We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, gorgeous brekfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.100 Changliu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China (Shanghai New International Expo Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #92 of 3,970 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, gorgeous brekfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is convenently located a 10 minutes taxi drive away from the MAGLEV station hat takes you from and to Pudong airport and quite central in Shanghai. It is near Century Park, the Shanghai Science and Technology Museum and its underground market in the metro station.
The staff is very friendly and the rooms are confortable and clean. The brekafast buffet is just gorgeous; you can enjoy a tipical chinese brekafast or a continental one or a mix of the two.
I enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    138
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
11
22
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed on Business for 3 nights, hotel is not the usual standard or look of Renaissance hotels, to be fair they are refurbishing the top floors including the club level and will do the rest over the coming year. Accordingly, the club benefits are served on ground floor for now, which was ok. The location is convenient and there are enough local bars, restaurants, etc in walking distance or a quick taxi away to the riverside restaurants, as the hotel has limited food options. Hotel staff are friendly, helpful and service is good. Wifi was poor in room and slow, most of time it didn't work even on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Wait to the refurbishments are finished.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear AndesAlps,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.
We are not the newest Renaissance hotel but soon will have the newest rooms in town because we are in process of renovating all our guest rooms as you mentioned. The first five top floors are expected to be ready by this autumn, so please stay tuned for an enhanced guest room experience in modern Renaissance lifestyle design. In regards to your comments on the Internet we do regret that we could not meet your expectations. We would appreciate if you could contact us directly to better investigate the reasons for a poor Internet experience during your stay as we have been investing in better Wi-Fi coverage on all guest floors not too long ago. Great to hear your positive comments about our staff which is a main reason why we are a popular hotel also during our renovation period. The hotel location which is indeed convenient if you have business or leisure activities in the new Pudong area.

We look forward to have you staying with us again and excited to hear your comments about the new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was several time for business trip reason in this hotel. The staff is very friendly and remembered me after a few times. For breakfast you get everything you want. The gym room has space enough and several machines. If you have access to the lounge you can get several choice of food.
Only negative thing: most of the time I had problems to get the room cold enough for the night.

I had enjoyed every stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I was here for Business trip. Hotel is not bad, little bit old but service room and breakfast is good. Restaurants close early, as usual in china. Bar has small menus were you can eat something (not expensive) and talk to bar keeper

Room Tip: High level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I was attending a multi day conference in the hotel but was received by most departments as an intruder. Worst example was from the concierge; i arrived one morning with luggage, asked them if they could store it until the end of the conference... I was asked to take all my belongings back out of the hotel..... 20 years in china and the first's keep happening!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear G M,

Thank you for posting this review and giving us feedback as participant of a conference in our hotel. We extend a sincere apology from our entire team that we could not meet your expectations. Unfortunately our concierge was not able to store your luggage in our luggage room, due to the rules given by local authorities as they just allow us to store items for customers who have checked in and registered at our hotel with a personal I.D.. For conference guests, we do provide a cloakroom on the 4th floor. I do regret if this was not communicated clearly to you and thank you for your understanding. We receive lots of positive comments from professional conference and event organizers and hope that you give us a chance to visit us again for another conference or would also appreciate to show you our warm and personal service as a hotel guest.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

an excellent hotel for business trip.
The location is more than perfect, nice sports bar besides the hotel, and 5 min away from the shanghai new international expo center.
The service , the cleanliness the food, the bar, and the rooms all in one simply amazing.

this hotel is highly recommended, I felt like home in this hotel.

they sent me a greeting card and a delicious cake for my birthday that was so nice from the manager.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumbeke, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Good hotel, but very expensive. Location is good for business, but not for Leisure. Nice bar, good food, nice room, service correct, swimming pool very correct. I don't give it a five star due to their prices. I will stay next month in another 5 star hotel in Shanghai for half the price !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Address: No.100 Changliu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#79 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#282 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the fringe of the dynamic new business district of Pudong, the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel is the ideal locale for business or pleasure. Located near Pudong’s Century Park, just five minutes from the Shanghai New International Expo Center, and a 15-minute walk from the Shanghai Science & Technology Museum (and Metro station, Line 2), 15 minutes walk to the Laya Plaza and Thumb Plaza, a collection lifestyle for leisure and entertainment. The hotel maintains a time-honored tradition in warm hospitality and is equipped for handling small to large scale events and banquets. Combined with the very latest in guest comforts, the hotel boasts a thoughtful blend of traditional Chinese decor and contemporary Western ambiance; it’s a truly modern hotel with a distinct flavor of old Shanghai: where East meets West and where tradition meets innovation in perfect harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.