We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with easy access to Nanjing Rd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Central Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 454 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A nice hotel with easy access to Nanjing Rd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I hired a junior suite as I was visiting with my mum, and knew we would need the separate sitting area for guests. The hotel is a 3 minute walk to Nanjing Rd which is also near a train station. We had dinner in the Chinese Restaraunt, and found the wait staff very helpful and friendly and the food was good too. We also went for a massage, which was good too. We were there during the Expo, and were able to get tickets for it from the concierge, which saved heaps of waiting time once we arrived there. Overall a nice hotel

Room Tip: I booked via the internet, which usually gives cheaper prices A junior suite gave us a separate sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    218
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
119
22
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Had a great room over looking Nanjing Road during China National holidays--view straight down over entertainment area. Good hotel service and enjoyable meals. On Off bus had stop just to the rear. Handy and felt safe for a single female traveller. Good secure atm machine area behind hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivoli
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

In the downtown, in the middle of the main Est Nanjing Road, nearest to the two main metro lines, strategic for visiting Shanghai and neighborhood.
Rooms and common areas very comfortable, clean, large, noiseless, tasteful chinese style.
Kindly and professional staff, very good tea room, free wifi on demand,
Recommended value for money definitely above average.
Internal both served and self service restaurant, both very good, value for quality and money.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My sister and I stayed here as part of a tour but extended to stay on our own for two days as we wanted to go to the world expo too. The hotel is a block back from the main pedestian road. It is easy to get to the main shopping strip and many tourist attractions from here. If you can't walk to where you want to go, taxis are very cheap. The staff were very helpful and friendlly. If we needed something they were at our door to help in a few minutes. The bathroom was well equipped and didn't have a showere that leaked over the floor (which many hotels seem to have). There was plenty of room to hang clothes and lots of drawers. The only negatives would be that the beds were very firm and we could hear other people coming in and out of their doors.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Could not have been better located, 10 mins walk to the closest station, 25-30 mins walk to the Bund.
Buffet breakfast was great plenty to choose from, the usual fruit, meat, cheese as well as a fully cooked english style breakfast along with a chinese selection.
Buffet evening meal was very reasonable about £15 per person good choice and included beer, water or coke.
Rooms were clean and spacious, good selection of toiletries in the bathroom, shower over the bath.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I loved this hotel when I was in shaghai for bizness... very spacious, clean and great rates! I highly recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed here while visiting Expo 2010. The room was large with all the amenities expected of a western style hotel. Breakfast in the buffet got a little crowded and it was a good idea to go early. The buffet dinner in the same room was OK, but I preferred their Asian restaurant where I had two very good meals. The hotel staff were friendly and very obliging.

There is a small convenience store within the hotel and they sell wine. I wanted a bottle to take to the room but they all had corks, and the store did not sell cork screws. However I found a shop nearby where I could by wine with a screw cap. .

It was an easy walk from the hotel to People's Square station to get to Expo, about 5 stops away on Line 8. You can walk there via a pedestrian mall with nice shops. Another option for getting to Expo was to take a cab to the dedicated station, where they have a line which takes you right into the site. The only drawback with this was hailing a cab at the station on the way back, so the line to People's Square is a more reliable way for the return journey.

The Central Hotel served my purposes perfectly and did not break the budget. I was on a package which an agent had arranged, including 4 nights accommodation, breakfast, airport transfers by car, a 3 day expo ticket and a train and bus pass. Some cabs also accept this pass.

I found the internet rates in the business centre a little expensive, as you pay for a minimum of 15 minutes at a time then so much per minute, and the connection was not fast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.555 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#64 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#187 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Central Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.