the sleeping area, so if someone was an early riser there is no noise. The one negative is the elevator situation. Because this was originally a home it has made it necessary to take the elevator to the Lobby and then transfer to another elevator to go to the dining areas. Location was great and so were the views. Easily walkable to many sites, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Recently renovated, this historic gem is beautifully located on the Bund. Step literally across the street, and you are on the vast promenade of the Bund itself - with the extraordinary view across the river to Pudong, and its 20-year-new "Manhattan" skyline. Extraordinary! The lobby maintains the gracious feel of a by-gone era (although don't try taking pictures - that is apparently a no-no - just wait 'till the pesky staffer goes and snap away!). Our room was huge - you could hold meeting in the bathroom! Restaurants, however, are a bit sketchy. We arrived late because of delayed flights and, not wanting a big Chinese meal, settled for "Victor's." It was OK, but had a very limited selection and we were hustled out at 10:00 PM. The breakfast room is on the top floor & has a nice view, but it doubles as a Chinese restraurant in the evening, and the decor is a bit jarring for breakfast. The buffet is, however, very good - if not really extensive. Altogether, though, a very good way to experience the "old" and "new" Shanghai!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.20 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#253 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.