We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 021, China (Nanjing West Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Executive Club Package
Ranked #54 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very good staff, fantasctic location close to restaurants and stores, rooms crystal cleaned, very good set of equipments in the room as iron, TV, etc. Breakfast with a lot of options, fresh fruit and tasty local dishes. Check in and check out very efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Assistant Director of Public Relations at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We’re thrilled to hear that you love the facilities and service, and your praise will definitely encourage us to pursue future progress! Hope you won’t wait too long to come back!
Yours sincerely,
Vivian Zhang
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    221
    66
    14
    12
See reviews for
53
61
31
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel I recommend highly. The rooms are spacious and the staff excellent.
The buffet breakfast is one of the best that I have had in China. They serve excellent espresso
coffee good enough to taste like in Italy. Excellent location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Assistant Director of Public Relations at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy our hotel’s location in the central area of Puxi as well as our various food outlets. It’s great to hear your enjoy your stay – we hope we’ll get to welcome you back soon!
Yours sincerely,
Vivian Zhang
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchengladbach, Germany
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Elegant hotel with all the services you need during the stay in Shanghai. The attention they pay to details is impressive, as well as the cleanliness of the big and comfortable room. The restaurant is managed by an italian chef who knows how to do it, delicious food. Swimming pool, sauna and a fully equipped gym are included in the price of the stay. All the other services are a bit too expensive (wireless for more than 2 devices 120RMB/day, laundry very costly) but hey, this is Four Seasons.
A taxi ride to the Bund takes about 15min.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Assistant Director of Public Relations at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. It gives us great pleasure to read! As the first Four Seasons Hotel opened in 2002 in China, our staffs always pride themselves on being personal and helpful in every way possible, so we’re delighted to hear our service, room, and food& beverage team left such a favorable impression. We’ll be sure to pass along your compliments to Italian Chef Matteo!
Whether for a business or pleasure, we hope you’ll visit us again in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
Vivian Zhang
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel regularly since its inception because of its location. Please do not stay at this Four Seasons assuming the typically world-best standard that you would expect from Four Seasons. This is more like your typical Hilton - from the room layout and decor to the quality of the restaurants. Services standard is low - terrible, actually - but, that you would expect from most hotels in China still (except a small handful). Three things go for this hotel: the gym (and the pool), low rate (check internet) and its central location. If you are looking for a luxury hotel in Shanghai, there are much better options elsewhere. Stay here if you need its location.

Room Tip: Lower floors could get nosy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Assistant Director of Public Relations at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time posting your recent stay review and indicated areas for our improvement. It would be highly appreciated if you could provide us more details at our email at pr.shg@fourseasons.com

We are very pleased to receive your kind comments and would take actions to enhance our services. As the First Four Seasons Hotel in China opened in 2002, we proud ourselves providing authentic Four Seasons world-class service. Our sincere apology for the product and services shortfall caused you inconvenience and fail to meet with your expectation during your recent stay.

The hotel renovation has been on schedule this year, and we believe it will surely impress you with our new look. We truly hope to having another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel and welcoming you back to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai again.

We look forward to hearing or speaking personally with you.

Yours Sincerely,

Vivian Zhang
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

this is a very good hotel and only reason i did not give it more stars is that the rooms are comfortable but very ordinary.what makes the difference is the staff, let me give you some examples; we had dinner at the hotel Chinese restaurant and had some questions about the food, the food and beverage manager came personally to take care of our needs, and the meal was really memorable.
Jason at the concierge desk made several long international calls in order to help us solve a plane reservation matter, jenny at the lounge was always friendly and made us fell very welcome without being intrusive ..and by the way if you get the lounge( which is totally woth it) try the dim sum, th!ey are the best I ever tasted

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Assistant Director of Public Relations at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. Our staffs pride themselves on being personal and helpful in every way possible, so we’re delighted to hear that our Concierge, Front Desk, Service, and Food& Beverage team left such a favorable impression. We’ll be sure to pass along your compliments to Jason and Jenny! Also, we’re excited to share that the hotel renovation has been put on agenda, which will address the issues you mentioned. Whether for business or pleasure, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Vivian Zhang
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Close by People' Square (a fantastic Chinese Cultural Musuem is located there) and all the good shopping streets.
If you are not a chinese/asiatic food fun, than there is a fantastic italian chef ready to please your taste.
Good english spoken by the reception staff (be aware! In Shanghai, even some international hotel chain strugle to have good english speaker receptionist!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Assistant Director of Public Relations at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking a moment to write this review about your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, which is also the key factor that attracts guests worldwide. As it is located in the prime district of central Shanghai, our hotel combines the traditional Shanghainese culture essence with prosperous commercial circle, bustling shopping, and entertainment center. A few steps away, there is the famous lane-house - Shi Ku Men. We believe you will explore a lot of fun there!
Thank you again for all your kindly praise; it will definitely encourage us to make more progress! Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Vivian Zhang
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel is well located and the staff are very helpful. The fitness facilities are the best with plenty of treadmills and reasonable weights. Breakfast buffet is good. Rooms are large and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Assistant Director of Public Relations at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai and providing us such lovely feedback. Your praise has been conveyed to the related departments, and it will definitely encourage us to make future progress. We hope you won’t wait too long to visit us again in the future!

Yours Sincerely,
Vivian Zhang
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 021, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#264 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Shanghai
Shanghai Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.