We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Amenities at their best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Seattle, WA USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Luxury and Amenities at their best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This hotel owns the top 20 floors of a large skyscraper. The hotel lobby is on the 38th floor and has amazing views of every angle of the city. We had a corner room on the 52ndfloor with 180 degree views. It was outrageous! The amenities are top notch from the bathroom toiletries to the complimentary fruit each day and unlimited bottles of water at your request. The concierge was very helpful--I asked them for recommendations daily and they were very pleasant and quite helpful. The hotel has two pools, one for lap-swimming which is covered and the other right next to it for hanging out in the hot sun! The locker room has two jacuzzis and a steam room. The staff brought me a glass of lemon-infused ice water (without me asking for it) while I sat at the pool.
The hotel location is central and right across the street from the metro station, as well as walking distance to many nice attractions. Each time I returned to the hotel the doormen opened the door for me and welcomed me back. I felt very safe in this neighborhood too. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again when I am in Shanghai!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    239
    42
    19
    2
See reviews for
83
137
48
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

When in China sometimes its nice to have some Western hospitality and that is exactly what you get here, JW quality at its uncomprimising best.

Yes its expensive by Shanghai standards, but if on business its worth it.

I stayed on the executive floor (high up) but apart from access to the lounge, not sure the view was worth it as for the 3 weeks I was there I think I could see out of the window twice, the rest of the time the smog and cloud meant it was just a grey mist!

Gym, Pool, Restaurants all JW quality.

I got them to collect me from the airport and the neat thing here was they took me directly to my room and conducted the check in there which was a nice touch.

Finally, location. Rightin the middle of Nanging Road, which is the place to be seen in Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Great with kids, because of access to park, museums and shopping. Thoroughly enjoyed, this was my second stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I stayed for two nights and was extremely impressed. My room was large, comfortable, well decorated, quiet, and spotlessly clean. The view was excellent, especially at night. The staff were efficient and accommodating. I ate both breakfast and dinner at the buffet and enjoyed the variety of Asian and Western foods and, again, the stunning view. The location is excellent, near important attractions like the Bund, several museums and parks, a subway station, and restaurants and shopping. My only quibble is that the buffets were expensive, but they were worth it in my view. I would return in a flash.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

JW Marriott is a higher end, very nice and luxurious hotel right in the middle of Nanjing Lu area, which is the main shopping road within Shanghai. Walking towards the right into Nanjing Lu (East) will take you to the Bund where you can see the beautiful colonial buildings with Pudong across the river. Walking towards the left into Nanjing Lu (West) you will come to higher end stores such as Isetan, Gucci and Louis Vuitton. The hotel is also very close by (15 minutes walk) to the Xintiandi area which is filled with trendy restaurants and some shops. 15 minutes walk away into Pu An road is a market which specialises in children's clothing and toys. The hotel is also close to the train station and a few stops away (on line 2 and Science Museum Station) underground is where the big market is located (Ya Tai Xin Yang market and Yada Pearl market) selling all types of bags, shoes, clothes, souvenirs, pearls, etc.

Breakfast spread is wonderful with a very good selection of western breakfast and Chinese dim sum and freshly made noodles. The rooms are spacious with bed comfortable beds and bathrooms very nice and clean. It is one of the tallest buildings in Shanghai and from the room, you can get a very good view of Shanghai city. The staff are attentive and friendly and no matter what number you dial, they will refer to you by name. The Mandara spa is also located within the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We arrived, received personal check-in and room check. First two rroms smelled like mold and mold was visible by the a/c vent. We were upgraded to a corner, city view room on the 57th floor. This room had no smell, no visible mold, and was extremely comfortable. The service was excellent. The best part was the executive-level lounge! Upgrade your room to executive if you can -- inc. food, drinks, internet, & more! We had a personal concierge, bfst, snacks most of the day, drinks all day (all kinds), and free computer/wifi. This lounge is on the 59th floor -- gorgeous! Beautiful room & bathroom! Bedding is wonderful! Great location in the city. 5 minute walk to: a health clinic w/ exceptional, fully trained massage service, subway, GREAT shopping, underground shopping, McDs, Museums, and a nice park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I had booked a 527 square feet studio which was upgraded to a 775 square feet one-bedroom apartment overlooking People's Square. It was unbeatable value for the money! Great location, two swimming-pools, excellent service. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#291 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.