We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.595 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China (People’s Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 4,068 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Upgraded to a suite after joining their club membership. I was very pleased with how spacious the suite and bathroom was. The decor is a little dated if you generally go for contemporary hotels, but all in all the room served it function and was clean and tidy. I had a room overlooking Nanjing Lu and was very happy with the view. Location-wise, the hotel is close to Raffles - about a 5 minute walk to the metro. The staff was efficient and friendly. No complaints.

Room Tip: Join their hotel club membership and upgrade your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xksb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The HoJo as the staff affectionately call it is truly a five star hotel.

From the high quality of the rooms and their fittings to the magnificent Foyer area, it is all luxurious comfort.

The staff are most helpful and if you strike one not speaking English, they go to great trouble to find one that does. This is not the case for Shanghai in general as we found very few English speakers particularly amongst Police and Security Staff, where we had expected to find them.

Beware of succumbing to a casual coffee or drink in the Foyer unless you really need a second mortgage and go instead through the Foyer into the connected Starbucks. At first we thought that a Starbucks and a Five Star Hotel would be incongruous, but it worked.

The HoJo location was ideal with both shops and sightseeing close to hand.

There is always less to say about a well run five star hotel than a badly run three star one so suffice to say - if you want a very comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Shanghai with pleasant and helpful staff you do not need to look any further than the HoJo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPCNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was in Shanghai (on holiday) in 2007 in a package holiday. The hotel was not in the town centre but was good. This time hi was on a business trip. The hotel is near the icon view of Shanghai and you are able to walk between the "old" and the new Shanghai. It is an experience that you will not have much time to see it. The speed of change will not protect al those old street with local markets and shops aligned by functionalities (shoes, plumbing, food, etc,etc,) The HJP Shanghai is a modern and very pleasant hotel. Excellent breakfast, good gymnasium, good food and very pleasant room. Wireless internet available and free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FVentura357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent hotel , rooms are nicely furnished, breakfast Buffett offered a good variety of western and chinese selections, good location. Great service and also offered a great rate for converting Dollars to chinese currency.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect for tourism - 3 minutes from Nanjing Road, 15 minutes to Shanghai Museum, 15-20 minutes to the Bund. Breakfast is a very good mix of Asian and Western cuisine with a lot of choices, Swimming pool is nice even though too shallow for my taste. Spa is also very nice, I had a foot massage which was very good.
My only complaint is related to the fact that on arrival (at 1:00 a.m.), having booked a superior room, we were given a smoking room which apparently was the only type of superior room left at that moment. As we could not sleep in it due to the smell we decided to take the only alternative given to us at that time i..e. a non-smoking "normal" room with twin beds. It was too late and we were too tired to argue more. The next morning, we went to the reception and asked for a compensation of the fact that we were given a room of lower level than we paid for and we were immediately upgraded to a suite on the superior floors. The suite was available at 10:00 so it was definitely available the night before so, in my view, the logical choice of the reception clerk should have been to upgrade us from the beginning instead of downgrading us. If she would have done so we would have been the happiest guests and my review title would have been "Perfect"

Room Tip: Smoking rooms smell terrible even for a smoker. Rooms facing Nanjing road have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacanta_mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We can only describe this hotel as fantastic! This is not your typical US HoJo. It is the perfect blend of location, space, luxury, western comfort and price value!

We stayed there twice in our 17 day trip to china. First night and the last 4. All I can say is that when I got there on my very first day in China, I though to myself that this trip was not going to be as difficult as many people describe it. I was expecting communication problems, hard beds, and uneatable food. This HoJo is the exact opposite.

We missed it all throughout our trip in China, and when we finally came back for the last 4 nights we felt relived and like at Home. I must comment on how a big of a part of this positive experience is due to the staff. They are amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrades!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfanmty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

got a suit with seperate living and bedroom area,was pretty decent but the living area had no windows so it was useless,food was ok as buffet dinner and lunch as well-pretty ordinary
there are so many luxury hotel in Shanghai would have choosen a better one if not booked by the travel agent
worth to look around and pay extra although this one wasn't cheap either around 500 AU$ a night

Room Tip: ask for high floor and to face the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ical8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#38 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#63 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#34 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#46 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#45 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai

Address: No.595 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#68 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#68 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai is an international five star hotel in the heart of downtown Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Ctrip TA so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing