We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Takumi at Jing 'An Kerry Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Takumi Robata and Sake Bar

Takumi Robata and Sake Bar
No. 8 century avenue, L4, IFC mall, Shanghai, China (Lujiazui)
021-50111677
Improve this listing
Ranked #277 of 12,559 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $48 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Lujiazui
Description: Takumi Robata & Sushi bar locates on the 4th floor of Shanghai ifc. With the yelling of Wasshoi, stepping into the restaurant and be impressed by the masterpiece of Japanese well-known interior designer, Mr. Gong. The mixing simple architectural design elements creating a lively, informal atmosphere relax your mind. Robatayaki cuisine originated from the coastal villages of Sendai. Chefs at the counter using premium grade Binchotan charcoal to grill the freshest ingredients only with a smattering of salt and served with a traditional wooden paddle called the Shamuji. This energetic and interactive atmosphere is very much like attending a festival in Japan. Then, the background reverberating drumbeats will ripple through your body. It’s time for trying Takumi’s premium sake. Seasonal sake matches the ingredients of each season, and we promise that would be the most authentically Japanese sake-cuisine pairing.For a more quiet experience in ifc Takumi, just move and dine on the glass-encased rooftop or terrace, enjoy some sake cocktail recommended by manager Ono-san and a fantastic view of the Lujiazui sky.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For Takumi at Jing 'An Kerry Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I couldn't find a listing for Takumi at Jing 'An Kerry Center...may be because 99% of diners are local. But that's ok! I just want to congratulate the entire team here on creating a really wonderful dining experience...food, service, ambience but above all else the engaging interaction that both the kitchen and service teams create! Great place...we go every week now!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie W, Public Relations Manager at Takumi Robata and Sake Bar, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for enjoy your dining in Takumi (JKC outlet) and your sharing here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Japanese bbq, sushi and much more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We actually went here for some sushi (which we also had and very much enjoyed) but we also had to try a few items from the bbq. An untipped favourite was the grilled avocado.

We booked seats in advanced and were told already then that the seats were at "the bar". In this case it means at the bbq. It is quite warm in the beginning, but very interesting if you like to watch them prepare the fish etc. We really enjoyed watching them. There is a "group greeting" from the chefs when new customers come in and with certain orders so it can get a bit loud. If you are more than two you should probably ask for a "real" table.

Staff was attentive and service good. We would come here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie W, Public Relations Manager at Takumi Robata and Sake Bar, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Customer,

Welcome to Shanghai, and thank you for sharing your experience during your visit to our restaurant.

I will transfer your comment to our team, it will encourage them a lot. For our team is certainly a great satisfaction to see you visit again.

Have a good Day^^

Marketing Director Carrie Wang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A trifle disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

It was ok..found it to be no more than a hyped up BBQ! We arrived 15 mins late because we were sort of lost...1 st day in Shanghai and we apologised profusely...but the greeters at the door hardly spoke any English and kept telling us the restaurant closes at 10!!!! Early for us!
Food arrived relatively quickly, and everything tasted ok but not spectacular considering the 5 star rating it was given. Price was moderately expensive for what it was.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie W, Public Relations Manager at Takumi Robata and Sake Bar, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Takumi, am sincerely sorry about your unhappy dining experience in our restaurant. I will take your comments to our operation team and do good training about everything you mentioned. All comments and reviews are one of the most valuable to further improve the quality of all our products and service tools.

Our challenge is to provide an exquisite and unforgettable experience with attention to detail, yet always with an optimum value for money.

I hope you still travel in China, and wish you a happy trip. We hope to welcome you again and provide good experience for you.

Marketing Director Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The service is very quick and efficient. It has a nice sense of arrival.

The restaurant is full of show and excitement. It is clean and the chefs working in show kitchen work very clean. The show kitchen with burning "wood" fire cooking whole fish and sea food is the highlight of the restaurant.

The food is fresh and of good quality.

I would recommend this restaurant to whoever is looking for an authentic Japanese cuisine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie W, Public Relations Manager at Takumi Robata and Sake Bar, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Danzing, Thank you for enjoying your dining in Takumi, we just opened new branch in Jingan Kerry Centre, Puxi. Welcome to try^^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice place with tasteful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've been there 2 times during this trip. It is located in the IFC mall, high end mall with the most exclusive brands of the world. It is a scene restaurant. In the sushi bar about 6 teenagers take turns in preparing delicious sushi and sashimi. The fatty tuna and the sweet shimp are my favorites. The king prawn robata is also very good. They also have a good sake list. Once in Shanghai, don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takumi Robata and Sake Bar also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Takumi Robata and Sake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takumi Robata and Sake Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.