We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.595 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 3,950 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Upgraded to a suite after joining their club membership. I was very pleased with how spacious the suite and bathroom was. The decor is a little dated if you generally go for contemporary hotels, but all in all the room served it function and was clean and tidy. I had a room overlooking Nanjing Lu and was very happy with the view. Location-wise, the hotel is close to Raffles - about a 5 minute walk to the metro. The staff was efficient and friendly. No complaints.

Room Tip: Join their hotel club membership and upgrade your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    326
    66
    12
    7
See reviews for
59
98
41
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The HoJo as the staff affectionately call it is truly a five star hotel.

From the high quality of the rooms and their fittings to the magnificent Foyer area, it is all luxurious comfort.

The staff are most helpful and if you strike one not speaking English, they go to great trouble to find one that does. This is not the case for Shanghai in general as we found very few English speakers particularly amongst Police and Security Staff, where we had expected to find them.

Beware of succumbing to a casual coffee or drink in the Foyer unless you really need a second mortgage and go instead through the Foyer into the connected Starbucks. At first we thought that a Starbucks and a Five Star Hotel would be incongruous, but it worked.

The HoJo location was ideal with both shops and sightseeing close to hand.

There is always less to say about a well run five star hotel than a badly run three star one so suffice to say - if you want a very comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Shanghai with pleasant and helpful staff you do not need to look any further than the HoJo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was in Shanghai (on holiday) in 2007 in a package holiday. The hotel was not in the town centre but was good. This time hi was on a business trip. The hotel is near the icon view of Shanghai and you are able to walk between the "old" and the new Shanghai. It is an experience that you will not have much time to see it. The speed of change will not protect al those old street with local markets and shops aligned by functionalities (shoes, plumbing, food, etc,etc,) The HJP Shanghai is a modern and very pleasant hotel. Excellent breakfast, good gymnasium, good food and very pleasant room. Wireless internet available and free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent hotel , rooms are nicely furnished, breakfast Buffett offered a good variety of western and chinese selections, good location. Great service and also offered a great rate for converting Dollars to chinese currency.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect for tourism - 3 minutes from Nanjing Road, 15 minutes to Shanghai Museum, 15-20 minutes to the Bund. Breakfast is a very good mix of Asian and Western cuisine with a lot of choices, Swimming pool is nice even though too shallow for my taste. Spa is also very nice, I had a foot massage which was very good.
My only complaint is related to the fact that on arrival (at 1:00 a.m.), having booked a superior room, we were given a smoking room which apparently was the only type of superior room left at that moment. As we could not sleep in it due to the smell we decided to take the only alternative given to us at that time i..e. a non-smoking "normal" room with twin beds. It was too late and we were too tired to argue more. The next morning, we went to the reception and asked for a compensation of the fact that we were given a room of lower level than we paid for and we were immediately upgraded to a suite on the superior floors. The suite was available at 10:00 so it was definitely available the night before so, in my view, the logical choice of the reception clerk should have been to upgrade us from the beginning instead of downgrading us. If she would have done so we would have been the happiest guests and my review title would have been "Perfect"

Room Tip: Smoking rooms smell terrible even for a smoker. Rooms facing Nanjing road have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We can only describe this hotel as fantastic! This is not your typical US HoJo. It is the perfect blend of location, space, luxury, western comfort and price value!

We stayed there twice in our 17 day trip to china. First night and the last 4. All I can say is that when I got there on my very first day in China, I though to myself that this trip was not going to be as difficult as many people describe it. I was expecting communication problems, hard beds, and uneatable food. This HoJo is the exact opposite.

We missed it all throughout our trip in China, and when we finally came back for the last 4 nights we felt relived and like at Home. I must comment on how a big of a part of this positive experience is due to the staff. They are amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrades!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

got a suit with seperate living and bedroom area,was pretty decent but the living area had no windows so it was useless,food was ok as buffet dinner and lunch as well-pretty ordinary
there are so many luxury hotel in Shanghai would have choosen a better one if not booked by the travel agent
worth to look around and pay extra although this one wasn't cheap either around 500 AU$ a night

Room Tip: ask for high floor and to face the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai

Address: No.595 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#188 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai is an international five star hotel in the heart of downtown Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.