We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable food, fair prices, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lapis Thai

Lapis Thai
LuWan District TaiKang Road TianZiFang 248 Nong 14, Shanghai, China (Dapuqiao)
021-50339223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,798 of 12,563 Restaurants in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 stars 13 Reviews
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Dapuqiao
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Dapuqiao
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Reasonable food, fair prices, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've been to this place 4 or 5 times now and each time has been the same story:

a) went there because it was local, and was up for Thai food.
b) arrived, and plenty of tables available.
c) waited AGES to get a drinks order in, let alone one for food.
d) food is "ok". I've spent a decent amount of time in Thailand - it's OK, but not stunning.
e) the service delivering your meals is slow, clearing is slow, drinks are slow, etc etc.
f) the bill is *reasonable* for the food, but if basing it on the service, overpriced.

I would love to say this is a one-off / busy occasion during which we visited, but it's not. It's been a consistent pattern for the past 4/5 visits. Good for an ExPat "safe-haven" but you really are being overcharged. Try the local (non-ExPat) Thai restaurants to experience better food, lower prices and superior service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
WanderIndiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spend an Afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Top Thai food. Tasty, hot and well presented. Wide variety of choices. Fun wait staff. Attentive service. Solid drink menu. Good dessert options. Atmosphere is classic French Concession 1920's in a tourist block. However, you'll feel like you've been transported to another place and time. We spent 3 hours on a Saturday afternoon without pressure to turn the table. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Review for Hunan Road branch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Disappointing when being told that they have ran out of beef and crab cakes on a Friday evening. Are they that hard to come by these days? One wonders...
This restaurant has a better ambience than the Tianzifang branch, the ground floor dining area overlooks a small garden, the dining area upstairs can get slightly noisy.
Oh, and they do not serve "plain" (free of charge water).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good, but nothing special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Service was friendly and not too intrusive, the menu had a good selection of dishes and the food we ordered was tasty.

The spring rolls were standard fare, the tom yam kap was also good. I had the red curry duck. The curry was excellent, but the duck could have been more tender. Not sure if that was an issue with the duck or the chef, but, I enjoyed the dish very much anyways. The pasted seafood curry was served in 4 separate portions making it easy to share. Again the dish was good solid Thai fare, albeit not exceptional.

Happy hour from 5 to 8 was a bonus with 2-for-1 beers and several good drink specials.

The restaurant is in the same shopping center location as the Ritz Carlton. Nice location. Price was reasonable given the location. I've had better Thai for much less and worse Thai for much more.....

Overall... I would not go out of my way to eat here again, but I would not avoid it if I was in the neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A simple word.,Bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I would really like to say something nice about this outlet at Shanghai Center,Nanjing xilu.BUT im actually lost for words.
If only the food can be as good as the restaurant looks then i would have endless good things to say about it.
But maybe too bad that as this restaurant serves thai food and i had the opportunity to have stayed and live in Thailand for a brief period,my level forThai food is quite high.,and it falls too short from my level.
The restaurant was quite empty with 3 tables taken up,but the interior is really great with superb seating places.The lighting is romantic and dim,perfect for our feelings on that day after the usual complimentary acrobats show.,upstairs.
Some section were closed off ,As we were only two of us we were shown to a small table but not in a really good place.,thus i asked for a great nice corner but the table can seat 6 persons.We were initially turned down but as the restaurant were quite empty and looking like we are going to desert it too if not given the seat,the manager relented.
Sincerely i like the interior a lot and this restaurant will make perfect for romance.
THe starter dish of salted prawn cakes was the only nice dish of the night.
Then followed by three miserable dishes of king prawn in special thai sauce.Fried vermicelli are starchy and leaves a bad taste.THe squids are not done well as well.,,very bland taste and not fresh.so also the fish which we tried to finish but can do only half.Such were the quality of the food that im really unable to say more.
It would be great if only more effort were put in to serve good food... ,as good as the restaurant looks.The prices are rather steeped too for simple dishes.
Overall a lot needs to be done to get their kitchen in order.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lapis Thai also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Lapis Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapis Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.