We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariott Cafe

Mariott Cafe
399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)
021-53594969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #431 of 12,564 Restaurants in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 15 Reviews
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: People's Square
Description: Features the best in international casual dining; serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu. Recommendations: Indian Food, Sea food.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Good location, the cloud is good. Staff and management are keen on making you feel good whether you have a big meal or just drinks. Add it as. Place to try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food that is so-so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Prices are not that expensive, so I guess it doesn't make it that bad, and it's clean and well presented. Restaurant has beautiful open views and staff are very helpful. But I've definitely tasted better. My son enjoyed the sliders, but on multi occasions, my meals were not flavorful nor satisfying. It's ok if you've just come back from a long day and don't want to leave the hotel again, but otherwise there are many better for the price.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Best breakfast anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

As I said in my review of this hotel, the breakfast in the Café is incredible. Every conceivable item is here....and it's a bargain at US $25 per person.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Ice Cream for Breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The buffet in this place had everything! Dumplings, soup bar, omelets station, congee station, salad bar, fruit bar, etc. We had breakfast here everyday and dinner once. The dinner was about 350RMB per person and there was some seafood. The meat was tough in my opinion. But there was a good selection of international cuisine. Not sure it would be my top dinner pick thought.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The breakfast was very expensive, but worth every penny, and kids eat free. Easily the best I've had in Asia. I didn't eat any other meals there because I was never in the building at other meal times, but if their lunches and dinners are half as good...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariott Cafe also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Mariott Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariott Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.