We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2099 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China (Hongqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4
Ranked #101 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Bicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fabulous hotel, breakfasts are superb, our room was enormous and well equipped. The pool is lovely though wouldn't suit children as there isn't really a shallow area. The staff are very helpful and everyone speaks English. As someone has already said there isn't wifi in bedrooms but wifi is free in the lobby area and the signal is strong. The lobby is large enough to allow an element of privacy when I was skyping my family from there. It was my husbands birthday whilst there and this had obviously been spotted from when we checked in as there was a large slice if cake and a message wishing him a Happy Birthday when we arrived back in our room that evening... a nice touch we felt!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We are so glad to see that you had a wonderful stay! Just for your information, you can join Marriott Rewards to enjoy in-room free internet to make your stay more comfortable and convenient. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    177
    50
    7
    2
See reviews for
6
22
33
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

i recently spent 4 nights at the Yangtze ... this was my second stay while traveling for business in Shanghai. Very good / friendly staff and an excellent choice for business if your work is near ... the breakfast is decent, the rooms are good size as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel.With the ideal location in the neighborhood of International Exhibition Center and Shanghai Mart, it is really convenient for business traveler.Be it leisure or business, our fine facilities and friendly ambassadors make your trip pleasant and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, Quebec
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was in a very good location. Not far from anywhere you want to go. Bund taxi is around 35 yuan the zoo is about 30 and everything else is similar prices. The staff are all very helpful and 90 percent speak perfect english. The rooms were amazing and the breakfest was very good. Alot to do in the hotel the pool is very deep so if you are not a good swimmer dont go in. Also in the lobby there is a free computer which shows you what to do see and eat in shanghai. I would highly recomend this hotel. Also a great cantonese hotel right outside the hotel go left then left passed the sheration its a red sign and in the mall across the street there is a grocery store. Great hotel comfy and quiet beautiful rooms. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: We had a king bed room and was very happy. room 1111
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your time and comments. Though not located in city center, our hotel enjoys easy access to scenic spots with adjecent highway and metro station nearby. The navigators in lobby will recommend you what to savor, to sip, to see and to shop in Shanghai. You will definately discover the city gems during your trip. Glad you had a nice stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was booked on behalf of our China Spree Tour Package and it was a great stay except for a few minor items that can be overlooked. The room is average size and clean. Location is great with some shopping and restaurants across the street (which close around 10pm or so). The lobby is beautiful and our tour group hung out there until the wee hours daily without any issue regarding our loud talking and music playing. Staff is very attentive and helpful.

Elevators are separated by floors. We stayed on the 6th floor so only 3 of the 6 elevators will go to that floor. There were times when it took the elevators awhile to arrive so you have to be patient!

Our tour guide did give the front desk our passports to hold which was needed for check in but being a very protective person, I went to retrieved it after settling in. Front desk wouldnt give me our passports without our tour guide's involvement (luckily he was around hanging out with some people). On one hand, it's great they were being very cautious but on the other hand, my picture is on the passport.

Another thing was on the day we checked in which was late, I was STARVING. So we decided to eat at the restaurant in the hotel. I was very surprised when I ordered the pancakes (around 11pm) that the waitstaff said it would take about 45 minutes. I'm not sure what ingredients beside milk, flour, and eggs are needed to make pancakes in 45 minutes but that was a surprise for me and my friends. Also, during breakfast, they make small quantities (usually 6-8) at a time so you have to keep your eyes out on the chefs and staff when they restock the display and make a run for it (i.e. pancakes, waffles, dim sum, breads, etc.)

But overall, the hotel was a 5 Star regardless of the few minor setbacks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We are so glad to see you had a nice trip in Shanghai and a nice stay at our hotel. Regards to your concerns, we would work with related departments and look into the question and make improvements. Wish you a wonderful stay and discover something new during your next trip to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Far from bund but taxi cheap. Starbucks and McDonald's short walk. Breakfast ample western and Chinese. Staff helpful. Wifi free in room if you sign up for Marriott rewards which is also free. Shower curtain. Small tub. Will recommend / stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. It is our pleasure to have you staying with us. Wish you have a nice trip in Shanghai and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Check in is smooth. The room is a little cramped but very well appointed. The bed is comfortable, and the bathroom adequate. The staff is friendly without quite fawning on you. The breakfast spread is substantial, and the conference facilities are impressive. Overall, a good business hotel.

Room Tip: The elevators are a little confusing. Those on one side of the bank of elevators go to some floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest, our hotel is ideally situated in Hongqiao business area and enjoys excellent access to Hongqiao Airport and Railway Station. The newly-bulit conference center including one 8 meter-hight ballroom and a freshly renovated ballroom together with 13 function rooms are all designed for your business needs. In addition, the well-appointed rooms, extensive buffet and attentive service make your trip pleasant no matter business or leisure. Warm welcome to your next stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times for business and I have enjoyed each of my stays. I confess I am a Marriott platinum member, so I enjoy the full benefits of the concierge lounge. This hotel always exceeds expectations with the little touches that want to make you come back. For my last trip this week, here are examples

1. Nice little Christmas 6 pack of chocolates when I arrived in the room
2. Two gifts when I left at the end of the week.
3. They automatically reduced my room rate by more than half when a new promotion took over for room rates, even though I was already there under a corporate rate.

The service throughout the hotel is always outstanding, with everyone very friendly, and the people are very helpful when you ask for anything. Breakfast in the concierge lounge is a real treat, with tremendous selection, and attentive service.

Room Tip: I've stayed on several floors and the rooms were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us during this festival season. Hope you feel home away from home. We cherish every guest's staying experience especially Marriott Rewards members. Your valuable suggestions and room tips are really important to us to make further improvements. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel

Address: No.2099 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Hongqiao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#82 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#89 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#308 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hongqiao, Shanghai upscale business district, Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel is your home away from home. Merely a walk away from top exhibition centers and close to major national and international corporations, it is strictly business blend with pleasure in the most convenient of ways. For meetings and conferences, the hotel offers 22 stylish function rooms, all equipped with the latest meeting solutions technology including a Grand Ballroom. Be it for business or pleasure, the hotel offers an impressive array of first-class facilities and inventive catering solutions. With 5 award-winning restaurants and 2 lounges, indulge yourself with gastronomic temptations ranging from classical Chinese cuisine to modern Western fusion. The Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel delightfully indulge every business and leisure guest in unparalleled stay experience by combining Savvy Service with a home away from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip DaoDao and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.