We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Bund Center Shanghai to your Saves list
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 25%
Ranked #20 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lijiang, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Westin Bund Center on several occasions and each time, the hotel manages to exceed my expectations. This was probably my 8th or 9th visit and the Receptionist Tiffany was amazingly courteous, professional and friendly. These are the people, of course with an experienced and highly capable General Manager at the helm, make this hotel to be one of the most popular and sought after properties in Shanghai. I have used several Westin hotels, in China and elsewhere but The Bund is my most favorite.
I thank the management and the team for taking care of their clients with such good care and will always be one of the most loyal guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai again and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted to read your wonderful review and for giving us a full score. We are glad that your stay with us was renewing and enjoyable. I have shared your feedback with all of our associates especially Tiffany, and we are honored to be service of you.
It is indeed highly praised that you regarded our hotel as your home away from home. Thank you again for your continued support. Meanwhile, do feel free to let us know how we can make your next visit even more memorable and look forward to your next stay at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    523
    102
    27
    14
See reviews for
130
256
87
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My companion and I stayed at this hotel two nights in April. The hotel was faultless. Everything was admirable. The room and the bathroom was very spacious. The bathtub had a very nice view of the city. Breakfast was very extensive with Chinese and European food. Location was also good for our purposes. We didn't use the public transport and used only the taxis. It was quite close to the river and we enjoyed very much walking along the river with all the buildings lit up. I would certainly stay at this hotel again in my next visit to Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear cintemani,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for giving us a full score. It is always delighted for us to know that you enjoyed your stay experience with us. We are also pleased that how impressed you were with our guest room, breakfast buffet selection and convenient location.

I am also thrilled that you would stay with us again when your trip bring you back to Shanghai. We look forward to be of service to you again! Please to let us know if we could do anything to make your next stay even better. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Best thing about this hotel is the location - just a couple of blocks from the Bund. We stayed here on our first night in Shanghai and it was such a lovely surprise to turn the corner onto the Bund and see all the amazing buildings all lit up. Rooms and facilities are nice but a little bland. We booked in for the Sunday brunch at The Stage which was super indulgent and a lot of fun. Our waiting staff were lovely. All great - just not as special as some of the other hotels we stayed at in Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Polcha,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay experience with us. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our location and Sunday Brunch. Our hotel has long been a favorite choice in Shanghai, and we pride ourselves on maintaining the hotel facilities; the hotel has recently completed the replacement of Heavenly Beds in all guest rooms, and the refurbishment of Westin Workout. We always strive to make every guest feel better when they leave the hotel than when they arrived.

Please do feel free to let us know how we can make your next visit better and we look forward to your next stay at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel itself is wonderful, with great food, lovely service and meets all expectation of a 5 star hotel.
The big plus however is the location, you really can walk to almost everything including public transport.
The Concierge are fantastic and have great tips on shopping or eating like a local.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Riding-Giants,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review with us and for giving us a full score. It is really happy for us to know that you appreciated our hotel in terms of our food, service and especially the location. Our concierge team is also delighted to hear that the information they offered made your stay even more memorable. The whole team are look forward to be of service to you again and welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had visited China on a tour organised by Viking Cruises, all the hotels, were very good & this was no exception, a superb room , everything worked, all in order. The only criticism was the amount of bureaucracy such as giving your credit card for no reason or signing for breakfast..

Room Tip: Go high if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear peterandjenny282,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for taking the time to share you feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience and appreciated the room. In addition, the problem you mentioned has also our attention for the improvement. Please feel free to stay in contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us more memorable. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altavista, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Absolutely fabulous hotel and location. Great room, great building, superb breakfast included, English speaking staff and very helpful. Concierge helped in getting tickets to train, shows, and all we needed.

Room Tip: Be sure to get the breakfast, a good western breakfast is a good way to start a day of much walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear WMParent,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for giving us a full score. The team and I are both humbled and delighted to read your review. It is always happy for us to know that our guests enjoyed the stay experience with us. I have already shared your comments with all of our associates as a reminder of what they do best. We do hope to be of service to you again and hope that our concierge team can share more tips with you regarding interesting sights near the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed one night at the hotel. Location was perfect you could walk to all the great shopping locations and to the the Bund. The hotel breakfast buffet was excellent. My hotel room was clean and the bed was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Denine J,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted that you appreciated our location, room cleanliness as well as the Westin signature Heavenly Bed. We do hope to be of service to you again and look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#20 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#201 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Despegar.com so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.