We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai to your Saves list
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $200 USD Credit
Ranked #44 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 901 Reviews
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very large complex
Ritz treatment from hotel staff
well appointed rooms clean and bright
They have a great band in the lounge, soft romantic music
Understaffed and inexperienced employees at the restaurant
Hard to get service, poorly managed
the complete opposite of the Ritz Beijing where they are all over you with attention and service

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    323
    111
    23
    10
See reviews for
64
110
50
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Interesting Ritz Carton, clearly older than other Shanghai properties but high quality nonetheless. Rooms are fine, perhaps not quite 5* Deluxe though. Club level is nice and up to par with worldwide club lounges I have stayed in.

The service throughout is decent, although language issues for Western travellers seems to create some issues, as is common in many hotels across China.

The worst thing about the hotel are the exterior doormen/bell staff. I do not know what training camp they have come from but it is definitely not Ritz Carlton - you would get a better welcome at a Holiday Inn. They seem lazy, completely incompetient, do not speak a word of English, and do not open doors (either taxi or the hotel doors). I saw a woman struggling with a suitcase whilst one of the bell staff just stared blindly into the air - I had to open the door for her in the end! This really lets the hotel down on first impression, not just to the guests but to passers by. What is baffling is when you enter the lobby of the hotel there seem to be properly trained hotels to assist guests, but outside this is not the case.

In China where labour prices are cheap, there is no excuse for not having at least four PROPER exterior door staff at all times. (especially given this is a 600 room hotel). Also what happened to the Old Style Ritz Doormen with a top hat - The Four Seasons still have one in both of their properties in Shanghai? The door staff need some serious Western management training in guest care and sincerity, rather than blank stares and a lazy attitude - they are the only aspect really letting down an otherwise pretty good property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin J, Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai for your recent stay, and I am terribly sorry that your stay with us is not perfect. This is certainly not what you or I expect, and we will deal with this immediately. Please feel free to contact with me at Alvin.jia@ritzcarlton.com if your travel plan brings you back to Shanghai, I will personally take care of you and ensure your experience is flawless and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I recently spent an extended stay in the Portman. I have nothing but good to say about the experience. While that is expected from the Ritz Carlton, a few high points:
- the staff in very friendly in a city not know for its customer service
- the concierge has cards for many of the top restaurants in town. Critical for communicating with taxi drivers.
- While the bar is crazy expensive, the music was excellent and made for a great environment
- Breakfast was very good with all you could hope for.
- There are several easy restaurants right outside the door for those nights that you don't want to order room service but don't feel like venturing out. The will all do takeout.
- There is a western supermarket just outside the Portman in the basement level. Since I was there for an extended visit, it was nice to be able to buy a few items and find an ATM just outside the door.

And of course the room was lovely. I also visited the fitness center. The facilities are first rate. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai as part of a Viking River Cruises land tour. We were upgraded to a 40th floor suite due to a situation that occurred at their property in Beijing. The room was large and spotlessly clean with an enormous marble bathroom with soaking tub and a large shower room. The toilet was in a separate room. The view of Shanghai from the 40th floor was pretty spectacular. The restaurant, Tables, had a large buffet breakfast and as part of our tour we were also given a dinner buffet. There were abundant choices at both meals. I ordered a glass of wine and my husband a beer at dinner and the cost was a lot cheaper for the quality than at the Ritz-Carlton Financial St. in Beijing, however the buffet was much more intimate with better service in Beijing--however service in Shanghai may have been slow as our group descended on them all at once for dinner after a long day on the road and in the air. A very convenient amenity was just in front of the hotel--there was a shopping mall that included a pharmacy and a supermarket and other shops including a Starbucks. My husband caught the respiratory virus that was circulating on our tour and I was able to buy ibuprofen at the pharmacy for a reasonable price and the supermarket provided reasonably priced snacks and drinks. As the hotel is on Nanjing Rd. there were many upscale boutiques in the vicinity including Stella McCartney, Tom Ford, Ferragamo, Gucci, and on and on. Fun! Given the cleanliness, location on Nanjing Rd., and the conveniences available I would definitely recommend this property to anyone staying in Shanghai.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were in great shape and quite comfortable. Staff is very friendly. Nice breakfast in Tables. Very nice health club. Great shopping and wide selection of restaurants adjacent to the hotel. Metro station is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I think the hotel is quite overpriced, if compared to the hotels in pudong. The room is very clean, loved the bathroom. Food is good, especially the breakfast buffet spread. Service wise they are top notch, but I think the hotel experience could have been much better if there is investment into renovating the old building. Sticks out like a sore thumb compared to the new hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Portman Ritz-Carlton in Shanghai during my business travels to China. The hotel is absolutely fantastic. The only downside is the fact that you have to pay for wifi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin J, Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your nice comments and we are providing complimentary WIFI in all guest rooms and public areas, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai

Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#304 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.