We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best prawns ever. Extensive wine list, great steak and seafood.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shook! Restaurant

Shook! Restaurant
at The Swatch Art Peace Hotel | 23 East Nanjing Road (Bund 19), Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)
021-23298522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 12,499 restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: The Bund
Description: Its uniquely designed open-kitchen conveys the feel of 'dining without borders' - intimate, nothing hidden, open to all, That goes for the menu as well with whispers of Chinese, Japanese, South-East Asian and modern Western, yet flexible enough to transport you anywhere your heart and palate desire. The wine cellar houses two rare collections of Bordeaux with vintages from 1945 through 2000.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best prawns ever. Extensive wine list, great steak and seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Four our final night in Shanghai my wife and i wanted something memorable. At the recommendation of one of the staff at The Fairmont a table was reserved for us. Shook has a great drink list and the suggested appetizer was "dancing prawn". The server told us how it was garnished but I didn't understand. They were undoubtably the best I have ever had. My wife had steak and I had seafood pasta. Her steak was garnished with asparagus and potatoes. My seafood pasta had scallops, shrimp and fish with Shanghai-style noodles.
This is a Malaysian chain from Kuala Lumpur. It is in the Swatch Peace Hotel on the top floor. Go in the side entrance off Nanjing St. East. The elevator is needed to take you to the fifth floor. Get reservations in advance. Our hotel called ahead of our arrival and we had a seat by the window with a delightful view over the Huang Po.
If you can't spend the money for great food and service don't go. But if you want to treat yourself this is one way to do so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    117
    45
    20
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A great atmosphere, good menu of food and wines with fresh produce.
An attentive Head Chef and waiting staff.
Wine list is extensive but in line with Shanghais high prices for wine so no surprise.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Paying for the ambience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Located across the BUND in a old colonial building. Food was so so nothing spectacular. It is the view and ambience you are paying for.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Super Value Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went here for a mid week lunch with a group of friends. Booked online. We ordered from the specail set lunch at 88rmb. I had the Ceaser Salad and the chicken. Excellent value and good sized portions. The presentation and taste were excellent. Very satisfying!! I was very happy with the food and the value of the food. I also had a dessert for an extra 38rmb. However, watch out for the drinks. We had 2 bottles of water and these were almost 100rmb each! A friend had a glass of wine and this was 138rmb for 1 glass! Overall a great destination for a great value lunch in a lovely setting, just be careful what you drink!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, attentive staff! Lovely rooftop area with view of Bund. Prices are a little steep, but worth it for a special occasion. Book well in advance for the cosy table for two at the window.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shook! Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shook! Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shook! Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.