We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best 'huo guo' in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hai Di Lao Hotpot

Hai Di Lao Hotpot
6F,588 Zhangyang Road, Shanghai, China (Lujiazui)
021-38713936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 12,483 restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Chinese Hotpot
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Lujiazui
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best 'huo guo' in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The taste was so good, genuine and even smells good! Loved the service and staff were very accommodating. Fruits and sauces were free-flow and fresh! Hai Di Lao is always my first choice especially during the winter time! They also have free services such as manicure/pedicure, shoe shine etc!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    103
    57
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Waiting is half the fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I won't repeat what all the other reviews mentioned, but all of it is true (including the free manicures! Just make sure to put your name and cell# in right away so they can text you when it's your turn before they call your table to be seated! The location we went to had English menus and also plenty of vegetarian options. If I went and didn't get to wait I would be dissapointed, let's just put it that way! So much fun and so delicious! My whole experience can be seen on my blog here: http://wp.me/p2Yola-iS

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Amazing, don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is an amazing restaurant. We arrived at 7pm on a Wednesday night so went straight to a table. If there was a queue there were tables downstairs in readiness with games and people ready to do manicures etc. Once at the table, a wet sterile towel was brought to us and an English menu. Everything is ordered on an iPad and the waiters and waitresses are very helpful and friendly. We ordered the two soup option ie one normal and one spicy to dunk the food into. We ordered lamb, beef, mushrooms, scallops, rice noodles and mixed vegetables. Once the soup is at boiling point, they bring the bibs and put on you. If you wear glasses, they give you a sealed glasses cleaner to wipe them with due to the stem.. If you have long hair, then a hair band is provided to keep your hair back. Now ready to start, you go to the sauce station, where there are small bowls and you take as many different sauces as you want back to your table. Then the fun begins, you place your meat using your chopsticks into either of the soups and wait until cooked, then dunk into one of your sauces and eat. You do this with all the food you have ordered. Then, we asked for the show noodles and a guy comes to your table and starts to spin the noodles around, stretching them and then when done, places them into your soup. A great show!
At the end, they bring you chewing gum, green tea, a very unusual sort of popcorn and melon seeds. The total cost with 4 large beers was Yuan 350. Such a great evening, real fun and delicious food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It tastes so nice, and you can put any food you want to the big pot. the price is reasonable. Chilli sauce or barbeque sauce is available. Fat mutton is a must for this soup. We always eat Hai Di Lao hotpot in winter because it can make us feel hot.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I think hot pot is popular for Chinese, especially in the winter, as a pot of bubbling broth can help to ward off the chill. Until recently it was a meal enjoyed in restaurants, I got it why people always waited outside for a long while without any impatient.
High quality service, tasty food, warm atmosphere. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hai Di Lao Hotpot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hai Di Lao Hotpot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.