We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Haidilao Hot Pot (Zhangyang Road)

Shanghai Haidilao Hot Pot (Zhangyang Road)
6F,588 Zhangyang Road, Shanghai, China
021-38713936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 12,381 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited the Dapu Lu branch and It lives up to the reviews.
Clean restaurant, easy to access and friendly staff on arrival with a hot towel to freshen up when you sit down.
The restaurant menu is all on a iPad and, as long as you don't manage to flip back to Chinese characters, it's easy to choose a base and then a good variety of meat, veg and tofu to cook at your leisure. Prices are very reasonable, with a meal for 2 plus beer and more food than you can eat for c200 RMB. My only slight watch out is that the spice pot gets pretty mouth numbing by the time that it boils down a bit!
Staff great throughout, will definitely be back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bowens_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best 'huo guo' in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The taste was so good, genuine and even smells good! Loved the service and staff were very accommodating. Fruits and sauces were free-flow and fresh! Hai Di Lao is always my first choice especially during the winter time! They also have free services such as manicure/pedicure, shoe shine etc!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Waiting is half the fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I won't repeat what all the other reviews mentioned, but all of it is true (including the free manicures! Just make sure to put your name and cell# in right away so they can text you when it's your turn before they call your table to be seated! The location we went to had English menus and also plenty of vegetarian options. If I went and didn't get to wait I would be dissapointed, let's just put it that way! So much fun and so delicious! My whole experience can be seen on my blog here: http://wp.me/p2Yola-iS

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ejpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Amazing, don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It is an amazing restaurant. We arrived at 7pm on a Wednesday night so went straight to a table. If there was a queue there were tables downstairs in readiness with games and people ready to do manicures etc. Once at the table, a wet sterile towel was brought to us and an English menu. Everything is ordered on an iPad and the waiters and waitresses are very helpful and friendly. We ordered the two soup option ie one normal and one spicy to dunk the food into. We ordered lamb, beef, mushrooms, scallops, rice noodles and mixed vegetables. Once the soup is at boiling point, they bring the bibs and put on you. If you wear glasses, they give you a sealed glasses cleaner to wipe them with due to the stem.. If you have long hair, then a hair band is provided to keep your hair back. Now ready to start, you go to the sauce station, where there are small bowls and you take as many different sauces as you want back to your table. Then the fun begins, you place your meat using your chopsticks into either of the soups and wait until cooked, then dunk into one of your sauces and eat. You do this with all the food you have ordered. Then, we asked for the show noodles and a guy comes to your table and starts to spin the noodles around, stretching them and then when done, places them into your soup. A great show!
At the end, they bring you chewing gum, green tea, a very unusual sort of popcorn and melon seeds. The total cost with 4 large beers was Yuan 350. Such a great evening, real fun and delicious food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It tastes so nice, and you can put any food you want to the big pot. the price is reasonable. Chilli sauce or barbeque sauce is available. Fat mutton is a must for this soup. We always eat Hai Di Lao hotpot in winter because it can make us feel hot.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Haidilao Hot Pot (Zhangyang Road) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Haidilao Hot Pot (Zhangyang Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing