We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for the ambience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shook!

Shook!
5-6F The Swatch Art Peace Hotel, No.23 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)
021-23298522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 12,417 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $73 - $89
Cuisines: Japanese, International, Fusion, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: The Bund
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Paying for the ambience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Located across the BUND in a old colonial building. Food was so so nothing spectacular. It is the view and ambience you are paying for.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    120
    45
    20
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Super Value Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went here for a mid week lunch with a group of friends. Booked online. We ordered from the specail set lunch at 88rmb. I had the Ceaser Salad and the chicken. Excellent value and good sized portions. The presentation and taste were excellent. Very satisfying!! I was very happy with the food and the value of the food. I also had a dessert for an extra 38rmb. However, watch out for the drinks. We had 2 bottles of water and these were almost 100rmb each! A friend had a glass of wine and this was 138rmb for 1 glass! Overall a great destination for a great value lunch in a lovely setting, just be careful what you drink!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, attentive staff! Lovely rooftop area with view of Bund. Prices are a little steep, but worth it for a special occasion. Book well in advance for the cosy table for two at the window.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food overlooking the Bund in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A delicious meal for sure. The staff was very attentive to all of our needs. I love to eat in an open kitchen atmosphere and the Chef was there to greet us and to talk to us about our meal. It is a bit pricey but well worth the experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was a bit apprehensive since I had heard some negative comments about this restaurant. I am glad that we went there inspite of that.
The evening was perfect. We were a group of about 14 people and were given a nice round table in a nice nook of the restaurant with a great view of the Bund. The food and wines were excellent and the waiters very attentive, polite and knowledgeable. This is not always the case at some of the other comparable restaurants in Shanghai.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shook! also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shook!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shook!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.