We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Makes a Difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai to your Saves list
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $200 USD Credit
Ranked #42 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quality Makes a Difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel contributed to making this first time visit to Shanghai memorable. Front desk and bell staff were exceptionally welcoming. Ignore negative inputs from grumpy folks like Snooz1. We were always seated immediately at The Tables restaurant for breakfast regardless of time. Spend four nights in mid-April and could not have been more pleased. My virtually new room on a mid-level floor was very quiet. Lots of attention to good service. Best of all, cost of room was modest by Ritz metrics. Centrally located. Easy to travel around the city inexpensively by taxi or subway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    323
    111
    23
    10
See reviews for
64
110
50
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Nice hotel on Najing West Rd near all of the international shopping. The hotel sits within the Shanghai Centre complex which means that there are some dining options close along with ATMs, shopping, etc. The fitness center was extensive and well maintained. The breakfast was standard for western hotels in Shanghai and generally very busy if you sot there after 8am. The rooms were a little small and needed some updating. The carpet in my room was stained and needed replaced. Taxis were difficult to get in the morning and the queue was long after 8am. The staff seemed to bend to loud complainers and put them on taxis before the queue position, which was not popular with the folks waiting their turn. All in all, its nice, but not quite up to the Ritz standards that I am used to, particularly when compared to the Ritz in Pudong. To be fair, the rates at the Portman are lower.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek F, Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had while staying in our hotel.

We are taking all our guests feedback very seriously and will work with all of our Ladies & Gentlemen to improve our guests' experiences. Please allow us to reach out to you to discuss on how we can recreate another memorable experience and to welcome you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
All the Ladies & Gentlemen of The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

at my current trip in Shanghai i stayed in the Portman twice and was both times under impressed almost nobody inside the hotel knows the real Ritz service i haven't felt at home the way you should at the Ritz maybe its the Ritz with Chinese characteristics
also the wait at the breakfast was quite long to get a seat if you came at the wrong time quality of their coffee if you don't ask for specific for fresh coffee is quite bad they should use some of the better coffees now available in Shanghai like Willamsburg coffee roasters from Shanghai or Sumarion coffee also from Shanghai room was nice i was upgraded to a JR Suite on my second stay after complaining about my first room on first visit

also there is construction on a new front entrance instead of doubling up on welcome staff outside they reduced it to maybe 2 people who don't even move when you arrive with bags the first time i was asked if i need help with my bags was when i was 5 feet from the check in counter and mind you it was raining lest week in shanghai

i am a Marriott silver member also an SPG gold member so i know quite a bit about hotels

Room Tip: get to breakfast early or late if you dont want to wait
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek F, Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincereky apologise for the unpleasant experience you had in our hotel.

We are looking into all your feedback in detail and will work with all our Ladies & Gentlemen and the departments concerned to ensure such experience will never happen again.

Please allow our quality team to reach out to you to discuss personally on how we can improve your next stay with us.

Once again Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai.

Sincerely,

The Ladies & Gentlemen of The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very nice hotel, close to shopping area and also walking distance to JingAn temple. This is also the close subway station with direct connection to pudong airport in east direction or to railway station in west direction
The hotel offer great breakfast buffet, restaurants nice bar. There are also many restaurants close to hotel e.g. Lynn

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went on a Viking River Cruise to China and this was the hotel that our group stayed at in Shanghai at the beginning of the trip. There were two nights with Viking but we flew in a day early and paid for one extra night to adjust to the time difference. We enjoyed our stay and the hotel is well located with lots of shopping in the area. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and welcoming. We ate at a casual Italian Restaurant right in front of the hotel that was quite good. They had great pizza actually. The hotel lobby was under construction but did not affect the inside lobby. The room was comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfast buffet at "Tables" was just okay. We also ate dinner there one night and it was somewhat disappointing. We stayed at the Ritz in Singapore last year and it was much nicer, but as part of the Viking trip it was a nice choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good hotel with lovely rooms, although unexpected service fee for cleaning of rooms I mustn't have read about. Despite the fee it was a really lovely cleaning service and personalised touches with large bottles of extra water delivered and a personalised note left for us. Great gym and great service for the gym and water/towels etc. The hotel itself is next to a construction site or something but the noise doesn't carry up to the rooms. I wouldn't stay here again though as there wasn't anything exceptional about the hotel or restaurants. However it is convenient to get to shopping although quite a walk from the Bund and other major tourist spots.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business for the second time and found it excellent. Restaurants good and particularly the selection in the complex itself. Rooms also well appointed with good views. Gym is excellent. Service is patchy though - typical in China in my experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai

Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#316 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.