We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shook!

Shook!
5-6F The Swatch Art Peace Hotel, No.23 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)
021-23298522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 12,381 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $68 - $84
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Bund
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unusual but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This restaurant is easily accessible if you are visiting the Bund. Our party of 6 were offered a booth with a lazy susan on the table. The service was excellent. The menu is very interesting and unusual. I had a cherry tomato starter and an egg. We went at lunch time and it wasn't too busy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisatholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oh dear! What a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We went last year and this restaurant was great, one of the best we've been to in Shanghai, and though it was expensive, we felt it was worth the money as a special treat. We went again last week and it's all changed. No more seven course menu with champagne to start. 'You have to book on line for that sir'. We did manage to negotiate a special price for a couple of courses with no choice, but when we came to order the wine, all the 'reasonable' priced ones (388 RMB!) were not available, and the cheapest ones which were suitable were 688RMB. We felt this was a rip off and cancelled the order and asked for the bill for drinks. They waived the charge for the drinks, the highlight of the evening, and we went. A long time since we've walked out of a restaurant without eating, but we think it's very disappointing that such a good place has changed so dramatically for the worse. Looks like others think the same

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dobson278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food, unreasonably high prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very little value for money. Good location but no view from the table we were sitting at. Very poor service. The bill was around $350 for a table of 4 for a meal with no starters and only 1 dessert. They billed us for more than we ate and when we questioned it (because we noticed it after we paid), they made lame excuses. Would not visit again and would strongly advise you consider alternatives in the Bund area where you will get better food, better service and definitely better value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GVVSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not cheap but excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

For a special occasion this place is worth it. On the fifth floor of the Swatch Peace Building on Nanking Road, right on the Bund, it has views, a wine list longer than the menu and delicious food. They specialise in Australian products (beef, wine) surprisingly enough though there were other choices as well. A mix of European and Chinese-inspired foods, this was an interesting and obviously popular spot. We were lucky to get a table with a view over the Bund to Pudong. The salmon tartare with avocado and seared scallops was delicious. Yum - excellent service as well though they will try to sell you the most expensive wine first!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cathydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely food and ambiance - cozy and generous servings could be shared!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My colleagues and I were very fortunate to have booked dinner here at Shook! restaurant, located at the corner of Nanjing East Road and the Zhongshan East Second Road (The Bund) for a late sit-down. It is a mild yet comforting fusion menu with very familiar but a nice twist to everything.

One thing is - most restaurants with a Bund view will unfortunately be north of the reasonable price tag, but if you consider the view, location and other establishments in the area of Western dining persuasion, their price is not out of the ordinary but be prepared to pay around US$160/head which includes a bottle of their lower-priced wine and full all-course meal (appetizer, entree, dessert, beverages and wine).

Their slow-cooked beef stew (Menu was from April 10 2013) is very good, and so was the seafood lobster noodles. Please note, however, the portions are very very generous - I do think that if 3 persons went, you could get away with 2 main courses and 2 appetizers.

When the summer comes along, do head up to the rooftop of this building to enjoy a drink - it's a more chilled / laid-back option than the building bar to its right (I honestly forgot the name of the other place).

A point to note: the food service maybe slightly slow on busy evenings but that just means a few more sentences amongst friends while your food is being prepared. Unfortunately we wanted to get home early so we did want quicker service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HardBedVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shook! also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shook!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing