We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.889 Yanggao South Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200127, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #72 of 3,790 hotels in Shanghai
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights , very helpful staff, extremely comfortable, large room, very comfy bed. Room service food was tasty, I had Shanghai Noodles, large portion reasonable price. Hotel is situated close to the Science Museum . Overall I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room a little noisy due to external air conditioner fans in a near by area, which could be seen from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Prettydelight,

Many thanks for the 4 stars and wonderful review. It was great to read that you found our staff to be very helpful, and the rooms large and comfortable. The beds are great but almost too comfortable, I have heard many guests say they do not want to get out of bed to go to work. Glad to see you enjoyed our Shanghai Noodles, our Chinese restaurant Chef is top notch and very talented.

Come back soon!


Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    236
    80
    17
    16
See reviews for
17
34
36
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed nearly 2 weeks in this hotel during a business trip. In tower B, quite high up so did not hear traffic. Room was very spacious and had all facilities, wifi tv with international channels, tea/coffee machine, etc. The bedding was the best I've ever experienced. Breakfast was at the other end of the hotel so a bit of a walk to get to. Nice pool.

Room Tip: noisy big roads around the hotel, so ask for a room as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Tersparis,

Many thanks for the 5 stars and review. I was happy to see you throughly enjoyed our very comfortable beds. The rooms are a nice size, with all the amenities you would come to expect from a five star property. The pool is great, very under utilized and a well kept secret; it is great for some laps after a heavy breakfast.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
david.givens@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel was clean, modern and comfortable. I travel a lot for work and this was probably the most quiet and peaceful room I have stayed in. I was on the 33rd floor and not overlooking the main road, my colleague's room overlooked the road and she could hear the traffic, so request a back room. I could see the skyline from my room, fantastic view, esp at sunset!

The room hasn't been well thought out, the plug sockets are not near a mirror and there are none next to the bed, hard to charge phones over night if you need the item close to you.

Little things not thought of, such as no type of spoon with the tea making facilities, nor a small bin to throw out used tea bags near tea station. Sometimes I was left bottled water, sometimes I wasn't.

The mini bar is empty, you have to ring room service, due to my irregular hours of work I sometimes want something instantly from the mini bar.

No iron or ironing board in the room, again I want instant access to this, I don't want to have to call whenever I need one.

Internet was terrible and should be free atleast until they resolve the problem. You have wired internet in the rooms with a short cable so you have no choice but to sit at the desk and work. No wireless in the room and poor wireless in the lobby. Meaning I have only been able to access the internet on my laptop in my room and not on my phone or kindle. I was travelling with a colleague and we like to work together in the lobby, the internet restrictions forced us to sit in our rooms, apart, for many hours. To add insult to the poor internet there is a massive cost! £12 a day! For one item only! I think hotels should always offer free, quality wifi.

As well as the cost of internet the drinks and food were over priced too. You are almost forced to eat at the hotel as there aren't many restaurants near by, yes you can get to the metro within 10 mins but if you are busy you don't have time to travel down town. Cans of coke for £3.80, sandwiches for £9. If you do visit a store or eat out elsewhere you can have lots of food and alcoholic drinks for much less. The food is quite good though.

There isn't an outside pool, but there is a small outside area next to the pool, we asked the pool attendant and he was happy to allow us to drag sun loungers outside and enjoy the weather.

Staff were quite friendly, the concierge were very helpful. Always wrote out the address in Chinese for our taxi drivers.

The metro is just 10 mins walk away, very easy to use and as two young women we felt safe. It was cheap and a great way to see the city.

Across the road from the hotel there are a few massage spas. The one furthest away from the hotel, about 4th or 5th along was great, basic, but very clean and professional and a great massage for a low price, we weren't sure what to expect, but we would recommend.

Next time we will stay somewhere else as we felt the hotel was slightly further out and away from our places of work. Getting to work each day we passed many other large chain hotels indicating this is further out than first thought.

Room Tip: High up and not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Hellyb123red,

Many thanks for the 4 stars and review. I appreciate the detail you went into; it will assist us greatly to improve in areas that need some refining.

I was happy to read you found your room to be the most quiet and peaceful you have stayed in. This is big praise coming from a TripAdvisor Top Contributor with 67 total reviews. Also that you found the staff to be quite friendly and the concierge very helpful. This is wonderful!

