We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic Location in the selling point for this hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Save Saved
You added The Westin Bund Center Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Strategic Location in the selling point for this hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We celebrated the arrival of 2014 in Shanghai this year. We chose this hotel due to its close proximity to the bund where the new year countdown was held.

Upon arrival to our room of 1631, we found cigarette ash on the carpet next to the sitting couch. When we informed the housekeeping personnel on the matter wheh she delivered the extra pillow requested, she merely adknowledged it and say will clean up during the turndown service later in the evening but it was still there after we return to the room from dinner. We had to clean up the place ourselves. Housekeeping to be more alert!

The doormen and reception at the Grand Tower wing made us feel welcome when we arrived from Suzhou. Rooms is luxuriously big especially the toilet area which is as large as the bedroom itself.

Staff was alert to notice that our friend was celebrating his birthday and delivered a slice of cake when we returned from our daytime shopping trip.

The hotel concerige was helpful to guide us to where we want to go and most of the areas we visited were within walking distance. The hotel was conveniently located near the bund and we do not have to face the mad rush for transport to return after the countdown event. A slow walk of 20 minutes led us back to the hotel with ease.

The hotel is located within waking distance from Yue Yuan where we did our CNY shopping and dine in our favourite steamed siao long pao restaurant. 20 mnutes walk to Nanjing East walking street and of course the bund area. Public cabs are abundance here as it is located in the main street. The nearest underground train is Yue Yuan which is a 8 min walk away.

We did not dine in any of the hotel's outlets are they were fully booked during the new year's period but we do not have trouble finding food outside the hotel.

For food lovers, Lost Heaven, a well known Yunan Cuisine Restaurant is also a stone throw away.

I would definitely return to this hotel due to it close promixity to the places of interest which I always visit during the trip to Shanghai

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear MelvinL,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on your stay experience at The Westin Bund Center. We are delighted to hear that you felt welcome when you arrived at our hotel and appreciated the location, room and concierge staff service. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to hear of your experience with the housekeeping attendant. Your valuable feedback has already been shared with the Director of Rooms in an effort to improve.
In addition, we feel sorry that our restaurants were all fully booked during your stay. We do hope we can welcome you back very soon so that you can experience our restaurants and Superfood dishes.

We are happy to hear that you will consider staying with us once again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance to make your next trip to Shanghai even more memorable.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    621
    465
    93
    25
    13
See reviews for
103
200
78
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I reviewed the Westin Bund not too long ago on Starwood guest portal. And I must say this is my preferred hotel in Shanghai whether I am on business or with my family.

I was again upgraded to a Grand Junior suite and Daisy at executive floor reception is so lovely!

Centrally located, Nanjing pedestrian road, the Bund...., I discovered there is a very nice Dumpling restaurant for locals about three minutes walk across the street, it costs 11rmb for a massive bowl and they are tasty, and certainly better than the dumplings served during breakfast in the restaurant.

One other reason why I am not giving a 5-star score is the young chef, at executive lounge during evening cocktail/happy hour service, has a bit of an attitude. And I overheard he was answering another guest reasonable enquiry very unfriendly.

Last but no least, the gym on the 4th floor has been upgraded, all the treadmills are brand new and they are fantastic!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear ECEJon,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are honored that you prefer to choose us both for business and leisure trips. Your appreciation of our location, Grand Studio room and the service we offered is the best encouragement for us. If you like Chinese dumplings, you could also try the Dim Sum Feast at our EEST restaurant next time which offers an unlimited selection with over 100 delectable dishes as well as free flow drinks.

