We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.100 Changliu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China (Shanghai New International Expo Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% off suite Offer
Ranked #97 of 3,926 Hotels in Shanghai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was several time for business trip reason in this hotel. The staff is very friendly and remembered me after a few times. For breakfast you get everything you want. The gym room has space enough and several machines. If you have access to the lounge you can get several choice of food.
Only negative thing: most of the time I had problems to get the room cold enough for the night.

I had enjoyed every stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    130
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
10
20
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I was here for Business trip. Hotel is not bad, little bit old but service room and breakfast is good. Restaurants close early, as usual in china. Bar has small menus were you can eat something (not expensive) and talk to bar keeper

Room Tip: High level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was attending a multi day conference in the hotel but was received by most departments as an intruder. Worst example was from the concierge; i arrived one morning with luggage, asked them if they could store it until the end of the conference... I was asked to take all my belongings back out of the hotel..... 20 years in china and the first's keep happening!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear G M,

Thank you for posting this review and giving us feedback as participant of a conference in our hotel. We extend a sincere apology from our entire team that we could not meet your expectations. Unfortunately our concierge was not able to store your luggage in our luggage room, due to the rules given by local authorities as they just allow us to store items for customers who have checked in and registered at our hotel with a personal I.D.. For conference guests, we do provide a cloakroom on the 4th floor. I do regret if this was not communicated clearly to you and thank you for your understanding. We receive lots of positive comments from professional conference and event organizers and hope that you give us a chance to visit us again for another conference or would also appreciate to show you our warm and personal service as a hotel guest.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

an excellent hotel for business trip.
The location is more than perfect, nice sports bar besides the hotel, and 5 min away from the shanghai new international expo center.
The service , the cleanliness the food, the bar, and the rooms all in one simply amazing.

this hotel is highly recommended, I felt like home in this hotel.

they sent me a greeting card and a delicious cake for my birthday that was so nice from the manager.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumbeke, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Good hotel, but very expensive. Location is good for business, but not for Leisure. Nice bar, good food, nice room, service correct, swimming pool very correct. I don't give it a five star due to their prices. I will stay next month in another 5 star hotel in Shanghai for half the price !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for a longer period - over a week - at the hotel. Was a nice experience with a very courteous staff. Great business hotel and am sure it is quite at par as most of the Marriott group hotels are.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
484 reviews 484 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I called this hotel "home" in May 2010 and September 2010, when he was sent here for a month each time by his company, to work in Shanghai. He was not able to come this time, but my niece came along. I was glad to be back here in the early part of April 2014. I was disappointed to see that the Executive Lounge was being renovated. Hopefully, when I come back, it is finished.
Our flight came in about 6 hours late so we were very tired when we arrived. Checking in was a breeze. Paul was very nice and efficient. Our room was in the 18th floor.
The breakfast on the second floor was good. I like the good choice of dishes- Western ,as well as, Asian dishes. I got to like the wonton soup for breakfast, which I never had at home ! The servers were friendly and were always smiling. During our stay here this time, I had the chance to see the fruit and vegetable market across the street where I used to buy some produce in 2010. I had a haircut at Amani's not too far from the hotel. I really felt at home. I had the privilege of meeting the new General Manager at breakfast on my last day here. Daisy, who checked me out, was efficient and pleasant. I was glad to have stayed here again. My husband and I will definitely stay here, when we are in Shanghai.

Room Tip: I always like the rooms in the higher floors as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhipudong, General Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear TRAVELdglobenow, thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback and we are happy that you still felt a bit like home after returning to the Renaissance Pudong Hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a smooth check in after an unfortunate long flight and you overall enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on the positive feedback to John and Daisy myself. As Renaissance we always try to provoke our guests to discover the city and local surroundings and it sounds good that you had a chance to visit the fruit and vegetable market. It was a pleasure to meet you at the Brasserie for a short chat and look forward to present you the newly renovated guest rooms when you come back to Shanghai next time. Thanks again for your loyalty.

Best regards,
Dressino, Silvano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Address: No.100 Changliu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#86 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#318 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the fringe of the dynamic new business district of Pudong, the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel is the ideal locale for business or pleasure. Located near Pudong’s Century Park, just five minutes from the Shanghai New International Expo Center, and a 15-minute walk from the Shanghai Science & Technology Museum (and Metro station, Line 2), 15 minutes walk to the Laya Plaza and Thumb Plaza, a collection lifestyle for leisure and entertainment. The hotel maintains a time-honored tradition in warm hospitality and is equipped for handling small to large scale events and banquets. Combined with the very latest in guest comforts, the hotel boasts a thoughtful blend of traditional Chinese decor and contemporary Western ambiance; it’s a truly modern hotel with a distinct flavor of old Shanghai: where East meets West and where tradition meets innovation in perfect harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.