We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lingo Restaurant and Wine Bar

Lingo Restaurant and Wine Bar
1/F, Ciro's Plaza, No.388 West Nanjing Road, Shanghai, China
021-63345066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #778 of 12,499 restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The restaurant has a great atmosphere and the food is great. The people are friendly and it is a great place to meet fellow expats in Shanghai. There is also a great cheese fondue and a good selection of wine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    35
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trophy wife in a black dress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

This place is sweet! The food kicks. Go for the steak or duck. The service is snappy. Great social atmosphere combined with great wine. Nice place. Cool people. Nice design. I could stay here all day and relax. Great central location. French wine selection is great when you need to drink till 2am. Superchill, supermint. Drop in if you are in people square.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor, enjoy a meal here when in Shanghai. You wont be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had dinner at Lingo’s twice on our recent visit to Shanghai. and enjoyed the experience greatly.

The 1st night we did not get to the restaurant till 10 pm but Vanessa the manager was ok with our late arrival and we had a magnificent meal.

We had 3 courses both nights and everything we ordered was fantastic. The meals were exception quality and the presentation was world class. Prices were reasonable for this standard of food.

I find most restaurants in China have a very poor selection of wine and charge way over the top prices for it. It was great that Vanessa ,who is from Paris, provides a good selection of reasonable priced and “ very drinkable” wines.

The only downside is that the restaurant is location inside a shopping centre and the air-conditioning is turned off at around 10 pm . This make the restaurant heat up and become a little bit uncomfortable on hot summer nights, like the one we went on. So go early on hot nights !

Do yourself a favor, enjoy a meal here when in Shanghai. You wont be disappointed

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This bistro and wine bar was a great find in central Shanghai opposite J W Marriott at Tomorrow Square but be sure to book as it is very popular with both ex pats and locals. .The cuisine is predominently French. Their signature dish, which is very popular is a multiple cheese fondue. They also do a wicked chocolate fondue for dessert. The decor is industrial, stylish, trendy and quiet, The service was very friendly, accommodating and efficient. The bar has very good lunch and 2 course dinner deals for 118 RMB which encompass a wide selection of dishes. You can choose 2 of entree, main and dessert. Brunch is also offered on weekends. Happy hour is from 5pm to 8 pm each weekday night. Prices are very reasonable. I can't wait to go back. Great food, great service and great atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lingo Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi, thanks for you comments.
Hope we can have chance to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lingo Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lingo Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lingo Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.