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in the new tower (can't comment on the older, taller one). Rooms spotless, tastefully decorated. Staff kind. Gym small but adequate and 24 hours. Buffet breakfast also adequate. AC worked well. Love the feel of the hotel and the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear TravellingNewYorker,

Many thanks for the 5 stars and glowing review. I was happy to read you enjoyed the feel of the hotel and the rooms and found the staff to be kind. Glad you got to enjoy the gym, for those weary travelers that have jet lag it is a great place to burn off some energy when you wake up at 3am in the morning.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

very good accomodation, pros:
+excellent general feeling also thanks to room assignation (high floor, sort of mini-flat of some 40 sqm, with kitchen and large working/meeting area)
+excellent price/quality ratio (100 € including breakfast and wifi, for that sort of room)
+work-out facilities, which I actually used extensively nearly daily: indoor pool where you can really swim long, great spa+jacuzzi area, acceptable gym room
+good breakfast selection
+good position both for NIEC (10-15' by taxi) and for strolling by downtown
+good room service, when I was tired and not feeling going out or at internal restaurant I often eat in my room, response time 20'-30'
+fancy revolving restaurant at 240 mt high, with buffet choice at fixed price

contras:
-you are bound to taxis, there's nothing to see/walk directly around (just at walking ditance to century park)
-doorguys standing outside, whose main task should be very simple: to help you either catching a taxi (when leaving) or unloading your luggages (when arriving) can't exactly grab the basic concept "can you please get a taxi to me?" and while they run around looking for dunna-what you just raise yr hand and get a cab by yrself... quite funny (happened several times, no matter how simple my English, my body language and my few chinese words)

neutral:
-if you are in the East Tower all the facilitiies (main entrance, breakfast, spa..) are on West and you have to ....walk.... some could complain but actually by chronometer from my room door (25th floor, East Twr) to my breakfast table it was never more than 5 minutes (depending by elevators' "response time" :-)) which is not at all an issue to me, just a relaxing break walking

when in shanghai for exhibitions in NIEC I'll be back

Room Tip: needless to mention...ask for high floor! maybe negotiate price by time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Carlo F,

Many thanks for your review and 4 stars. A 10 day visit is a long time in one place but it seems we made you feel at home. That is great! I appreciate your comments on the doormen; we have already started a refresher english course for the doorman and I will spend some quality time and focus on some additional training for them.

Our pool is a hidden gem that more guests need to take advantage of. More people should bring a swimsuit, paddle around and relax or do some laps it is wonderful for both.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here for 9 nights in July 2013. The hotel is good and amenities are functional and nice. I read the other comments here but I need to advice you to get a room in the east wing which is the modern and new wing. As a hilton honours member i was upgraded to a deluxe room which was a nice roomy one bedroom studio type apartment. Nice views from 24 th floor.

With respect to Internet there were no wireless connection in the room only wall connection. If you are traveling with an iPad/phone only then please ask from the reception for a handy little wifi router that plugs in to the power socket.

The breakfast is western and Chinese. There are lot of things in the western section but you may find the choices are limited. There is ample vegetarian selection too. However I preferred and enjoyed very much the Chinese breakfast including congee, wonton noodle soups etc.

Staff included some western staff on the public facing areas and Chinese staff with sufficient English skills. If you are attending an event at the Shanghai expo centre this could be a good hotel to stay.

Room Tip: - Ask for East wing, this is the new tower. Rooms are modern - quote your Hilton honours status. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Chanaka K,

Thank you for the review and 4 stars. I was happy to read you enjoyed your visit and took advantage of being a Hilton Honors member. It is a great program, that provides excellent benefits. Thank you for pointing out the use of the WiFi routers that we have available; at this point until I have the wireless system installed I have purchased TPLinks for our guests to use while in the rooms. We also have Complimentary WIFI service available in all public areas and restaurants.

I will also send my Executive Chef your comments on the buffet. We were receiving a lot of comments with regards to needing a greater variety of vegetarian dishes and have added a special section that includes some very good items.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with all the amenities one would expect from the Hilton family of hotels.
High marks for a large clean spacious room and quiet so that you'll expect to sleep well. A bit remote from traditional expat nightlife areas, in the financial district but just a 10 minute walk to the subway.

Room Tip: If you are not a Diamond Club member and subject to complimentary room upgrades, consider paying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear MarcoPoloStarr999,

Many thanks for the wonderful review and 5 stars. I was happy to read you enjoyed your weekend and took advantage of our spacious and comfortable rooms. The Metro stop is only 10 minutes away from the hotel, which is very convenient and easy to use.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.889 Yanggao South Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200127, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#64 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#248 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, located in Lujiazui Business Center, the 47-story Jin Jiang Oriental Hotel (the formerly Sofitel Shanghai Jin Jiang Oriental Pudong) soars majestically over Pudong with convenient access to Shanghai CBD (central business district). The hotel features 850 tastefully designed rooms in West Wing and East Wing, 6 inspired restaurants, a health club, an in-door swimming pool, an out-door tennis court, and conference facilities for up to 600 delegates. X-Sensation, the famous revolving restaurant and bar is an ideal venue to entertain friends, family and business associates. With almost 10-year experience of professional service and kind atmosphere, this deluxe 5-star hotel offers great packages to ensure your next business trip is a fruitful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.