We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating for business travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 200041, China (Nanjing West Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 624 Reviews
Plano, Texas
1 review
“Very accommodating for business travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

After arriving late in Shanghai, the executive club lounge accommodated my late arrival beautifully. Extremely courteous and made sure I had everything I need. Much better service from 1 month prior.

The hotel has been freshening up some of the interiors so it doesn't seem as dated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    209
    62
    13
    11
See reviews for
47
59
30
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is lovely and comfortable and definitely a five star property. The bed is very comfortable and the bed linen is high quality. The bedroom was very spacious, king size bed, comfortable lounge chair with ottoman, usual writing desk and well equipped with power points etc. The bathroom was well laid out, generous space, good lighting (not natural), with a separate shower and bath. The bath is lovely and deep, great for a good luxurious soak. Room was very quiet, and I had very restful sleep. Housekeeping offer a turn down service and will happily restock your bathroom toiletries.

I ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant, excellent selection of food, both Western and Asian, a good way to start the day. During my stay I also ordered room service dinner and breakfast (to try it out), and it was delivered in a timely manner, everything was hot, and just like the restaurant breakfast, delicious.

All the staff I came into contact with during my stay, were very professional and friendly, happy to assist.

Looking on a map the hotel might seem some distance from the business district and to sightseeing hot spots, but keep in mind that taxis are incredibly cheap in Shanghai. An example would be approx 15CNY to get from the hotel to the Bund. Be prepared for an exhilarating ride...it's great! Hotel will write down any address you require and make sure you are set on your way.

A great hotel. A great city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was a great stay on a great hotel. Better, on my opinion, than hyatt or shangril.la because of the good situation near center and comercial streets. Also you have metro station walking five minutes from lobby. I was on a business trip but i booked a room there just for visiting city on weekend.

Totally recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Shanghai on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy about its great location during your business trip.

We would like to recommend you some authentic activities for your next stay at our hotel.

There's nothing more Shanghai than brand spanking new commerce blooming in old lanes. The former French Concession is just steps away from our hotel and with many shops that sell silver jewelery, traditional handicrafts, clothes, antiques, art, tea and T-shirts with Chinese iconography. You can easily spend a whole day there, getting lost among the weaving side streets, ducking the photographers who stage regular fashion shoots among the area's quaint old houses. Furthermore, you will find it extremely fun to explore that area with a simple bicycle.

We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,

Public Relations Department
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martorell, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel during four nights in a businees tryp. The hotel offers all that we need for a pleasant stay.

service was to kind and professional.

Great fitness area and swimmng pool to relax after a hard journey ow meetings!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so kindly for posting your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Shanghai on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted to read that we were able to accommodate you with our beautiful Spa and that you truly enjoyed it.

We will look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Shanghai either on business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Department
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Good overall impression of a hotel. I did expect a little more comfort and level of service from Four Seasons name but I guess it has its local nuances. Food was OK (not great), bathrobes kind of wornout, room service is not the quickest. And, with everything, I was reminded I was in China. Price vs. quality is avegare, and this is how I would rate the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are committed to providing the highest level of service to all of our guests and based upon your feedback we did not demonstrate this and I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you encountered while visiting our property. We look forward to provide you with the usual level of Four Seasons service during your next time in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Visiting China was my family's most memorable event of the year I must say. We decided not book any tours what so ever since my daughter wanted to stay within Four Seasons Hotel area however we managed to travel some historical sits and other interesting things welcomed us. We checked in Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai and everything was very good from our room to swimming pool to state of art changing room with beautiful powder room, sauna, steam room, some sort of relaxing room. Food was good. Chinese buffets and Western Buffets are available everyday. Unfortunately, when I discovered that guests can smoke anywhere I mean anywhere inside washroom, lobby lounge, elevator. Yet this is Four Seasons and I am sure it is 5 star hotel.. Hope I do not need to smell or see smokers next time I visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so kindly for posting your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Shanghai on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted to read that we were able to accommodate you and your family with the right kind of room and that you truly enjoyed it.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the discomfort experienced due to the smoking in the hotel. We are working diligently to address the issue to ensure the comfort of all of our guests and will continue to work with the relevant local authorities as the regulations evolve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Seasons Shanghai very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is a short distance from the prestigious shopping, entertainment and business areas of Nanjing and Huaihai roads. It offers an exemplary environment for business and leisure, with superb service quality. It's just a little kilometers from Shanghai Pudong International Airport. I like this hotel so much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Shanghai on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted to read that you and your companion enjoyed your stay.

We will look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Shanghai either on business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 200041, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#293 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Shanghai
Shanghai Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.