We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.100 Changliu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China (Shanghai New International Expo Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #98 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed almost 2 weeks. Upgraded to 27th floor due to platinum status.

Room
Fabulous bed. Very comfortable. Even upgraded the area of the room seems to be same as normal room. Ended up, I am not sure what is the different between a normal room and an upgraded room.

Breakfast
A good spread of breakfast selection. I like the Indian food corner but I am hoping the choice of meat curries can be changed daily. I enjoyed the lamb curry but out of two week stay I only tasted once. So u can imagine the same meat curry (especially chicken) been on the corner repeated so many days. Juices are really great and fresh unlike some hotel.

Club Lounge (26th floor)
The staffs there really professional. Very attentive, helpful and friendly especially Tony. He really got a good personality. great to know him and been sharing a lot traveling info about Shanghai while i am there. The choice of food are very fixed need to be improved.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhipudong, General Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for staying at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel and your recent Tripadvisor review.

As the new General Manager, for only a few weeks, it is wonderful to hear that that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments and suggestions especially highlighting the fact that you appreciated the service at our club lounge on the 26th floor.

Rest assured that I have shared your feedback with Tony as a great example of engaging customer service and the rest of the team.

I appreciate your positive comments about our breakfast which we are also proud of. In fact we are just upgrading our Brasserie Restaurant and look forward to a refreshed look and offerings in two weeks time.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again as soon as possible. Shanghai is such a dynamic and vibrant city and there is always something wonderfully new to discover. Our R Navigators like Tony are our local experts who are always researching great local discoveries that are off the beaten path and are happy to assist you.

Regards,


Silvano Dressino
General Manager
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
as your preferred accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    131
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
10
21
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for 2.5weeks in November - really nice business hotel. My room was a spacious corner room. I loved the breakfast buffet - very generous with an amazing selection, even thought a bit pricey. Dining choices are much less limited - there is a Japanese restaurant in the hotel and of course they also serve Chinese food and a selection of western. Selection - limited to burgers -though luck if one doesnt like lamb or beef- some chicken, some fish and pasta, not forgetting the always reliable "Club Sandwich". Menu can be a bit boring if one doesnt speak Chinese or doesnt like Eastern food. Minibar is a bit overpriced - there is a Minimart just across a road -a Dove milk bar is 7RMB not 40. There is also a small plaza in walking distance - not much there but some restaurants including a decent Italian. Hotel staff is lovely and always helpful even when their English is not the best - but it doesnt matter. Renaissance Pudong is definately a good option for business trips in Pudong, Shanghai

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable hotel located in Pudong area within walking distance of Century Park and about 20-30 mins by taxi to Bund along Huang Pu river.

Excellent breakfast buffet however I would not recommend dinner buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The service meet the expectation for the price.
The food is not too bad, the snack during the break is quite good comparing to other hotels we been to. The location is perfect, has convinient store across the street and not far from main attraction like the bund (taxi didnt cost much and take less than 30 min to get there).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stylish design and easy-go concept does its job to cover malfunctions of the building. My colleague had encounter with a cockroach in bathroom. Noise-proof grade of windows is close to zero; some mirrors have humidity-infested black canvas. However altogether, it’s very chic, comfy, hipster influenced & no-nonsense.

Room
is just perfect: good toiletries, extra-comfy bed which Marriott’s always is proud of; inviting ottoman. Wifi comes free only in the lobby.

Restaurant
Best breakfast I had in a year of travels. Freshly cooked on order dim sum dumplings on dedicated stall, Eggs Benedict on order two styles (including invented speciality, a la Shanghai), lots of green salads and Camembert cheese, smoothies and an even Indian corner with fresh dal.

Environs.
Walkable distance to underground stations and a park, family mart with cheap beer and snacks just across the road.

Hints.
The upper floor you stay, the calmer it will get. Noise-proof grade of windows is close to zero; Wifi comes free only in the lobby.

Room Tip: The upper floor you stay, the calmer it will get. Noise-proof grade of windows is close to zero; Wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel has everything you would expect from a Renaissance. The staff was very accommodating and seemed to go above and beyond.

Location is ideal for business. If you are looking for a hotel for a vacation try a different area.

Delicious breakfast buffet with a good spread. Make sure to have free breakfast included in the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times now and each visit has gradually improved.
I attended a meeting here, if I was sight seeing it wouldn't be my first choice. The hotel has all of the usual features you'd expect from a good Renaissance- rooms were good sized, well kitted out with ipod dock, Molton Brown products. I stayed in a room on the club level which I would recommend as the club lounge is great for breakfast or a light snack, drink later in the day.
Main highlights - club lounge, good sized indoor pool and hot tub, spa, Raymond and Jimmy the concierges are good guys.
Main lowlights - noise carries between the rooms. If TV noise from the adjacent room bothers you, bring earplugs. Also, I struggled to make myself understood with some of the restaurant bar staff. Rather shamefully I can't speak mandarin so had to resort to slow English with some enthusiastic finger pointing - but even that failed dismally to order 'egg fried rice' from the bar menu. Got a bit frustrating after a while as my expectation was that at this class of hotel, English would be fluent. However, I reminded myself that I was in China and I should be trying to speak the local language.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to stay on the club floor. It's worth it for the breakfast/snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Address: No.100 Changliu Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#86 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#285 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the fringe of the dynamic new business district of Pudong, the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel is the ideal locale for business or pleasure. Located near Pudong’s Century Park, just five minutes from the Shanghai New International Expo Center, and a 15-minute walk from the Shanghai Science & Technology Museum (and Metro station, Line 2), 15 minutes walk to the Laya Plaza and Thumb Plaza, a collection lifestyle for leisure and entertainment. The hotel maintains a time-honored tradition in warm hospitality and is equipped for handling small to large scale events and banquets. Combined with the very latest in guest comforts, the hotel boasts a thoughtful blend of traditional Chinese decor and contemporary Western ambiance; it’s a truly modern hotel with a distinct flavor of old Shanghai: where East meets West and where tradition meets innovation in perfect harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.