We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast buffet in Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Bund Center Shanghai to your Saves list
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Rate from RMB1050
Ranked #21 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Mary's, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best breakfast buffet in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great location, extremely helpful staff, great room and an excellent breakfast buffet! Highly recommend this hotel! The room was spacious and had free, fast wifi! My wife loved the washroom which had a separate soaker tub.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear CharlesMDillon,
Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for sharing your recent stay experience with TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and appreciated our location, our room, our team's helpfulness, free Wifi throughout the hotel and especially our breakfast buffet offering. Indeed, not only can you enjoy Western and Asian breakfast favorites, you can also enjoy a variety of menu items which contain SuperFoods Rx™ ingredients, specially chosen to fuel your body with nutrients and energy.

CharlesMDillon, the team and I look forward to welcoming you and your wife back and please do not hesitate to reach out to us for any assistance on your next trip to Shanghai.

Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    522
    102
    27
    13
See reviews for
130
252
87
465
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here as part of a Viking River Cruise tour. The rooms were very nice. The breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of western and Chinese options. The dinner buffet was also very nice with a wide variety of choices. There are not many shopping or restaurant options in the immediate vicinity of the hotel but several within a 15 minute walking distance. Just keep in mind that even a short walk can be uncomfortable during Shanghai summers. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear WeVagabonds,
Thank you for choosing for sharing your recent stay experience with our friends on TripAdvisor and for giving us a full score. We are delighted to hear that you would definitely stay with us again as you appreciated our room and our breakfast buffet offering that offers not only a wide variety of Western and Asian favorites but also menu items which contain SuperFoods Rx™ ingredients, specially chosen to fuel your body with nutrients and energy. Indeed the famous Nanjing pedestrian shopping street is approximately 10-15 minutes stroll away but I would also like to add that the majestic Bund waterfront promenade is a 5-minute walk away too.

Please do not hesitate to reach out to us for assistance on your next trip to Shanghai as the team and I look forward to welcoming you back. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Check-in was easy, although it was late. Staff spoke good English.

We did not get a view of the Bund (extra cost) we did get a corner room (free upgrade) on the 19 floor. We could hear street traffic still at this height, but was minimal. With a/c on and blinds/curtains closed we didn't notice it.

The room was great. Comfortable bed, good pillows, huge bathroom area with a separation door. Lighting console controls on either side of the bed were marked and easy to use. Very nice toiletries as well. T.V. had a few English channels too.

Breakfast overall was very good. The food was tasty and great selection. Staff was hit or miss in getting tea/coffee. I had to flag down a couple times. Once requested though, they were right on it.

Although we did not use the pool, it was a pretty spectacular area. Wish I had had the time.

The hotel has a great location. Only a couple blocks from the Bund and in the middle of financial/shopping district.

Room Tip: Upper floor with view of the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear ma_golfman,
Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai for your recent stay in Shanghai and for sharing your stay experience with us. We are glad to know that your check-in was easy, appreciated our location and enjoyed your stay on a higher floor corner room. We are also happy to hear that your overall breakfast experience was a good one. I have also shared your review with The Stage team so that they improve their level of attentiveness during breakfast.

We hope that you will once again stay with and perhaps will have time to use our pool and other facilities. We wish you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Gorgeous lobby, very nice rooms, great food in the lounge for breakfast and happy hour, attentive and formal staff, etc- basically what you'd expect from the Westin. It's a good Westernized business hotel, but probably not for a budget traveler. Location isn't actually that near a subway line, but it's walking distance, as are the major sights of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear C0rnMuffin,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with our friends on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly like our hotel especially our lobby, our rooms, our staff and the Executive Lounge's offering for breakfast and happy hour. Indeed the two subway stations including major tourist landmarks are all within walking distance especially the majestic Bund waterfront promenade – a 5-minute walk.

We hope that you will once again stay with us as our team and I look forward to welcoming you back. Meanwhile, we wish you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here on business and on the weekend, the hotel's proximity to the bund and being able to walk to ferry's and the oriental pearl was ideal. There are surprisingly few restaurant choices in the close proximity. During the week the westin fare got a bit boring. The hotel staff was very nice Luciano the chef at prego was great and the girls at breakfast took good care of you. Nice rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Ted R,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for sharing your feedback on your recent stay experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the stay with us and appreciated the service especially. I have shared your feedback with our Prego Manager Lucciano and all the other associates. It is our honor to provide you international standard facilities and services andWe always strive to make each guest feel better when they leave than when they arrived. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Regular travelers generally know of the Westin Hotel Group and what to expect as a guest. If this is the case then you will not be disappointed, as this hotel ticks all the boxes; nicely appointed rooms and bathrooms, first class service from the time you check in until departure, the gym, spa and restaurants. Their breakfast buffet is enormous and has a large section for local Chinese cuisine, besides the regular, Western breakfast foods.
They cater for diets such as offering gluten free bread basked on the premises, which I consider a nice touch especially in China.
Last time I stayed there I arrived with my son and they gave me a free upgrade to a suite, without asking. The times I have stayed there before I had a regular room which was more than adequate.
Their WiFi worked very well wherever I went within the Hotel.
It is ideally located within a 10-12 minute walk from two metro (underground) stations and just a 10 minute walk to The Bund with most of Shanghai's upmarket bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear koops-melb,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us and happy with room, breakfast and location. We offer a variety of menu items which contain SuperFoods Rx™ ingredients, specially chosen to fuel your body with nutrients and energy.
We look forward to welcome you back soon. Do let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next trip to Shanghai even more memorable. Wishing you safe travels. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiyang, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here one night as a stopover before flying onto another city in China. The Westin offers a great hotel room with good security in the lobby. it is located in a landmark tower, it is easy to find. The breakfast was good quality. The fitness club was decent and clean with a selection of machines. Staff were professional and service overall was very good.I would recommend it to anyone as a reliable and clean hotel in the People's Square area of Puxi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear JaseQ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay experience at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. It is great to know that you appreciated our fitness club location, breakfast as well as service. It is our honor to provide you international standard facilities and services and we always strive to make every guest feel better when they leave the hotel than when they arrived.
We do hope to be of service to you again and look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#203 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.