We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sleep quality and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Shanghai Hyland to your Saves list
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.505 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save More
Ranked #72 of 3,960 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
saint-paul de vence
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best sleep quality and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Got a great discount during the 2015 Chinese New Year so i decided to book this hotel for a Family trip. The hotel is ideally located (Nanjing Road) with easy access to the subway / walkable distance to the Bund. The sleep quality is outstanding (Thanks Sofitel) and the partnership with Hermes offers first class products for bathroom. would have love a swimming pool however sauna was accessible for free. Wireless access is also free with a decent speed (VPN included) and employees can first speak English and second extremely helpful (concierge could re-booked my flight to Beijing). so Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    144
    44
    11
    8
See reviews for
35
80
28
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After arriving from an exhausting flight. Siem Reap, Hongkong and then onto Shanghai where Dragonair managed to loose one of our cases, that did not turn up until some 30 hours later. We arrived at this wonderful Hotel, and were greeted by a very friendly group of staff who within minutes had checked us in and shown us to our lovely room on the 13th floor looking straight out onto The Peoples Square the view was superb with the night lights and the busy square below. After indulging in some of the contents in the well stocked mini bar we retired for a brilliant nights sleep and then in the morning after a wonderful shower we made our way down to the restaurant for breakfast. In the Lobby we were greeted by a young lady called Roxana with a lovely warm smile when we explained about our situation regarding the missing case she without hesitation said if the situation is not solved by lunch time to let her know and she would deal with it personally Wow that was what I wanted to hear. So off to breakfast I have never seen such a choice it was incredible and service with a smile all the time brilliant. So off we went out of the door straight onto the Nanjing Road as I said the location is great. When we returned our missing case had still not arrived. Just then from around the corner came Roxana and enquired regarding the case, she then took charge and within minutes she had spoken to the airport and located it and assured us it would be dropped well before our flight the following morning back to the U.K. which it was. This to me was service at its best 1st class as is this Hotel. Roxana from the bottom of our hearts we thankyou you were a breath of fresh air.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You are on a very busy shopping street on Nanjing Road with lively atmosphere , nearby Bund, good restaurants and lots of shopping.
The hotel is nice with clean rooms, sumptuous breakfast and good facilities, though felt the absence of the swimming pool

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear ashanup,

Merci beaucoup for sharing your review with us!

We are happy to read you enjoyed our hotel facilities, delicious breakfast spread and central Shanghai location.
It is indeed a pity that it is not possible for us to add a swimming pool in our hotel. We have however a very nice and relaxing Terrace on the 7th Floor with sunchairs and beds. It is certainly delightful during the summer time and we hope you get the chance to experience it during your next visit!

We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a couple of weeks of travel in Northern China, the Sofitel Shanghai Hyland was an absolute gem. The staff were friendly and helpful with better English than my Chinese. The location was brilliant and I'd love to return and make better use of the facilities and proximity to Shanghai's highlights. My room was clean and the bed was so so comfy - unlike the other accommodation I experienced in China. Also the WiFi was excellent and I was able to access gmail & Twitter without any issues which was a nice treat and completely unexpected. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with a bit of everything and the staff were attentive and thoughtful. I loved this place :)

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lara M,

Merci beaucoup for your Wonderful review!

It was certainly a pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay with us and we have already shared your compliments with the whole team! Your feedback reminds us that our guest satisfaction is the essence of true hospitality and definitely motivates us all to continue work with Passion!

We are hoping to welcome you back real soon!

Best wishes,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay there last week. Room was new and clean. It's not very large but nice. The bathroom are all glasses. A bit uncomfortable because the curtain can't cover all. Good location very close to east nanjing MRT station and all shop and foods.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Y-Komar,

Merci beaucoup for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

It was definitely a pleasure to have you staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and we are happy you enjoyed our newly designed room. We would also like to share with you that we do have rooms with separate bathroom (no glass) which some guests find more private.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should your way lead you back to us!

We hope to welcome you back shortly!

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location in shopping / tourist area but getting a taxi is a nightmare if you are trying to get around town. Rooms are small but well appointed and fine if travelling alone. Gym equipment is adequate but ancillary facilities (sauna) are pathetic. No pool.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear TCTF,

Merci beaucoup for sharing your feedback with us!

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us in our central Shanghai location.

Indeed taxi fetching can be bit difficult in Shanghai downtown and our Concierge team do their best to arrange hundreds of taxis for our valued guests. We have well noted your comments regarding the Spa facilities.

We hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed here for one night on a business trip. I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite which was fantastic. The room was great and also had a bath as well as the normal rain shower. The bed was fantastic and typical of the beds that you get at Sofitel.
The hotel is located very well, right in the thick of shopping and bars and restaurants are close by. It is also in easy walking distance to "The Bund". The staff were very polite and courteous and checking in and out was efficient with no delay. I enjoyed breakfast and thought that there could have been a greater selection in some areas eg fresh fruit but really nothing of any concern. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to others and I will certainly be back hopefully for a few more days next time.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Glenn555,

Merci beaucoup for your Great review!

It was definitely a pleasure to have you staying with us during your recent business trip to Shanghai! Your positive feedback has been well shared with the team and motivates us all to continue work with Passion for Excellence.

We hope to welcome you back shortly!

Best regards,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Shanghai Hyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Address: No.505 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#214 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Shanghai Hyland 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland sits on Nanjing Road, in the city's commercial centre, making it a premier Shanghai hotel. This Central Shanghai hotel features 383 rooms including over 140 Sofitel Club rooms with access to the Sofitel Lounge. Additional facilities at our Shanghai business hotel include two restaurants, a coffee shop, bar, gymnasium, sauna, massage centre, and conference rooms for up to 400 delegates. Nearby attractions include The Bund, Peoples Square, and the Shanghai Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Hyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland Hotel Shanghai
Accor Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Hyland Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.