We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shanghai "High"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2099 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China (Hongqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4
Ranked #101 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shanghai "High"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent two nights at this property. It is a beautiful hotel with a fantastic breakfast buffet. It included both Western and Chinese selections and on our departure at 4:45 am, provided us with a 'bag' breakfast that was more than satisfying. The staff in the lounge was most gracious and willing to 'top off' the wines!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for staying at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel. Here we provide detailed service to maximize your stay in Shanghai. A bag breakfast for early arriving guest is just part of it. Wish you could discover more during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    177
    50
    7
    2
See reviews for
6
22
33
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

After spending a week in what I would call "minimalist" hotels, it was wonderful to arrive at this Renaissance hotel. I was impressed from the second I walked in the door. The service here is wonderful. They took care of all my needs upon my arrival at 8;00 AM. This was a true blessing after a long flight overnight from Paris!

I know everyone has an opinion, so here's mine. The lobby was very clean and hospitality was very high. My room is modern and clean. It has all the amenities that you would expect in high-end Western hotel. After spending the last week in minimalist European hotels, this was a wonderful surprise! I had all the toiletries I could ever need or want and the room even had an iron and ironing board. Love that!

The hotel has all the other amenities you would hope for including pool, health club, lounge, etc... As I look out my window I see a nice green park across the street. Looks like a nice place to stretch the legs. Bottom line, this is a very nice hotel and I'm very happy to be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello valued guest, first and foremost we would like to thank you for your feedback; which is always welcome here as it helps us further improve this hotel for the future. We are so glad to see that you had a wonderful stay and feel home away from home at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, which is always what we make all efforts to offer our guests. Wish you could choose our hotel again next time you visit Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here as one of the hotel on our tour. It is a beautiful hotel with nice rooms and comfortable beds. It has a beautiful indoor pool and health club. The breakfast buffet was incredible and included any western, Chinese or Japanese breakfast foor you could ask for. it was located across the street from a high end shopping mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel during your tour. We are glad to see you had a wonderful stay and pleasant trip. Our hotel has gone through several steps of renovation in order to keep high standard of both facilities and service. Wish you could discover more when you come to Shanghai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have stayed now twice this month in this Marriott property. As in most Renaissance hotels the service level is high and staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The staff in the Club Lounge level is extremely helpful. Lobby looks ultra modern and inviting. The only problem I have is that the rooms are a bit dated and comparatively small. The furniture and decor needs an overhaul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We are glad that you like most parts of our hotel, especially the recently-renovated lobby. Actually the second part of lobby will be renovated within this year. Wish you could discover more during your next trip. As regard to the room, your suggestions will be passed to concerned departments.Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed august 23-26 2013 room 707
when i arrived at about 9.30pm i was asked for money an amount of 2000
i told them i only had about 400 on me and i would get the rest tomorrow it was then DEMANDED that i go and get some money at a atm they would not accept a debit card
apparently the money in this account is to cover mini bar ect (it felt as though they did not trust me)
THE room was good but no milk for tea or coffee
the food was average,the bacon was cold,poached eggs luke warm ect very disappointed
it was much the same for dinner
leaving was also a problem if you did not have the receipts for cash paid into the account with you you had to unpack to find them.i went back to my room to do this ,when i returned to the desk they had all of a sudden found there copy of the receipts so they could now return the balance of money owed to me
over all not a happy experience
i would not stay at marriot hotels if this is any example

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest, we apologize for any trouble occurred to you during your stay at our hotel. Your concerns and complaints have been passed to related departments. We wish you could stay here once again to rebuild the trust for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very mixed opinions on this place. Would like to be scathing about it but that would be unfair on the staff who were genuinely friendly and went the extra mile to be hospitable so will try to keep this as objective as possible.

The location is very convenient for Hongqiao airport and will cost about 40rmb and take 20 mins in a taxi.

Unless you are there on business there is little to do in the area. Hongqiao Park is nice but very small and there are a few designer malls nearby. The Zoo is also nearby and line 2 subway to downtown is about a ten minute walk away. The area the hotel is in is very clean and quiet despite being next to the express road. The whole place shuts down around 10pm though so make sure you eat before then if you don't want to be stuck with Hooters as the only option.

The building itself is quite dated and miserably designed, could do with a spruce up on the outside.

Renovations currently being done to reception which doesn't help the environment but obviously unavoidable.

The bellboys on the door were fantastic to a man, always genuinely friendly and willing to help.

Reception staff were efficient but must have been under strict instructions not to smile. Not exactly a warm welcome.

