We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Shanghai Hyland to your Saves list
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.505 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save More
Ranked #74 of 3,950 Hotels in Shanghai
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Club room with small but well appointed room. Great location if you like shopping too, also handy for early morning runs on the Bund. Well suited for the business traveller. Excellent internet, efficient check in - out process. Comfortable bed. The club floor is very nice and a great breakfast is available, as are evening drinks and snacks. The staff are polite, well trained and in general eager to please. A distinct improvement in personnel since my visit here in 2013. Recommended!

Room Tip: Club rooms although quite small are very well equipped and the lounge is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Paul F,

Merci beaucoup for sharing your feedback with us!

We are very pleased to read that you have experienced improvements as our returning valued guests and we have definitely shared your compliments with the whole team!

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    127
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
31
71
28
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently stayed three nights here. We took the Maglev train and Line 2 Metro to East Nanjing station. Exit 4 is an easy 150 metres from the hotel. Check in was well done and our room more than adequate. Drinks and snacks in the bar were tasty but be aware you can't use your Accor card there. Breakfast was delicious. You are given your own coffee pot, can have any eggs you like and the pancakes and waffles (freshly made on the spot by an employee) were great. We ate one night in the buffet restaurant and would say that this was very poor. We ate enough to not be hungry but the selections did not meet our expectations from our experience of buffets around the world. At least it was buy one get one free with our Accor card! Be careful that you ignore by saying "No thank you" continuously outside on East Nanjing Road. You are harangued all day while on this strip of road. We took a taxi to Maglev on our return and it was well worth it as only 46 Yuan ($9.00).

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear MountainsHelen,

Merci beaucoup for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay with us!

It was a plaisir to read about your enjoyable stay with us and we have shared your comments with the hotel team. We are also pleased to explain to you that actually your Accor Advantage plus card can be used in our lobby bar as well.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you need any further assistance

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@Sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Sofitel for 3 nights and it was really good. The buffet breakfast is incredible! So much choice. The room was really comfortable, not large, but had everything we needed. Great shower and very comfortable bed. Good menu in the bar that is suitable for families, although there is smoking allowed in the bar which as a Kiwi I find off putting. The staff don't give you a western version of warm customer service, but this is China and the service was totally acceptable.

The main reason I'm writing this review is to warn trusting tourists like me about the tea ceremony scam. My partner and I got ripped off for $500 and I would like others to be forewarned. We were approached by 3 friendly looking girls on a large Shanghai shopping street who asked us to take their photo. They were excited when we said we were from NZ and said they wanted to practice English and would we like to go with them to a Chinese tea ceremony and they would translate. We didn't click that this was a scam and we went with them to have what we thought would be a cool experience. They were very convincing. I'm a lawyer and I fell for it! At the ceremony, we drank a small amount of tea and were presented with a bill for the equivalent of $500, which we felt pressured to pay and did so. It was horrible. I googled tea ceremony scams when I got back to the hotel and it is really common. I wish I'd known about it before. Be wary, don't go anywhere in Shanghai or China with friendly people. Tourists are a "get rick quick" opportunity to many Chinese people who have no qualms about totally cheating you. The Sofitel hotel guest manager was very nice and genuinely helpful when I told him what had happened. I asked him to put some information in the rooms for trusting tourists like me to warn them. He offered to help us go to the police and try and get our money back as I had a photo of the girls and the tea ceremony place (which I took after I realised we were cheated). I didn't want to take it any further as I was scared of what might happen. We've chalked it up to a $500 life experience. Please tell any tourists who are going to China so they are forewarned.

Re taxi fares, getting from Pudong Airport to the Hotel in a mini van for 4 people with lots of luggage should cost around 300 Rmb, we were told by a driver at the airport that 650rmb was the price, which we bargained to 600rmb and then took as we were all tired. We learned at the hotel that 300 is the fair price, which we paid on the way back to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear 295karen,

Merci beaucoup for sharing your review with us!

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, our facilities and very rich breakfast.
We are sorry that you were a victim of one of the many tea scams around the city - indeed it is an unpleasant experience and tarnishes the image of Shanghai.

We remain at your disposal should you need any assistance and we do hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Central location, clean but not safe!!
People at the front and back entrance push you for adult services, anyone can access your level, stranger standing near your room at 2am, it should bring to hotel management attention, I understand Shanghai is a relative safe city but I did feel extremely uncomfortable and raised my concern to the security.
Wifi was very slow!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Ausmochic A,

Merci beaucoup for posting your feedback concerning your recent stay with us.

Our first priority is to provide a true Sofitel experience to our guests and we do take the safety and comfort of our patrons very seriously. I have contacted you on private to get more details in order to follow up and make sure our Security team is alert at all times.

We hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good service, proactive, good language skills
Nice lounge with high quality fare and good atmosphere
Excellent suite and very good housekeeping
Variety at breakfast and cocktails is good but should change daily, which is certainly does not
Pity there is no swimming pool, but the sun-deck is nice - hope there will be sun-chairs/beds in the summer season

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear johanf737,

Merci beaucoup for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel!

We are certainly happy you enjoyed your experience with us and we have definitely shared your compliments with the team!
Our Terrace (the mentioned sun-deck) is indeed open during the warmer months and sun-chairs and beds are available for our guests to relax and unwind throughout the day.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It has the best location around Nanjing Rd if you're going for shopping because it is located right in the middle, and it's silverish finish is just so hard to miss. For tourists, this is just 50 minutes away from Pudong International Airport and they do offer an airport pick up and drop off for only 1,500RMB (good for 8pax). The front officers and the concierge were very accommodating and really friendly too. The rooms are really cozy and the beds are just so soft, it's difficult to get up in the morning due to comfortability.

The superior rooms offer less privacy as it has a full transparent shower area, unlike their junior suite that has full disclosure. The air conditioning unit tends to turn off on its own around 2-6AM but around this time of the year it doesn't really matter as the temperature drops to as low as 2 degrees.

If traveling with kids, better look out for them if going out on the Nanjing Rd area though because there are bystanders who usually harass tourists to buy imitation of some branded items.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is on the right side of the hotel for the wonderful plaza view, the city lights a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear kristineaov,

Merci beaucoup for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us!

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed our central location, friendly service and heavenly Sofitel MyBed! We are also happy to share with you that we do have superior rooms with closed-style bathrooms and will try to arrange one of those for you upon your next visit.

As per the vendors selling various products on the pedestrian street please ignore them and continue on your intended path.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon!

Best wishes,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Shanghai Hyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Address: No.505 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#205 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Shanghai Hyland 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland sits on Nanjing Road, in the city's commercial centre, making it a premier Shanghai hotel. This Central Shanghai hotel features 383 rooms including over 140 Sofitel Club rooms with access to the Sofitel Lounge. Additional facilities at our Shanghai business hotel include two restaurants, a coffee shop, bar, gymnasium, sauna, massage centre, and conference rooms for up to 400 delegates. Nearby attractions include The Bund, Peoples Square, and the Shanghai Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Hyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland Hotel Shanghai
Accor Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Hyland Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.