We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in th emiddle of City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Shanghai Hyland to your Saves list
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.505 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in th emiddle of City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This hotel is situated in the middle of Nanjing Road. Lots of shopping and food. It is walking distance to the Bund and to all the club near the Bund. You can take a cab to any tourist attraction in Shanghai within 30RMB. The only thing is that the pictures for this hotel is not the same as I had stayed. The bathtub is not there anymore, and the lift is a bit old.

Room Tip: Try getting high floor and facing Nanjing road. Bigger rooms are the ones not facing Nanjing road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    105
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
55
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schweiz
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed there once again for a couple of days besides others hotels on Shanghai.
The Sofitel still does improve the service, especially in the executive lounge the service and variety of food is bigger than the years before. Good improvement which was necessary.

The new rooms are quite ok, modern style and not to forget most probably the most comfortable beds in Shanghai, I love them - excellent sleep quality.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear hundnaseSchweiz,

Merci beaucoup for sharing your Review with us!

It was definitely a plaisir to have you staying with us again and we are delighted you enjoyed our Club improvements and Magnifique Sofitel MyBed!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Magnifique 2015!

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Attempted to check-in at the main check-in area and was rudely ordered to check-in at the area for executive floors, was not told where that was or where the elevators were though. The lovely lady at the check-in area for the executive area was the one staff member who delivered service excellence to the Sofitel standard. The rooms were somewhat dated and the bathroom was extremely small. Breakfast on the executive level was somewhat lacking in choice, but was adequate.

The location of this hotel is the best thing, so close to the subway and right on Nanjing Lu.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear BenL94,

Merci beaucoup for your review.

We pay attention to all comments we receive and work on points highlighted by our guests. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and will review the procedures in the areas you have mentioned in order to provide a more professional and efficient service.

In addition we are happy to share with you we have just redesigned and reopened 10 guest room floors - you are welcome to try one of the new rooms during your next visit - they are more contemporary.

Once again, Merci and please contact me directly if you may have any additional comments or concerns.

On behalf of the Sofitel Shanghai Hyland team, Merry Christmas and a Magnifique 2015 to you and your family!

Best wishes,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family and I cruised into Shanghai from Singapore and stayed at the Sofitel Shanghai Hyland earlier this year.

It was an excellent choice in every aspect - the location is incredible - right in the middle of the Nanjing Pedestrian Road, the service was professional and courteous at all times and the suite we booked was of a very high standard.

The club facilities were good with happy hour every afternoon and a great selection of appetizers and snacks available.

Breakfast here is outstanding - the fresh food and choice of western or asian cuisines is extensive.

The hotel is about a 10 min stroll to The Bund (fantastic to see at night!) and in the opposite direction about a 10 min stroll to People's Square.

Shanghai is an amazing city to explore - made all the more special when you have somewhere as lux as a Suite in the Sofitel Shanghai Hyland to come home to of an evening and rest!

I would definitely recommend an upgrade to a club room or suite - the decor and layout is lovely, the furnishings of a very high standard and the amenities in the bathroom couture standard (Hermes) which smelt divine.

There is a bank over the other side of the road for money exchange and plenty of eating options within walking distance of the hotel. Also plenty of shopping if you are that way inclined also!

I'm not sure when my family will be back to mainland China again but if I was ever in Shanghai again I wouldn't hesitate to pull up stumps at the Softel Shanghai Hyland - it was great.

Room Tip: A Club Room or Suite is definitely worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear BrisTania,

Merci beaucoup for your Brilliant review!

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. Indeed we are proud of our excellent location, luxurious facilities and delicious breakfast spread!

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon!

We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Magnifique 2015!

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went to Shanghai for 10nights at two different hotels.
The best time was had here at the Sofitel .the staff were friendly,the Safe was big enough for a computer,the housekeeping was first class.
There were no faults at all.
Location wise it was perfect,and great value for money.
I'd highly recommend this hotel for others to stay at when they visit Shanghai.
The room wasn't large but it felt luxurious.
We enjoyed our stay better than the 5star Shangri-La.
Breakfast was a highlight here.

Room Tip: Have breakfast included as it's the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Hardiman_11,

Merci beaucoup for your Great review!

It was definitely a pleasure to read about your luxurious stay with us and we have certainly shared your compliments with the hotel team!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Magnifique 2015!

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

this hotel is right on the nanjing street which is the main pedestrian street. it has very good connectivity as the metro station is just nearby and the hop on hop off bus is also in the vicinity. we were told that for early check in, we need to pay for extra day, but we did not have option after a long flight. the rooms are good. upper floors have smoke smell so we settled for the 14th floor room. bathroom and shower is very good. the rooms are not very big but decent. the hotel has a KFC and a pizza hut nearby so food is not a problem. there is also a subway restaurant nearby. the wifi is free which was not working too well maybe because many websites were blocked in china. overall good hotel. definitely recommend.

Room Tip: higher floor maybe better. but smoke smell is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear YoungIndianTraveller,

Merci beaucoup for your Excellent review!

It was a pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay at our central Shanghai location.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Magnifique 2015!

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Not really up to the Sofitel standard. Great location yes. But staff, some are very unprofessional and not so familiar with their work.

Stayed for 3 nights, rooms are fine but toilet seat is old and moves. The breakfast was fine but some hot food are nearly cold. The chef doesn't listen to your needs, indeed they play games on iPhone infront of you.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Jen80811,

Merci for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

It is only through concerned individuals like yourself that we can improve accordingly. We have well noted your comments with attention and concern.

Our Engineering team is following up with the toilet in your room. Indeed, the Sofitel Ambassadors are what differentiate our brand from the others and we are currently reviewing the procedures and training in order to develop and reinforce the professional and friendly demeanor Sofitel is worldwide known for. I hope this experience will not tarnish your trust in Sofitel and Accor.

Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Magnifique 2015!

Best regards,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
h1603-qc@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Shanghai Hyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Address: No.505 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#213 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Shanghai Hyland 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland sits on Nanjing Road, in the city's commercial centre, making it a premier Shanghai hotel. This Central Shanghai hotel features 383 rooms including over 140 Sofitel Club rooms with access to the Sofitel Lounge. Additional facilities at our Shanghai business hotel include two restaurants, a coffee shop, bar, gymnasium, sauna, massage centre, and conference rooms for up to 400 delegates. Nearby attractions include The Bund, Peoples Square, and the Shanghai Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Hyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland Hotel Shanghai
Accor Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Hyland Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.