We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Shanghai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Din Tai Fung (Super Brand Mall)

Din Tai Fung (Super Brand Mall)
3/F 168 Lujiazui West Road, Pudong, Shanghai, China (Formerly Ding Tai Fung (Zhengda Plaza)) (Lujiazui)
021-50478882
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 12,686 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lujiazui
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've lived in Shanghai over a year now, and Din Tai Fung in Lujiazui is one of my favorite restaurants. Yeah, it is a chain - so what? I love their xiao long bao and chicken soup, and the service is just great.You don't need to yell out "Fuyuan!!!!!" like 10 times. The staff is so attentive and nice. Most of all, i love their restroom - i mean it. I bet that is the cleanest restroom in shanghai restaurants. They even use a sanitizer when they wipe off tables.

It is pretty pricey - that's why i gave 4 stars - but what i meant was 4.5 stars! :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    89
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Dumplings Served Efficiently in Pleasant Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Din Tai Fung is a chain, but the fare is every bit as good as a one-off restaurant. Their dumplings are delicious and fresh, and there are varieties to suit just about everyone's tastes. There is frequently a queue, but there is an orderly system for assigning tables. We went twice during our recent visit to Shanghai and did not have to wait very long on either occasion. It can be reached fairly easily via subway. It is a perfect lunch place to fill your stomach and please your palate with food which is not too heavy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“Awesome xiao long bao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are visiting Shangahi, Din Tai Fung is a must....great service, excellent staff and absolutely wonderful food. We take all our visitors coming to Shanghai there. The restaurant in Superbrand Mall has an excellent view of the Haungpu River as well. A MUST DINE!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“The best dumplings I have ever eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place has a sign outside saying they have a Michelin Star..... have no idea if that is true, but it wouldn't surprise me! The dumplings are simply delicious. Prompt friendly service, busy atmosphere, and you will order more than you should (believe me), and probably eat the lot. So come hungry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Nice with a Couple of Strange Practices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is an excellent place to go if you are not sure where to go for lunch or dinner. Easy access by Metro or cab to Super Brand Mall across the street from the Orient Pearl Tower. The mall is mega size so when you get to the 3rd floor stay close to the river. It has a clean and pleasant atmosphere with polite staff, it is wise to ask for a window table especially in the evening, the lights on the Bund,skyscrapers and boats are all lit up. It is especially beautiful in the rain. When you leave, go to the taxi stand as it's not as easy to hail a cab on the sidewalk.

The menu is an assortment of dishes from different regions, some are small tapa-style plates so be sure to order more than one plate if you have several people. The dumplings are wonderful, we especially liked the xao long bao and steamed dumplings stuffed with shrimp. The dessert menu is also mouth-watering.

The food is not cheap. What left a strange taste in our mouths was a 10% service fee auto-added to the bill, unusual practice in China. The server insisted 2 persons in our party of 5 to fill out service surveys on the spot too, quite awkward for us.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung (Super Brand Mall) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Din Tai Fung (Super Brand Mall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Din Tai Fung (Super Brand Mall), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.