We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai to your Saves list
The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.889 Dongfang Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China (Formerly The St. Regis Shanghai) (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 3,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Location (Pudong): great if travel for business, a little less for tourism. But cabs in Shanghai are cheap and you can easily overcome the problem.
Rooms (Junior Suite): Spacious, one bedroom, 3 TVs (one in the tub...) 1 dvd player. Pleasant TV and office area. Bathroom is big (big + on my side) with bathtub and showerbox. Plenty of towels and all the amnenities you could wish for. Plenty of space in closet even for longer stays (4 weeks).
Hotel: somptuous is the word. Big marble and glass everywhere...fancy. Spotless clean. Breakfast at the lobby is good, wide choice. Only negative aspect, the crowd and the fact that if you want eggs you'll have to have them cooked at the moment, which might be annoying if in a hurry and with the crowd there is.
Executive lounge: awesome. Replace restaurant with loung for breakfast. Same choice of dishes, 10 times less people.
Gym/Pool: gym is great, lot of machines. Some could be renewed, but you can easily find a replacement in the gym itself. Pool area is great, even though the small pool. Great to relax and enjoy the jacuzzi rather than have a sporty swim. Too bad the bar isn't active, but number of guests who visit the pool justifies the decision to keep it closed.
Staff: friendly, helpful, smiling. Absolutely great from the reception to the doorman up to the butler service. Special mention to Executive lounge where Ms Errigo made me feel at home every day! Congrats, small gesture that I hope will pay out!
Overall: Highly recommended

Room Tip: Top floor are obvously best. But area isn't noisy and you won't have exceptional views anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hongta Hotel for your recent stay and leaving us with such detailed and wonderful review. We are honored to be acknowledged that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us. Our team would be absolutely inspired and motivated by your comments!

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you back again soon.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    168
    59
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
42
39
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Have strayed there over 30 times since it was open as St Regis Shanghai. I really cherished my time i spent in the past 10 years.

Now it is getting tired and also I am not particularly impressed with the new management who was coming from the property owner Hongta Group. This hotel is becoming more and more like a typical Chinese hotel in the 2nd or 3rd tier cities in China I.e. YuXi where Hongta is coming from. It's service does not meet up the international standard.

One night , I had a meeting with my colleague in the Executive Lounge on the 40th floor, which used to be a very nice and relaxing place in the St Regis time. Unfortunately,This time we bumped into a group of very drunk people having drink there. They were chatting extremely loudly and rudely and full of F...k words which is totally conflict with a luxury hotel image. I once came across the similar situation in St Regis Beijing and this type of people were simply not permitted entering the venue as they will upset and disrupt other people in the venues. I would expect Hongta would do the same however it was surprise that nobody was doing anything. The mgt of Hongta should realise that other customers deserve at least quiet environment while we pay you to stay in your hotel. So really disappointed.

Funnily enough, I had some chat with the old staff I knew. Surprisingly most of them were sad about the new style of this hotel and miss the old St Regis hotel. I

I have to say SPG did a wrong decision by letting the owner send their people to run this used to be a my favourite hotel.

Very very disappointed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the love and trust you've crowned to our property. It is always sad to read about these unpleasant experiences from our loyal guests.

We have been working very hard to keep our service standard to make sure our guests can enjoy a comfortable stay. I feel terriblely sorry for the indecency you've encountered at our Club Lounge. We'll definately plan more training to our green hands on these cases to make sure that each one of our guests can enjoy the Luxury Collection experience. I would very much like to offer you a remedy for our service failure. Please drop me an email at liu.zong@luxurycollection.com and I'll see what we can do.

Once again, please accept our sincere appology and we look forward to having you back again soon.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I travelled on business and stayed in Hongta for two nights. The place is pleasant, nice rooms, staff is polite, breakfast fine. Also tried the Italian restaurant on 39th floor. Nice place but The dishes could be better.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Hongta Hotel for your recent stay and very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We have been working very hard to ensure our standard of cuisine lives up to your expectation. That's why I would really appreciate it if you can provide us with more detailed suggestions on the dishes in our Italian restaurant. You can drop me an email at liu.zong@luxurycollection.com.

Once again, thank you for your time and comments. We look forward to having you back again soon.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am a frequent guest of the hotel and can say they have been keeping the highest standard of service. Staff very friendly and professional. Rooms very comfortable. Service excellent. Atmosphere quite and comfortable.
Danieli Italian Restaurant at the 39th floor good!
It all deserves the real 5 stars

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review. What is more inspiring than a compliment from our very own guests? I'll definatelly pass on your generous comments to the entire team.

