We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large clean rooms but location not too great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.838 Dongfang Road/Weifang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #62 of 3,970 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Large clean rooms but location not too great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is located at the outskirts of the financial district. It takes about 15 - 20 mins to get to the World Financial Centre by taxi in the mornings, due to traffic congestion. It takes about 40 - 45 mins to walk by foot.

There are some local eateries and restaurants in the vicinity, but overall the area is not too bustling. There are a few malls about 10 - 15 mins walk away.

The hotel serves a decent buffet breakfast. There is a good variety of western (bacon/ham/omelette) and chinese (noodles/dumpling) selections.

The rooms are large and clean, and not too pricey (probably due to its location).

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear kooifei:

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast selection. I have shared your comments with the Executive Chef and his brigade. Also equally pleased that you found our rooms clean and a good size.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai should you require any pre arrival assistance.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    160
    44
    9
    1
See reviews for
9
22
36
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was the best Courtyard I have stayed at. It had more than any other Courtyard has had. It was beautiful and the rooms were top notch. Very impressive. The hotel staff was great and very helpful to an English speaking visitor. They all spoke English.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear D Toran 1:

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I am pleased you found the hotel clean and the associates helpful during your stay. It is always nice to be so positively compared to other Courtyards, and I have taken the liberty to share your comments with all hotel associates.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai should you require any pre arrival assistance.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I have been here few times during the time, when i'm working in china.
As generally room, facilities, restaurants and bars are pretty good, but the price level in bars is really expensive (Drinks 20-30USD).

If you have Marriot gold card, you are allowed to visit in lounge, where is really good Drinks and food.

As a hotel, this is veny nice, clean and staff is helpfull and friendly. Rooma are also nice and clean - Marriot standard

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Markus V:

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities and found the hotel associates friendly and helpful. I am a firm believer that it is the people who make a hotel as much as it is the building and sign.

Our bar offers a wide variety of beverages and admittedly the premium cognacs and whiskies can cost up to USD 30 which is in line with international levels. We do however also offer an extensive selection of standard liquors, wines and beer which is more economically priced.

Once again thank you for your feedback. It is only through continued customer feedback that we can maintain and improve on our customer satisfaction.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai if I can be of any assistance prior to your arrival. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here on route to Taiwan and then again on the return journey and wasn't disappointed. On both stays the room was upgraded to king size beds. Rooms were larger than expected and very clean and modern. Was odd walking though the bathroom to get to the bedroom! The free water was located on the sink in the bathroom so don't be fooled that its the one in the mini bar. Bed was so comfortable had no trouble sleeping even with the slightly noisy air con. Breakfast was expensive for what it was.
Bar staff were extremely friendly and helpful explaining what was available in the local area. Even to the point of helping to try and choice a local brand of cigarettes. Unfortunately as it was just a short stopover didn't really get to explore.
Would recommend and I would stay again if ever in the area

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear EmmaLovely2013

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I am always pleased to hear that the hotel associates have been pleasant helpful. Great hotel associates are the best contributors to a memorable guest experience.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai in order for me to arrange a room with a more conventional bathroom arrangement. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Located very close to the downtown city area, this hotel is very convenient for the business traveller. Taxis are easy to come by but expect congestion from 8.30am - 9.30am as rush hour traffic builds up. Approx 40-50 mins from the airport. There is a mall behind it with lots of food choices, and some shopping too. Rooms look a bit dated, and breakfast is decent. Overall, very good for its price, but could do with a refurbishment soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear TeddyJeannie

Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Pudong. Our personal time seems to be dwindled as the world continues to move quicker and I appreciate your comments as they help me see the hotel through our guests eyes.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai if I can be of any assistance prior to your arrival. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.


Best Regards,
Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have stayed for several nights more than once at this hotel, and I especially enjoy the breakfast buffet here, with many hot dishes, omlettes made to order, dumplings, etc. The rooms are very clean and modern. You can walk to shopping malls and other shops which are all right around the hotel. The staff has always been very helpful to me (a USA business traveler who only speaks English). I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Doris S

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I have shared your positive comments concerning the breakfast buffet with the Executive Chef and his culinary brigade. Likewise I have shared your feedback with the housekeeping team.

Thank you or your loyalty to the Courtyard Pudong. I truly believe that the hotel associates will continue to look after you on future visits.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai if I can be of any assistance prior to your arrival. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, MA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel for business. A short cab ride to all of the main areas in Shanghai. The rooms are good (a little odd walking through the bathroom to get to the bedroom) and comfortable. It's a fine hotel and the staff is very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shacy, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear seahow:

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I am always pleased to hear that the hotel associates have been pleasant helpful. Great hotel associates are the best contributors to a memorable guest experience.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai in order for me to arrange a room with a more conventional bathroom arrangement. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.838 Dongfang Road/Weifang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#213 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong is a classy yet contemporary business hotel located in the business district of Shanghai Pudong, located at the main intersection in Pudong with easy access to the business centers of both Shanghai Puxi and Shanghai Pudong, only 5 minutes walk to the Century Avenue Station of Metro Line 2, 4, 6 and 9. This up market 4 star, 323 rooms Full Service hotel offers customers 3 F&B outlets plus extended meeting & banquet facilities of more than 1000 square meter. It's newly created premier and executive level rooms together with its new state of the art executive level Club Lounge will be a welcoming experience for both the international and domestic business traveler in the heart of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai
Courtyard Shanghai Pudong
Shanghai Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.