We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.595 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China (People’s Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 4,068 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
984 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Stayed at this hotel from 4-9 September 2010, 5 nights. This was my second trip to Shanghai, previously stayed at Majesty Plaza ( see review also). The hotel is in an excellent location right off the Nanjing pedestrian mall. Being located one block from the mall (a very short block, the mall is exposed to the hotel because of a street running thru the mall along side the hotel) keeps all the pedestrian mall touts away from the hotel. This is a welcomed relief as you will see when you walk the mall. The hotel lobby is spacious with an elegant decor. It has a bar and coffee shop. The 5 elevators are usually quick with little delay. The rooms are very clean and modern. We stayed in the standard room and there was more than enough room. Flat screen TV, with more than 40 channels including CNN, BBC, etc. The beds are very comfortable with cool cotton linens and a heavy comforter. Desk area with high speed cable and the electrical outlets had dule plug in for 2 round plug type and the Chinese tilted triangle plug, so no adapter is needed. Refrigerator, coffee maker with coffee and tea, although only one per day. 2 bottles of water free. Do not use the Evian bottled water. It cost about $10. All the carpeting in the room and halls looks brand new. Limited space for clothes, with 2 night stands and a limited area under the TV. But a clothes rack for pants and shirts. Iron and board, robe, slippers, shoe horn and many other items for your comfort. The bathroom was spacious with all the amenities. The tub was a minor problem in that it was up on a stand and when getting out it was a long step down to the floor. Best to hang on when making this step. The water pressure was excellent and plenty of hot water. Also a switch to defog the mirrors, which got very warm. There are 2 restaurants, one offering one free buffet with the purchase of 2, so the 3 of us ate and payed for 2. A very good bargain. There is a huge swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and fitness center, all free. This is a bargain as many hotels in Shanghai charge extra for this. The staff is attentive and can speak good English and give good instructions to the taxi if needed. We were also able to buy Expo tickets with the concierge. Honestly, it is difficult to say anything bad about the Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob2bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Been there during August 2010. Clean room, great location, and very convenient. I sent email few days before my stay to request for a double room and asked for information about anyway to order cake or flower as i wanted to surprise my partner on his birthday. No response back by email but when i checked in, the staff told that they upgraded the room to business room and already prepared a cheesecake for us (she was very helpful while I tried to hide this from my partner.). I asked for one staff to carry cake to our room at midnight and the cake was delivery just at the time :D

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toeinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights with husband and teenage daughter. This hotle is very well located for shopping, eating and transport - we were 2 minutes from the pedestrianised part of Nanging Road On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite as they had space. The room itself was very spacious, very comfortable and clean. Big bath with separate shower also very clean .Breakfast was the usual international affair, but beautifully laid out (and with a sensible start time of 6am), with different stations for different cuisines - you could have eggs and bacon, dim sum, croissants, sushi, miso soup, - I could go on. The staff were helpful and understood us well enough. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmadmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and found it to be well located for sightseeing and shopping.
The hotel has a very grand lobby and our room was most comfortable with all the expected amenities to match.
The staff were pleasant and helpful and their English was passable.
We found the breakfast pretty pricey and it was not easy to find restaurants close by that we liked.
The hotel room was exceptionally well priced and excellent value and for this reason we would stay there again should we ever revisit Shanghai.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Location couldnt be better,staff were great,buffet was a let down.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjfogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed from 11th July for 7 nites.Excellent Lobby and Ambeince.Great Location.Clean Rooms.Value for Money.Wish more staff could speak fluent English.Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiMovira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Nice hotel, not 5 stars but close to a Sheraton or Marriott. Nice to have an American style in China.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mehudson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#38 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#63 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#33 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#315 of 4,068 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#168 of 4,068 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai

Address: No.595 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#68 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#71 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#129 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai is an international five star hotel in the heart of downtown Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing