We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

writing this while i'm still staying at the hotel.... this is my second stay in 4 years and will surely come back next time. definitely more impressed this time. what striked me most so far is the super-attentive (almost to a fault) staff. from the front desk to the lobby restaurant to room service, everyone at the hotel is knowledgable, naturally polite and eager to assist.
if you have access to the executive lounge, you'll find the host over-eager (my opinion) to get you a table...i personally prefer to just get a quick bite/drink and leave.
location is superb with subway station just a 3min walk away.
in-room dining selections are varied and to my surprise not pricey at all -- kudos to management!
not all is perfect though... i'm sensitive to smells and the gym has a bad odor. not a gym person but thought i check it out and was hit by a wet, moldy smell in the air the moment i stepped through the entrance. it maybe just me since there're a bunch of folks working out obviously oblivious to what i was detecting in the air. maybe all it needs is a good ventilator to air the place out... hopefully air freshener will not be used to simply mask the odor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    239
    42
    19
    2
See reviews for
83
137
48
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived and were told that the rooms with 2 beds were all sold out. So for a family of 3 we were told we could upgrade to the club floor for about double what we had already paid. We declined this and so they offered to put a cot in a king bed room for a fee. We declined this also because our original booking was for 2 beds. Finally she said that our final option was to have the king room with a no charge cot and so we had no choice but to settle with this arrangement. After our initial disappointment on check in, the remainder or the stay was very good. The restaurants in the hotel were over priced and very average. WARNING-Walking in the neighborhood can be dangerous as local drivers do not yield to pedestrians even in marked crosswalks!!! Watch you kids carefully!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked an apartment on 33rd floor. Very spacious, clean and decadent. It included two large bedrooms and a study/fold out lounge, each with their own bathroom, including two baths. Also own washer/dryer. Views were spectacular. Hotel facilites were great, buffet breakfast, spa, gym, heated swim pool. The concierge and check in staff were great, as was any staff member you came across. Amazing service from staff when one of our family became ill and needed a doctor - they have an international medical centre attached to the hotel - a staff member was on-call for our needs during this time. Buffett dinner in cafe was overpriced - but expected due to 5 star and location of this hotel. Location was great, close to Nanjing street mall, peoples' park, museum. Hotel offers shuttle to the bund and other areas of interest. Would stay again in an eyeblink. Thank you also to the driver who got us to the airport just on time and we didnt have a chance to thank.

Room Tip: We were able to get apartment when they offered 50% off sale - bargain! It didnt have single beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I'd stay here again simply for the location - a 30 minute nice walk to the Bund and the People's Park in your backyard. However, as a Platinum member I expected better service upon check-in....there was a long line with no elite desk open. Additionally, I requested early check-in and arrived at 2 pm and my room was still not ready. Thankfully, the lounge has a nice setup and spread all day.

All in all, I'd go back for the location and property amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The JW Marriott Hotel at Tomorrow Square is a good and clean place to stay. The rooms are clean and well maintained and the business lounge well appointed. Staff is friendly and pleasant. The lobby is nice, with amazing views. The only down side of the hotel is that the elevators are slow and it can take minutes in busy traffic hours to get to get an elevator and get to the desired floor.
The rooms are not out of the ordinary but surely suitable for a 5 star. A good business hotel - but not exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the first time at JW Marriott at Tomorrow Square. Location is great. At walking distance you will find stores, restaurants, people square, the fake market, nandjing road and so on. Just ask a map at reception and of you go. I rented a serviced appartment and it was spacious. Good bed, good bathroom and so on. In the hotel you have to be mindfull of the elevators as there are different ones taking you to different floors. In oder to have breakfast I had to go from the 27th to the 36th floor go out get the hotel lift to reach floor 38 for breakfast. The Gym is great as well. In the lobby you will find a Starbucks and a store to buy some food and drinks. Very helpfull. The breakfast and service are up to standards, but ai would say slightly less than the Westin atbthe Bund where I also stayed. However this location is better and they offer appartments. I made reservations for next month with my family. Be awarebthat the 6 people appartment si actualy a 5 people appartment unless you put two adults in a 120 cm sofa bed..... Just ask for an extra roller bed and make sure you don't pay for it as they offer this appartment for 6 people!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our association booked the JW Marriott at Tomorrow Square for its Asia/Pacific conference. The hotel is very nice and the service was impeccable. The banquet and conference staff were very attentive (even those that did not speak English), helpful and flexible. The food was very good. Great views from primary restaurant and bar. Near Nanjing Street and shopping without being too close.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#291 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.