We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Fantastic all round.

This is one of the tallest buildings in Shanghai (Possibly 4th?)
Great views of the city
Luxurious as expected with any Marriot.

The bathroom was glass with views over the city.

Wonderful. Service a little slow at times but professional.

Used the executive floor, food and drinks excellent.

Would definitely go back when I have saved up enough as its pricey.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    239
    42
    19
    2
See reviews for
83
137
48
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night. My husband is a platinum member and upon check-in we were given an upgrade to a junior suite. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. The executive lounge was the best that we had been too so far at any Marriott. The staff was gracious, professional, friendly and had an eye for detail. The front desk also called our room later in the day to make sure that our stay was satisfactory and ask if we needed transportation or a wake-up call for the next morning. The location is in a major shopping area of Shanghai which is very walkable from the hotel. We had the buffet breakfast on Sunday morning and the variety was excellent and the dining room staff was very attentive. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel included all ammenities necessary for a 10 day stay in Shanghai. The service was impecable and the staff was extremely responsive and helpful, from hailing a taxi to even getting cough medicine for me at the local pharmacy very late at night. The quality of the rooms and cleanliness was very high. The hotel also included a nice gym facility, with pools and sauna's and whirpool, to help relax after a long day. The only negative I would say is that in comparison to facilities outside the hotel, the cost for food and drinks was a little bit expensive, but on the other hand the quality of the food and room service was also very good (and worth it, if you're not in the mood to go out on the streets to find a better deal).

Room Tip: Choose something very high, so you can have a nice view of Shanghai's Tomorrow Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my third stay at this property in Shanghai. The staff seems to be getting better and better. The rooms, while a little dated, are in perfect shape and the beds are extremely comfortable. The wi fi works great and in one case, when it didn't, the hotel immediately put an additional router in my room.

The club floor is probably the hotel's weakest point. The food servings are fine, but it seems the food is just not up to the standards of the restaurant for some reason. I just don't know why. The food assortment is good, it's just not that tasty. The club seems overly crowded, and the attendants are nice, but just don't go out of their way for their guests as most club floors do. Maybe it's just too crowded for them.

This said, the breakfast buffet in the lobby is incredible. You name it they have it. From omelets, to Chinese dumplings, to the freshest of fruits. Our favorite was the noodle soup bar. Every morning, you chose your noodles and ingredients for the most delicious soups. Kudos to the staff of the restaurant with a special shout out to Siem for his most welcoming greetings every morning and to Executive Sous Chef Sarah, who just lights up this dining room with her smile alone!

The entire staff at this hotel (except sometimes at the club as I said), do anything to help each and every guest. Plus, everyone is extremely polite. This hotel is in the best location in Shanghai, and I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. Try and get a Bund view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The JW Marriott in Shanghai is the best hotel in China.
The JW Marriott’s staff is by far the best staff in the hotel industry. Each and every one of them is sincerely dedicated to provide the best service possible. The entire staff is committed to making every guest feel at home. From meeting rooms, restaurants, exercise gym, to the executive lounge, guests are always treated with warm smiles and genuine interest to make every encounter an positive one. The rooms are modern and comfortable.
Dollar for dollar the best value in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Rooms facing The Bund offer the best view to Tomorrow Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeonju, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

In my opinion, this hotel was too good to me. Because it's located very close to People Square subway station, so for people have no information about city map and chinese language, it's really easy to find this hotel..that's why it's good even it's an expensive hotel. And the breakfast was great...diffrent kinds of bread, cheese, fruits, coffee also.. In the room, there is a king size bed and nice view....I would like to visit this hotel again

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

It is certainly a 5 star hotel and the building is impressive. So are the views from very room and the lobby locate do n the 38th floor. For the price though and the reputation worldwide the service levels disappoint. English is not widely spoken by the staff ( those that do speak it very well).
Have two areas for comments :
- swimming pool access is quite complicated. You have to get down to the 6th floor be guided to a lift on a arching corridor which will take you to the 7th outside the tower. Then a freezing walk through a glass. Or rider till you arrive there. No sauna or steam there so for that you have to go back to the gym on the 6th. A one stop gym, pool sauna etc would be convenient.
- had lunch for 4 consecutive days there and tried the Indian fare at the buffet. It is decent but more is expected of JW marriot. The chicken tikka isn't chicken tikka but barely cooked chicken pieces smeared with some spices. The quality of the chicken too was dicey. The prawns in the curry were again barely cooked and not deveined. Not fresh either from the smell of it. While it is gratifying to find Indian food on the menu and find a host of nationalities including Chinese trying it, it does need to be authentic,

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly Z, Asst.Director of Guest Relations at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts. We take all feedback seriously and sincerely regret that we didn’t meet your expectations. After receiving your reviews, we have looked into the areas that you had mentioned and please be assured that we will definitely take appropriate measures to improve our products and services.
Your reviews sound very genuine, and I would like to express sincere gratitude to you for letting us know how we can serve you better in future. We hope to have the honor to welcome you back to us in the near future and we are confident that your next stay experience would be a true JW Marriott touch. Please directly contact me if I can be of any further assistance when your future trips bring you back to Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#292 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.