We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at the Hilton standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.889 Yanggao South Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200127, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #85 of 3,559 hotels in Shanghai
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not at the Hilton standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This place could be so much better if someone managing the building pays more attention to training its people. The service is greatly affected by this, the staff tries but font know what to do or how to even communicate, their level of English is quite low. Our rooms was fine although the phones were not functioning which I reported and they were not fixed, information provided at the lobby on the east tower wasn't reliable or correct. The buffet on the west tower revolving restaurant is so bad that is not even funny, fishes cold, over cooked , service the worst in the hotel. Don't event think of going there. In general a bad experience for a Hilton and I don't think I will ever go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Albertomiami_Florida,

Many thanks for your review and 3 stars. I wish we had performed better to at least meet your expectations. Please accept my apology and gratitude for providing us a road map to improvement. We take all our guests comments to heart and use their guidance to help us improve our service delivery.

I hope that you provide us another opportunity to have you as our guest.


Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    220
    71
    17
    15
See reviews for
13
32
33
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here four times now in the last year. Always great welcome, cookie on arrival is always a nice start! Rooms are great in the East wing, have not stayed in the others. Breakfast can be very busy if they have a conference!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear ShanksPony11,

Many thanks for the review and 4 stars. Thank you for being a loyal repeat guest. It is great that you have stayed with us many times and that we have been able to earn your business.

Keep coming back!


Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed for nearly a week in this hotel on a business trip. The hotel was clean, modern and comfortable. I was on the 27th floor in far tower and therefore not overlooking the noisy main road. Room was spacious and had all necessary facilities; some things not thought of, such as no spoons with the tea/ coffee making facilities and only 2 milk capsules, nor a small bin to throw out used tea bags near tea station. Bottles of water left in room every day free. Bathroom was very well appointed with good shower, hair-dryer and good toiletries & towels provided. Iron & ironing board in the room, and wardrobe mini-safe. Internet by wire at the desk but no wifi in room.
Breakfast was at the other end of the hotel so a bit of a walk to get to but was very good with considerable choice – order freshly made coffee though or you get car engine oil! A downside is that you are almost limited in the evenings to eat at the hotel as there aren't any restaurants near by. The Chinese “Crystal” restaurant in basement was quite good but the “x-sensation” revolving restaurant in the tower was pretty bad – for a week you quickly run out of menu choices. Hotel staff were friendly from front desk to housekeeping and the concierge were always very helpful in explaining in Chinese for taxi drivers. Good tip here is that you need to get taxi in mornings before 07.30 as the traffic after that is horrendous. Would I stay here again? Nothing wrong with it but I’d probably stay somewhere more central with restaurants in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Highest floor you can get; preferably in West tower away from reception and noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Oldbolter,

Many thanks for the review and 4 stars. I was happy to see you had a good visit and found the hotel clean, modern, and comfortable. It looks like we have some room for improvement at X-Sensation Restaurant, the views are great but we also need to provide great food as well. I will definitely sit down with the Chef and Food & Beverage Director to discuss your comments. You are right on with needing more variety, we have recently implemented the use of our special lunch menus for the Lobby Lounge . We have also developed quarterly rotation menus to increase the offerings. The Thai Beef salad has become my favorite.

Come back soon!

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
202 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
348 helpful votes 348 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed here many times for work and have noticed that since it has been re-branded a Doubletree the service has really improved. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and I particularly like the walk-in shower. Lots of electric sockets in convenient places for charging gadgets. Staff is helpful.
I really appreciate the shuttle to the Science Museum.
The only negatives are:
no free wifi in rooms
no BBC World channel on television

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Heb999,

Many thanks for the review, 4 stars, and continued loyalty. It is much appreciated. I was happy to read you felt the service has improved since the conversion; we will continue to try and improve, especially using the great comments from our guests.

Come back soon!


David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights for business. The rooms are very big. The view from our 31st floor was beautiful. The staff speaks good english. Very helpful staff. There was some issue with wireless router in our room. But they immediately send someone even at night to solve it. Quite close to the exhibition centre. Also had shuttle to and fro to exhibition hall. The breakfast is good and clean. They even had separate counter with labelled vegetarian items. Overall enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Tweety1106,

Many thanks for the 4 stars and wonderful review. I was happy to read you enjoyed your visit, and found the staff to have good english skills and were very helpful. I also noted you pointed out our vegetarian section on the buffet breakfast. This came about from our guests submitting comments via TripAdvisor and making this suggestion.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights , very helpful staff, extremely comfortable, large room, very comfy bed. Room service food was tasty, I had Shanghai Noodles, large portion reasonable price. Hotel is situated close to the Science Museum . Overall I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room a little noisy due to external air conditioner fans in a near by area, which could be seen from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Prettydelight,

Many thanks for the 4 stars and wonderful review. It was great to read that you found our staff to be very helpful, and the rooms large and comfortable. The beds are great but almost too comfortable, I have heard many guests say they do not want to get out of bed to go to work. Glad to see you enjoyed our Shanghai Noodles, our Chinese restaurant Chef is top notch and very talented.

Come back soon!


Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed nearly 2 weeks in this hotel during a business trip. In tower B, quite high up so did not hear traffic. Room was very spacious and had all facilities, wifi tv with international channels, tea/coffee machine, etc. The bedding was the best I've ever experienced. Breakfast was at the other end of the hotel so a bit of a walk to get to. Nice pool.

Room Tip: noisy big roads around the hotel, so ask for a room as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Tersparis,

Many thanks for the 5 stars and review. I was happy to see you throughly enjoyed our very comfortable beds. The rooms are a nice size, with all the amenities you would come to expect from a five star property. The pool is great, very under utilized and a well kept secret; it is great for some laps after a heavy breakfast.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong

Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel
Address: No.889 Yanggao South Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200127, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#79 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#292 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, located in Lujiazui Business Center, the 47-story Jin Jiang Oriental Hotel (the formerly Sofitel Shanghai Jin Jiang Oriental Pudong) soars majestically over Pudong with convenient access to Shanghai CBD (central business district). The hotel features 850 tastefully designed rooms in West Wing and East Wing, 6 inspired restaurants, a health club, an in-door swimming pool, an out-door tennis court, and conference facilities for up to 600 delegates. X-Sensation, the famous revolving restaurant and bar is an ideal venue to entertain friends, family and business associates. With almost 10-year experience of professional service and kind atmosphere, this deluxe 5-star hotel offers great packages to ensure your next business trip is a fruitful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.