We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service matched by superb hotpot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hai Di Lao Hotpot

Hai Di Lao Hotpot
6F,588 Zhangyang Road, Shanghai, China (Lujiazui)
021-38713936
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 12,422 restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Chinese Hotpot
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Lujiazui
London
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“excellent service matched by superb hotpot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I learnt from tripadvisor that this was the top restaurant in shanghai. We were in shanghai for a stop over for one night before our award flight back home to London.
It was a 20 rnb taxi ride to this spice lovers fantasy. When we reached the venue, we were escorted to the fourth floor of the building and given a ticket number. It was number 140 and the current number was 64. Which meant a waiting time of one hour!! We decided to take the gamble and wait. They have a massive waiting area. Almost the size of a good sized restaurant. Whilst waiting they serve us oranges, popcorn, free wi-fi, board games and they kept topping our orange juice glass and all our refreshments. They even had ipads to surf the net, play games, etc. Superb service so far.
Finally the wait was down to 45 minutes. Still amazed by the level of service and attention to details. Even each table had an ipads for entertainment for the kids.
Even without eating, I can say that this deserves to be the top restaurant in shanghai simply for its service.
Now for the food. Nothing more I can add to what's already been said about it in thus section. Exceptional. And the top notch service continued during the meal too. We received plastic covers for the mobile:-)phones, cloth for cleaning our spectacles, aprons, in the whole a truly magnificent service. A must do in shanghai and highly highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    92
    49
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“1 of my favorite restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A few reasons why I like this restaurant:
-The food is very good, which I weight 90% of score based on the food itself. If you are not familiar with the idea of Hot-Pot, you basically cook your food in a pot of boiling soup (in the middle of the table) as you eat. There are many different flavors of soup you can choose (House special, spicy, Herbal, etc).
-Service is very good.
-Consistency. I have been there about 10 times, and every visit has been just as good.
-Open 24 hours (at least the one I normally go to). There are 5-6 locations in Shanghai.
The only draw back is that the restaurant can be noisy, which is typical for most restaurants in China. But if you are not used to it, you maybe a little surprised.
If you are a meat lover, even if you don’t like the more exotic items like beef tripe or duck intestine, the sliced beef and lamp with house marinate is very good.
They can be very busy at times, I have seen 1-2 hour wait in some cases.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Very nice experience - excellent service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The HotPot is a must-try if you are in China. I'v tried this once in Beijing 10 years, but then together with a chineese speaking host. This time we went on our own. We tried to book in advance (with help from the hotel), but was asked to come and wait. It was a bit difficult to find, but when we approached the entrance, a very friendly guard welcomed us and guided us to the elevator. He told us it was a 90 minutes wait. We arrived the restaurant floor and was welcomed again with the same message. However, we were guided into a waiting room and served limonade and some snacks. After just 10 minutes, the friendly waitress had arranged for a table! She said she wanted us to have a good experience and that we had the chance to try the Hot Pot since we had traveled so far.

We got good guidance from the waitresses - it was several of them and they did their best to explain us ignorant Norwegians how to arrange the meal. The food came - first the pots with fish sauce and chili sauce. Our favorite was the chili. Then they guided us through how to select meat and vegetables.

It was very nice to sit there and prepare your own food and dip it into some of the very rich offer of different sauces and spices you could select for free. The sesame sauce was very good!

All in all a very good experience. The price was very reasonable - 400RMB inclusive a bottle of wine (Chile) and a beer for 2 people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not comparable to Beijing but still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been twice in their branch located at Beijing Xi Lu. The service is outstanding but it does depend on the waitress/waiter. It is a 24-hours restaurant and they have an English menu available. The price is not extraordinary high for Shanghai but not cheap either. There are jokes in Chinese about the service of Hai Di Lao but, in fact, if you go there only for that reason you might want to try their restaurants in Beijing or Hangzhou first just to make sure that you get the right impression.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Dine with a party of 6 and while there is a long wait, the attentiveness of the service staff makes the long wait bearable.
The quality of the food is excellent and the service is one of the best I have ever encounter. Definitely Value for Money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hai Di Lao Hotpot also viewed

 

Been to Hai Di Lao Hotpot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hai Di Lao Hotpot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.