We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xibo

Xibo
3F, 85 Changshu Lu, Shanghai, China (Jing'an Temple)
021-54038330
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 12,560 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Xinjiang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jing'an Temple
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

One thing to know: the food is spicy. Not every dish, and not tastebud-numbing, but spicy. Not Sichuan (Szechwan) spicy, but ... you get the picture. Furthermore, it is delicious! There is so much flavour in these dishes - I want to go back. Today. There's a cold noodle dish I'm dreaming about. Also the chicken skewers and those little vegetarian wraps... next time I'll pay more attention to the names of the dishes. (The shrimp was sweet and not spicy, if anyone is sensitive.) Of course the carnivores at the table ordered piles of lamb and reported that it was also great.

The restaurant has surprising ambience in what is otherwise a very average building - nice surprise! Cocktails were good and had plenty of ice. Service was attentive. I saw other reviews comment that the place was packed but we went on a Sunday - it was full but not packed so we had no issues with the service. The bill at the end of the meal surprisingly inexpensive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good choice of restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Friendly restaurant where we genuinly felt welcomed. The food was excellent and the view from the outside covered room good. The restaurant is on the 3rd floor so not immediately obvious from the street but well worth the effort.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

3rd floor location, plenty of competition in this building. Nice atmosphere, very good friendly service; some English spoken; terrific food. Plenty of lamb on this menu if you enjoy lamb this is your place. Various kebabs from a outdoor BBQ grill. Nice vegetarian pancakes/tacos.They have a black lager beer I enjoyed. The desserts are all worthy too; great home made yoghurt. One of our new favourites now.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were here two years ago, and again two days ago. It's still one of the best in Shanghai. We only ate out for 6 dinners in Shanghai, but came back to XIbo for our last night in town. Eggplant and bread is great. Potatoes and pork is great. We were disappointed by the giant serving--a specialty, supposedly--of chicken and potatoes in a big stew; stay away from that, but everything else that we tried was good. Similarly, the decor is very attractive and hip--if you're inside; don't let them seat you out on the porch....).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

A friend and I had dinner here, the food was fantastic! we ordered the duck and pear dish, chilli cold noodles and green beans. superb! you have to book reservations as it gets very busy.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xibo also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Xibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.