We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not related to Shanghai value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel to your Saves list
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.53 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (Formerly The Panorama Hotel On the Bund Shanghai) (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #620 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Alexandria, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not related to Shanghai value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Hotel rooms seems so old, specially you can find that on the Bathrooms, the rate is seems little high related to the hotel. you can find a highly value hotels with the same rates.but it's location seems so good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    52
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
10
25
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TOOWOOMBA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Excellent location.But there it ends.On arrival no one to help with luggage The doorman was an ornament and the Concierge wasn't interested. The Hotel is dirty and disgusting. Carpets,badly stained. Smoking is allowed everywhere. On arrival one of the maids sprayed our room with aerosol but nothing could disguise the strong smell of stale smoke.Hot water was hit and miss and the bathroom and bedroom had mouldy ceilings.Room service was another issue. If a function on you couldn't order or most of the menu was not available.Or the staff couldn't speak english.Limited english at reception. On checking out phoned Bell Boy for assistance with luggage, twice and was told 'one moment please'. 15 mins later went down to see the Concierge who wasn't interested. Again was fobbed off with 'see Reception'. Reception couldn't understand english. Again went back to Concierge who again said see Reception. Frustration setting in we were saved by the arrival of the tour group leader who intervened. Accor should intervene in the training of the staff and the Concierge should find other employment as he is not suitable for this position.Overall this hotel is well past its prime.Some of our group were charged internet access others were not charged. To claim 4* is false advertising. There were 16 others in our group none of whom would use this Hotel again. There is much better value in Shangahi.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We didn't read the comments from other reviewers before booking this hotel, we wish we had as we would not have stayed here. First impressions are often right; the smell of smoke at reception was strong, smoking is permitted anywhere in the hotel; the staff were disinterested. Our first room was filthy, our second room was just dirty and very damp. My wife left with bites from bed bugs. Enough said.

Positively, the breakfast room on the 35th floor has a great view back over the city, although the breakfast was not so memorable. The hotel is 15 mins to the Bund and shopping street, but the nearest metro is 20 mins away so be prepared to walk. Shanghai itself has some fine buildings and a great skyline to see at night, which makes the trip very worthwhile.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I booked expecting a queen bed hotel room but was given a one bedroom apartment complete with kitchen and living room. Plenty of room to move and clean and comfortable. The restaurant is not the best and front desk service was average but otherwise a nice place to stay in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed in the Panorama for 5 evenings last month. Having read the reviews here i went into my stay there with some dread and while i didnt find it as unpleasant as many on this site have, i certainly wouldnt stay there again should i return to Shanghai. Our bathroom was okay, there wasnt any mould or any water problems that others have experienced. What i did find poor was the air conditioning, It was mild to say the least and certainly did not provide that sweet relief you are looking for after a long day in the Shanghai sun. As well as this, many of the light fightings and plug sockets were on the verge of hanging out and looked potentially dangerous. On top of this the beds were solid as a rock and very bad on the back. The facilities in the hotel are lacking too. The concierge could not exchange travellers cheques, and was rather small in size unlike many hotels that have a nice spacious area on entry to the hotel. One of the few brightspots is the location - around a minute to 2 minute walk from the bund meant it was quite convenient. All in all while it seems others had much worse experiences than myself, i can quite believe many of the stories on here and certainly wont be using this hotel again should i return to Shanghai

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I don't know if I have much to add to the other negative reviews. At least when I was there internet access is now free. Other than that, a lot of the same problems. The hotel was dirty and smelled, my room wasn't much better. The bathroom was disgusting and the hot water would stop working in the middle of your shower. The A/C didn't work and it was close to 100' every day, so the room was really uncomfortable. One good thing was the place seemed mostly empty, despite the Expo going on. So it was fairly quiet. Another positive aspect of the hotel was the proximity to the Bund, but even that had a negative aspect. Traffic in the area was horrible, especially in the evening. Sometimes it took a half hour just to get close to the hotel. Twice we simply got out and walked back from the Bund.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Where to start? There are times when all goes well. This time all went wrong. I was supposed to stay 3 nights but checked-out after the first day.
The most important point when a hotel claims to be internationally managed is for the front-of-the-house staff to speak at least basic English. No need to be Shakespeare. In the case of the Panorama Shanghai you will hardly meet anyone that is able to articulate two words. That makes the stay very unpleasant especially when the hardware is completely falling apart. The hotel should have been renovated 5 years ago. It is hard to find anything pleasant about it.
It really makes me wonder why Accor is involved with such hotel.
It is a real pity because the hotel can claim to have one of the best view in Shanghai and also an excellent location but really, it will never compensate the absolutely terrible guest experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel

Address: No.53 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (Formerly The Panorama Hotel On the Bund Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#240 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Shanghai
The Panorama Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.