Thank you again for returning to us. We'll keep working hard to make the Hongta Hotel your home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
503 reviews 503 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I wanted to stay here when it was the St Regis and got the chance recently although now luxury collection. Rooms are good size and bathrooms nice. As a gold member was upgraded to a oriental suite which was superb. Staff were excellent, butlers spoke good English and were responsive. A very pleasant surprise was the Italian restaurant (Danieli’s) on the top floor. It had a great atmosphere and was nearly full on a Wednesday night. Not like a hotel restaurant at all. The chef was also great and sent me over a complimentary buffalo salad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review. We are glad that you are satisfied with our hardware and services. Our staffs are trying their best to make the Hongta Hotel your home away from home. Your generous compliment is definately a big source of motivation for the entire team.

Thank you again for your comment and recommendation. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future!

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip to shanghai. others have commented about the location and those are accurate - close to underground trains, lots of shops nearby, mall 10 mins walk towards the bund, etc.

lobby was great, but i found the front desk staff to be a bit impersonal - i arrived late around 9 pm and expected a warm greeting. i wasnt told about what the hotel had to offer - services, dining, amenities - something that i have seen at other hotels. it was like checking into a motel or i could have used a computer to checking even.

the room itself was good (asked for a change from the back of the hotel to the front looking over the street and was accommodated), bed was typical starwood quality so no complaints there. bathroom was good (although the speaker system didnt work properly) - toiletries were fine.

the hotel was very quiet even for a business hotel. late night at the lobby bar - i was almost to myself. breakfast was in the main lobby area - i didnt go there, but didnt seem as busy either.

tried the italian restaurant on the top floor. enjoyed the food - views were somewhat limited.

went to the concierge in the evening for a taxi - which pulled up promptly. but (i found this out later) the staff or concierge did not give me a card in mandarin that you essentially hand to taxi drivers for your way back. as a result, when i went to the bund for sightseeing late at night, i had to take the underground back because i was unable to communicate the hotel name/location to the driver. wiser from this experience, i asked for the card myself the next day. i would this to be included in the room key card folio or at least be asked about it during checkin.

so, all in all, it was a good stay, but not a great stay. the 'negative' aspects are not that much and would have given this hotel a 4.5 * if i could. i would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Hongta Hotel for your recent stay and very pleased to know that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us.

We have been working very hard to ensure our services lives up to your expectation. I feel terriblely sorry for the indecency you've encountered at our front desk. We'll definately plan more training to our green hands to make sure that each one of our guests can enjoy the Luxury Collection experience.

Once again, thank you for your constructive comments and we look forward to having you back again soon.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Hongta became my home for 14 days when I travelled to Shanghai on business. From the moment I checked in till the moment I left nothing was too difficult. The staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to assist you. A few people have made mention of their lack of English, I found trying to speak some Mandarin went a long way and if in doubt, there was usually an English speaking person on reception the majority of the time.

As a lone female traveller the reception staff were always happy to write down, in Chinese, where I needed to get to, so when hailing me a taxi it got me to where I needed to go with minimum of fuss.

I was upgraded to one of the Executive floors (36) and appreciated the Executive Lounge on the 40th floor - very nice to unwind after a busy day at work and it was usually filled with other business people so conversation was never short. I ate breakfast there most days as it was a more relaxing start to the day than the restaurant in the lobby, which tended to be quite busy.

The hotel itself is very well presented, I had a beautiful room, one of the nicest I have ever stayed in while travelling for business. The butler service was a nice touch, having someone on call to help me for things such as organising laundry and getting me an adaptor when I left mine at work, was much appreciated.

Check out was easy and painless. I will definitely stay at the Hongta again - whether it be for business or pleasure. I didn’t get out around the hotel a lot but it has a convenience store nearby, most of the time when I went out it was off exploring, so I can’t comment on the shops etc around the hotel.

Thank you for making my stay in Shanghai memorable and very enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade to an executive floor, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hongta Hotel for your recent stay and leaving us with such detailed and cheering review. We are honored to be acknowledged that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our associates and they will definatedly be thrilled and motivated by your kind words.

Should your business or vacation bring you back to Shanghai, please do not hesitate to reach me at liu.zong@luxurycollection.com.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to having you back again soon.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai

Address: No.889 Dongfang Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China (Formerly The St. Regis Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#61 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#164 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.