We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Change of Pace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gondola Veneziana

Gondola Veneziana
No.16 Henan Middle Road, Shanghai, China (The Bund)
021-63219803
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 12,564 Restaurants in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 38 Reviews
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: The Bund
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Change of Pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were looking for a western meal after a couple of weeks of eating Chinese food while touring China. The concierge at the Bund Center Westin (just a block away) recommended Gondola for lunch. My wife ordered lasagna that was excellent with meat and creamy cheese. However, my penne pasta in meat sauce had very little meat and was rather bland. The restaurant service was very attentive and the house wine poured for lunch was a great match with the pasta dishes. This is a great get-away if you are looking for a change of pace when dining out in Shanghai.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Much needed "comfort food" in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Trying to eat Kosher or Vegetarian is quite a challenge in China. After coming in from a long day touring, we checked out this restaurant. The proprietor spoke excellent English, helped us with the menu, and prepared a special pasta dish that had no meat and no cheese- quite a challenge. The food was delicious! That special dish of pasta was just what we needed. The pasta and smoked salmon pizza was excellent, the minestrone was rich despite having no chicken stock, and it turned out to be our best meal in the entire three weeks in China. Please note the restaurant is quite small, so you should want to make a reservation. The proprietor checked to make sure everything was OK, something that doesn't always happen. 5 Stars!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Having had our fill of yummy dumplings for the day, our family of four wanted something more international for dinner. Our hotel suggested Mercato, but there were no openings, so we trusted the reviews here on Trip Advisor and tried Gondola - and we couldn't have been more pleased. It is a cozy space just around the corner from the Westin. The affable Italian owner from Genoa took our order and checked on us throughout our time there. Staff was pleasant and very attentive to our needs - keeping glasses full and clearing plates - but never hovered. Our order of lasagna, pizza, black ravioli with shrimp, spinach and cheese tortellini, and Caprese salad were all perfectly executed and nothing short of delicious. To drink, our children enjoyed their fresh-squeezed orange juice and homemade iced tea, while we two grown-ups savoured a wonderful bottle of 2004 Rubbia al Colle Rumpotino. We managed to save some room for dessert, which is made in-house. We chose two Italian staples, tiramisu and panna cotta, which also rose to the occasion. Everything we had was amazing! We highy recommend Gondola!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanklin, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Visited this evening, really attentive service, the food was really good and would definately recomend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Drop this place in Sydney, HK or anywhere else in the world and you wouldn't get in! Saw it by chance as I was walking from Renaissance Hotel to People's Square.Called them last night expecting them to be full, but no problem. Arrived at 8.30 on a Saturday night to find five other people there, and six empty tables. This might not auger well in other places, but not here, a superb meal, lovely wine, very chatty maitre d', an Italian himself, Discrete background music, and the taffic noise is hardly noticeable.Took a pile of cards back to the Renaissance and told them to spread the word!
Go, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gondola Veneziana also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Gondola Veneziana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gondola Veneziana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.