Floor managers - I have never seen so many floor managers dotted about in a hotel. They were quite literally stood every ten yards or so. Now obviously this should be great from a customer service point of view, but again they employed a 'no smile policy' which did little to create a warm and friendly atmosphere. I'd compare them more to nightclub bouncers or school dinner ladies keeping an eye out for naughty school children.

The rooms are nice enough, typical four star standard but as someone has mentioned below the maid service was absolutely fantastic, almost too over zealous at times! Beds are comfy with nice pillows. Good black out curtains, those that make you feel that you've woken up in the middle of the night in the morning.

The breakfast was nice and fairly extensive but becomes a little tiresome after a few days of the same thing. Avoid the coffee, very bitter.

I had dinner there one night and it was, in keeping with everything else at the hotel, terribly over priced. The cost was around 325rmb for a distinctly average buffet and some flat pepsi and the undrinkable coffee. Less than a week after enjoying supper at The Traders with lobster and free flow wine for less than 200rmb this was a real indication of where this hotel is at right now.

A draught Tsing Dao was an eye watering 80 rmb per .5l. Though the eye watering may have just been as attributable to the paint thinner coming from the renovations.

The bar was quite lively and amiable in a 'hotel bar' sort of way. Working girls seem to be tolerated by the staff which sadly lowers the atmosphere somewhat.

Very interested to see the management comments below about the food and drink prices reflecting the quality of the service. Well considering the criminal 15% service charge tacked on top of everything, some decent service is the minimum that should be expected.

The service in general was good but nowhere near 5 star standard. Whilst obviously very busy during breakfast, the staff would constantly take right of way in the cramped dining area. Far from acting like Moses and demanding all before me part to let me through, at least have the courtesy to go through the 'after you, no after you, no I insist after you etc....' routine.

Gym is fine and the pool is ok if a little small. Good for having a plunge but not suitable for laps. Gym staff were nice and friendly but again the middle managers dotted around had a very strange attitude.

Internet access costs 120rmb a night but is free in the lobby.

So to sum up, it's not a bad hotel but is just lacking in so many areas. Rating it poor is perhaps a little critical but the prices being charged are way way out of line with the product being provided. If you are a 'in n out' business traveler then this place will be fine for you, but anyone expecting a little bit of home away from home should probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear valued guest, first and foremost we would like to thank you for your feedback; which is always welcome here as it helps us further improve this hotel for the future. We apologize that your stay at our hotel was not to your liking, we have a few suggestions that might make your future stays more enjoyable. though not directly next to our hotels location there is a lot more to experience than hooters and the Shanghai zoo; You can check with hotel Navigators who are the local experts.If you reconsider staying at the hotel at some point in the future we recommend talking to our navigator, or even our regular staff if you are ever unsure of what is available to you here in Shanghai, our staff will always be willing to help make your trip in our city an enjoyable one for businessmen, family men, and tourist alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed three different times. First room eas nice; second was an upgrade and very nice while last was just ok being much smaller and the bathroom tiles needing regrouping.
Breakfast buffet was quite nice but at $30-35 overpriced for those eating cereal or eggs, coffee and juice. But, if you haven't eaten in a few days, it's fine. I ate dinner (Chinese restaurant on 2nd floor) there one night and found it overpriced. There is an upscale mall very nearby with perhaps a dozen nice restaurants.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for staying with us. Regarding your specific concerns towards our hotel, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay, please note that our rooms differ in many ways which can give certain customers a better or worse experience when it comes to satisfaction, comfort, and of course price. We do not in anyway want to give the impression that our food warrants a high price, that being said when eating at one of our restaurants you are not only paying for the food itself but also the service we provide. Chefs, waiters, bellhops, and even navigators are at your hand to make your stay at our hotel an unforgettable one.Look forward to seeing you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel

Address: No.2099 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Hongqiao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#82 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#89 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#307 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hongqiao, Shanghai upscale business district, Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel is your home away from home. Merely a walk away from top exhibition centers and close to major national and international corporations, it is strictly business blend with pleasure in the most convenient of ways. For meetings and conferences, the hotel offers 22 stylish function rooms, all equipped with the latest meeting solutions technology including a Grand Ballroom. Be it for business or pleasure, the hotel offers an impressive array of first-class facilities and inventive catering solutions. With 5 award-winning restaurants and 2 lounges, indulge yourself with gastronomic temptations ranging from classical Chinese cuisine to modern Western fusion. The Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel delightfully indulge every business and leisure guest in unparalleled stay experience by combining Savvy Service with a home away from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.