We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Accommodation and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Top Notch Accommodation and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

What can I say about the JW Marriott in Shanghai, that hasn't been said already?
An impressive building, well thought-out interior, and some of the most attentive staff I've encountered in recent hotel experiences. You absolutely get what you pay for.
The room I had the pleasure of staying in was sizeable, had an appropriate working area, and a variety of lighting to suit my needs. Comfortable sized bathroom (containing a more than comfortably sized bath), and such an array of toiletries and accessories that it's almost unnecessary for one to bring a suitcase. I had an eagle's eye view from my room over Tomorrow Square. A view isn't everything, but on the rare moments that I was in my room during daylight hours, it was certainly a bonus.
If I had to make one criticism, it would be of the service or price of food inside the hotel. However, the in-room dining was again, excellent.
I've already mentioned the staff, but they do deserve recognition. Very helpful, knowledgeable, polite, not too pushy, not too restrained.
Shanghai isn't really a tourist town (only one real small "tourist area"), but if you pass through on your travels, whatever your business, I would be wrong not to recommend the Marriott as a fine place to say.
(PS - Just remembered... the comfiest beds in the world... it was like sleeping on clouds... or marshmallows... but, you know, in a good way... :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    239
    42
    19
    2
See reviews for
83
137
48
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Just a two night stay at JW Marriott (tomorrow Square)

Facade of the Building very unique.

Upon arrival experience:
- lovely flower arrangement for the warm welcome.
- porter assists me from the point the of my airport taxi stop right in front of the entrance.
- good manning at the lobby level with attentive staff to assists hotel guest at all time.

Location: easy accessible to the most famous Nanjing Road and Nanjing Xi Road by walking distance.

Guestroom: spacious, comfortable, fully equipped with international 5 stars standard but the carpet looks abit dated.

Bathroom: abit small but is good enough for a person at the time.

Restaurant: did have enough time to try buy managed to grab a cup of illy coffee at the gourmet shop.
Note: kindly assign a more experience staff to handle guests, I assumed the one attended to me is a trainee.

Bum into a few gentlemens in the guest lift including chef i was always been greeted with smile. Seriously, this is what we should feel "home away from home"

Last but not least, Special thanks to Charles Liew on your restaurant recommendation.

Departure: again bravo to the concierge team. Eye for details the moment I pull my luggage out from the guest lift, a gentlemen which I didn't get his name immediately put down his carton of box at the side out the counter and assists me with luggages. I just love the way they ask "sir are you heading to airport? May I know which airport (hongqiao or Pudong) may I know which airline? straight tell the taxi driver where should drop me" I truly enjoy the greatest 5 stars service. I will definitely recommended friends and business partners to stay in this hotel whenever I can.

See you soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the JW in Shanghai, using it purely for pleasure, not business. It really couldn't be better -- the location is terrific for tourists, very central to so many things, including Nanjing Lu shopping street, the park across the street and Shanghai Museum. I hadn't been sure about location when I reserved the room, but after being there, I wouldn't have wanted to stay on the Bund and certainly not in Pudong.

The staff were excellent - checkin was friendly and quick, when you used the elevators (from the ground floor to the lobby, then from lobby to rooms) there were always friendly staff people to give directions and add some security, and the staff in the Cafe (breakfast and dinner time) were efficient, helpful, friendly as well. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was a huge spread, well-maintained, with a lot of staff removing plates or seeing to your needs. I had been concerned that breakfast would be a zoo, very crowded and noisy, but it was not.

Our room was not as large as we've had in some newer properties in Asia, but we did have a corner room which gave extraordinary views over the city on 2 sides (and the bathroom!). With the spectacular architecture in Shanghai skyscrapers, that view was part of the sightseeing! Everything was in good order, we were left plenty of bottled water, it was quiet (we never saw a soul in the hallway), cool and a great place to relax after 8 hours of sightseeing. Internet was free (because I am a Marriott Rewards member) and it worked perfectly. The room was in good condition, I liked the wood paneling, I'm always happy when there is an iron and ironing board in each room, and the rooms were in good condition.

A great property and the only place we'll stay in Shanghai.

Room Tip: The views of the city from corner rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed at the JW about 6 times over the last 6 years and it's always great to check-in there for a few days. You can't help but be impressed with a hotel where the lobby is on the 38th floor and the guest rooms go up to the 59th floor.

The rooms are very comfortable. Not uber-hip/cool....perhaps a little chintzy...but spacious, well appointed and comfortable. I always try to get a corner room with windows on two sides and views from the bathtub. The hotel has a really good steakhouse and the standard of food and beverage is very good (breakfast is outstanding). It has some nice bars too. It also has a great gym and indoor and outdoor pools. It is very well located next the the People's Park on Nanjing Road, and the Bund and Xintiandi are both easily walking distance.

I can certainly recommend the JW

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here during a recent trip to Shanghai. Right on Nanjing Rd, its in a great area, walking distance to the Bund and Xiantiandi, its a great place to set up shop if you're traveling, especially if by yourself!

Got upgraded to a Jr Suite on the 59th floor of 59, so was just steps from the Executive Lounge! Great staff, very helpful and nice. Could have eaten all of my meals there, the food was so good! Only downside I found were the two restaurants I tried, their Grille and their Steakhouse. . . Both weren't terrible, but missed on a couple of things . . . all in all though, considering all of the other places to eat in the area, I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Although it was only a short stay, the apartment had a living room, kitchen and separate bedroom so there was plenty of room to work rather than sitting at a desk in a hotel bedroom. The check in and staff were all very helpful and as it's connected to the hotel all the amenities were available.
The bar upstairs in the hotel has great views. The breakfast had a great variety of food for all tastes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel lobby is very grand and classy and the rooms are a nice size. I felt that the hotel was a bit dated compared to other hotels I've stayed at in Shanghai. Although it's a bit dated, the location is one of the best and it was very convenient to go everywhere. The staff was very kind and helpful when asking for directions around Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#291 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.