Please be assured that we have cascaded your comments to our Executive Lounge manager to strategically address the specific areas of improvement that you have highlighted, ensuring that your feedback is used to improve our service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your future visits to Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

It's not often you stay somewhere and no matter how hard you look you cannot find a fault - for me the Westin bund is one of those places, it is faultless.
Reception: quick, easy and friendly; room: not sure what we had but it was large; beautifully fitted and equipped; bath, shower, safe, iron, desk, tv, complimentary fruit, etc etc.
There is so much to this hotel, so many good things and so much style; the bars are comfortable and so well presented and if you go in happy hour not bad on price either. Breakfast again really really good.
I should also mention the staff, they were great: helpful and friendly and with good English skills.
I would rank this hotel as being in my top three.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Joe,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for sharing feedback on your stay experience. The team and I are delighted to know that you have truly enjoyed your stay and we’re especially happy to hear your praise of our staff, room amenities, breakfast buffet and Niche Bar. Your comments will be shared with our associates as your satisfaction is the best encouragement for us! We look forward to welcoming you back again on your future visits to Shanghai and please don’t hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even more memorable.


Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the beginning of January at the Westin to celebrate my birthday and I really enjoyed . Staff very helpful,birthday cake in the room and plus a gift from the receptionist . Thank you all for such a nice stay . I ll definitely stay again at the Westin.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Smiguel,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for sharing your feedback. The team and I are honored that you chose our hotel to celebrate your birthday and that you like the gift we prepared.
I will share your comments with our associates. Please feel free to stay in contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed one night at the Westin Bund Center hotel while in transit in China. The hotel is centrally located near the Bund and Nanjing Road (the central pedestrian road near the Bund). The hotel upgraded me to a junior suite which was nice, but it was much smaller that other suites that I have stayed in other cities. The service was typical Westin quality, very good. The hotel was having a Sunday brunch the day I left that was very popular with Western visitor. Overall I would recommend the hotel to friends and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Ken,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay experience at The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai. We’re delighted to hear that you appreciated our location and service quality. On your next visit I hope you have time to enjoy our famous Sunday Brunch, offering a variety of local and international dishes, free flowing Taittinger Champagne and great entertainment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to renew your experience at The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for almost a week at the end of October. It is everything that you expect from a good business hotel - good clean rooms, good conferencing facility with breakout areas, people available to help move things when needed, etc. My only hope, even though I was in Shanghai / China, was that it would be a little more vegetarian friendly like you would expect hotels that entertain guests from all over the world to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Shantanu1981,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with our friends on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that everything in the hotel meets your expectation. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to hear that you thought the dining options lacked enough variety for vegetarians. Please allow me to introduce our restaurant EEST, which offers a vegetarian menu with tailored dishes from our Chinese and Thai kitchens. Your valuable feedback has been shared with our director of culinary and director of food & beverage in an effort to improve our offerings.

We do hope to be of service to you again and look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Westin was a fantastic place to stay. Our room was a little on the smaller side but we had a great view of the bund. The hotel service was outstanding. "Heavenlies", the lobby bar was beautiful with their hand made glass sculptures and the glass stairs changed color. The wine is very expensive (but it is like this everywhere in China) we were paying $17.00 (average)Canadian per glass and they were not big glasses. It was cheaper to buy the bottle. We went to "Niche" and they have a happy hour that you pay one price and you can choose your own wine from a selection laid out for you for up to three hours. The atmosphere is really low lighting and modern. We ate at Prego restaurant twice and the food was great. The manager couldn't do enough for you. He was the most eager person to please that I have ever encountered in a restaurant and you can tell he has trained his staff the same way. They stand at a distance and watch your table closely. The minute your glass is empty they are there within seconds. The hotel location is fantastic, you walk just a couple minutes and you are at the bund and very close to Nanjing road. The shopping is out of this world. If you like high-end you are in the right place. The prices are almost double to Canadian or US dollars. They say the importation taxes are really expensive so you pay more. If you want knock offs go to the fake mall. They are very aggressive but I found it fun. Just set your price and stick with it. They will eventually give in. They have secret rooms in the back that have the best knock off purses you will ever find. I compared one I bought to the real thing in a Prada store and you honestly could not find one thing in the difference!! The pool area could use some updating. It was a little run down.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear starc,

Thank you for choosing stay with The Westin Bund Center and for your detailed review. The team and I are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay and like our hotel! We’re delighted to hear that you appreciated the view from the room, service, lobby and Niche bar. We will also share your feedback with the Prego manager that their food and service made your stay even more memorable.

We truly hope to welcome you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai! Thank you again for taking time to support our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#286 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.