We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JW Rating is misleading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4
Ranked #15 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“JW Rating is misleading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Before i write this report, i must make clear that i am a huge Marriott fan and use them all over the world on a monthly basis. OK, there is a defined line between Courtyard Marriott, Marriott and JW Marriott levels. I had been looking forward for years to get the opportunity to stay in this amazing looking Hotel. The actual experience was far from thrilling and rather misleading. Yes this is a good hotel, but is it a great hotel worthy of JW status - no way in a million years, sorry. The price and quality of this hotel is certainly OK for Marriott level but not JW until upgraded. Gym was fine, Restaurant food was basic in the Chinese and service was way too fast - in and out in 15 minutes - crazy. I went to the bar area once for a couple of minutes,it was packed with kids running around and the whole experiece around the reception area and bar is like a train station in rush hour. finally i went to the cool looking bar on the next floor for some santury. Nope, it was thick with cigartette smoke. At this point i gave up and went to bed, checked out the next day and left for the Marriott Manila. subsequently to me complaining the feedback from the hotel was amazing and very understanding, so i have no complaints with the level of customer service or help from all the staff, but sorry, this is not a JW Marriott. TWO constructive pieces of critisizm for the management. 1. Check out mood lighting - go on a course, it really helps . 2. Visit some other JW's, Bangkok is a good example of what a JW should be. Sorry, i should add the club lounge was fine and the hotel does have amazing views when its not hazed over with pollution -

Room Tip: i think you wil get a good view from every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnie Z, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your experience with the JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square. We apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

Your comments are very detailed and useful in helping us to continuously improve. This will certainly be reviewed and we hope to be able to deliver to your standards when you next come for a visit. On the same note, we would like to say sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. It is of course, a disappointment to us, but we commit to improving each time.

Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. If I may request that you send me a note before arrival then so I can make the necessary arrangements..

Thank you again for your comments and your time. We are glad to be at your service and looking forward to seeing you very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    219
    39
    18
    1
See reviews for
69
117
44
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have stayed for 5 nights, brieftaking view from my window particularly during the night for the multicolor light. The hotel atmospere is very warm with very cooperative people. The room was pleasant and quiet.

Room Tip: None as the people are so keen to provide you full assistance to make your staying to feel like at h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Three American gals stayed at this hotel for 6 nights.

We arrived on Jan 5 after a whirlwind tour/cruise of SE Asia. First, the check in was flawless, everyone greeted is with a smile and willingness to make it speedy so that we could get to our rooms.
First- This property is BEAUTIFUL. It is the 38th through 50-something floor of this skyscraper. The views are nothing short of amazing. Our rooms were amazing, beautifully appointed and views of Shanghai form the 42 floor spectacular.

The breakfast buffet is fantastic and I urge everyone to try the Pho soup daily.
What separates this hotel from all other hotels is the staff. I counted no less than 10 staff at any given time in the lobby available for assistance. Thesis in addition to hotel desk staff and concierge staff.

Sylvio, the GM, would constantly be walking the public rooms and introducing himself to guests. I know of any GM that will do that. My impression is that they think they are too important to walk with the common folk. It was such a breath of fresh air to meet Sylvio, who promptly handed me his card and told me to let him know if there was anything he could help with. As it turned out, because of the weather in the states in early Jan, many flights were cancelled ad I reached out to Sylvio for help.

Marriott has a Guest Services dept, and before Sylvio could even try to help, my angel, Kimberly from Guest Services appeared. I have never been so well taken care of as I have been by Kimberly and I have stayed at many 5 star hotels including Ritz, Four Seasons and other 5 star properties. I had a nasty Bronchial infection due to pollution when I checked in. Kimberly had her assistants find medicine for me and also arranged for the chef to make me a special soup (twice) that helped with respitory infections. I will never forget my angel and her care. The service I received from Marriott goes beyond and above anything that would be expected.

Because of the care I experienced, I will be switching my loyalty from another well-know hotel chain to Marriott.

Simply put, the service here is as good as it gets.

Room Tip: Views Are Amazing, Service is 5 star!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Great location. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were very nice. Nice park across street. Concierge lounge was ok. Not as nice as some of the other locations in China. Overall, nice place to stay for business

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed there for one night with my parents because I wanted them to experience one of the most luxury hotels in Shanghai. The concierge team and service team were very helpful and professional. However, I got bad attitude from the switchboard lady when I phoned the hotel. I tried not to speak English to them but mandarin. I guess that’s the reason I was not treated with respect. The front desk never showed smiles when I checked in. Of course no greetings either. I found the bell boys on the ground floor tended to greet white people only. Okay whatever.
We stayed on the 43rd floor and did get a great view of the city but the room was outdated. It was a pity that I missed the opportunity to check out the Lounge because of miscommunication. Not sure if I will return to this hotel. Nothing really special except the nice view.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for a week middle of Dec. The staff are very nice, had good view in room,high floor,lobby bar are so comfortable to seat,with perfect location, close to "Nan Jing shopping street", best choice in Shang Hai,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our family stayed in JW shanghai marriott on Dec. 23, 2013 for transferred. Our room is little outdated but very clean and neat. What impressed us the most though was the service especially the housekeeping who returned our little son's necklace to the front desk and send us email before we realized we lost it. What is honest staff. Staff spoke good english. it was an absolute pleasure staying at this hotel and we certainly would stay here again in this summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#310 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.