We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really liked it here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan to your Saves list
Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Jiangbin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200023, China (Dapuqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #63 of 3,977 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“really liked it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

thought i would try the new Mariott, usually use the courtyard which i like and is convenient. was pleasntly suprised as reviews were so so. location is quieter but has really nice gardens next door, a running track andgreat views of the water (some rooms and exec lunge)
the lounge is much better than Mariott courtyard and JW in BJ too)
great gym, staff really attentive, food is pretty good too

Room Tip: get a room with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    57
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The moment I stepped in, I was wowed by the space that the room offered. This was a standard room, but it was huge.

This could be partly attributed to the smart layout done by the Architect and Interior Designer.

For me, its near to my office and everything that a business traveler could ask for.
For leisure traveler, location is not ideal but you get a view of the river and the Bridge (卢浦大桥).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This particular Marriott is a very nice / clean / and well organized hotel. I am a frequent traveler and visit this hotel on my way back to the US. It's a good location for me, away from the downtown area and a bit more laid back in where you can grab a cab for 15-25 RMB and be downtown. It's about 200 RMP (Sept 2013) from the hotel to the airport.

The only drawback on this hotel like any other nicer hotel is that the food at the hotel is a bit on the pricy side. With that said however, their breakfast option in the morning is quite nice. Also on the top of the hotel is a sky bar, which is also very nice and has a nice view of the river and city from a distance as well.

The hotel staff is always very helpful, and most of the staff do speak English. Also the beds at this hotel are not the common very firm stiff beds you may find at a more typical Chinese brand of hotel, but a standard type of bed that you would find in the US.

Overall this hotel had as much or as little as you need. Also getting to and from the city via cab is not an issue. This hotel has become a great starting and leaving spot whenever traveling in China, as I know what to expect, and have not had a bad experience here yet.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a few days ahead. Often times this hotel does fill up, so a 24-48 hour window bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Held a week long conference here in June 2013 for a team of 50 people. Loved the modern Asian style of the hotel, which reminded me of the JW Marriotts in HK and Shenzhen. Lounge was excellent and the small rooftop bar was fun. Location was OK for a business event - a short cab ride to the downtown attractions, but if I was staying for leisure I'd probably pay the extra for a more central hotel. Conference was a big success, thanks to the excellent service, catering and conference facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

From arrival at reception, service was friendly, efficient and mostly helpful. I arrived late, and even though the receptionist was clearly due to finish her shift, she took the time to answer all my questions, change some currency for me, and ensure I knew where I was going the following day. The room was fantastic! Very clean, spacious, with wonderful individual touches to make my stay more comfortable. The view over the river should have been magnificent. Only the Shanghai weather spoilt it. The hotel laundry service is excellent and again the attention to detail was impressive. Each day I was there the Concierge service made sure I got a taxi at the time requested, and although not in a central location, taxi's are so cheap, it doesn't really matter! A most enjoyable and comfortable stay, although at 2 nights, was far too short.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel, Marriott Luwan, is nice, and the rooms are nice, but that’s where it ends to make it a Marriott Hotel. Staff barely spoke English. In a city, where it is not difficult to find workers who speak good English, is pretty bad hiring policy for an international hotel of this caliber. I am a Marriott frequent resident and usually stay with the Marriot ChanFeng Park which is a very good Marriot. Marriott Luwan probably is brand new, and sort of out of the way. I stayed so I can get some variety into my hotels. I have stayed at most of the Marriotts in Shanghai.
Coming back from the Hojo in Ningbo, which probably is one of Hojo’s very few 5 star hotels on the planet (read my separate review on that), the experience at this Marriott was pretty dismal. The check-in was ok. More like a Chinese 5 star hotel, where you go straight to check in, and get your check in done. I was told they were upgrading me to a river-view hotel, when that is what I picked when I booked at Marriott.com
Anyway, I tried to have dinner at the 28th floor restaurant, but left because of poor service. I was given a table which was reserved, and then a few minutes later was asked to move table. My rule, poor service equals to bad food. So, I left, went out of the hotel, to the back of the hotel and had dinner at a pasta joint called Hungry Man. It was hand made Fetucine with jumbo shrimp in white wine souce. Cheap and extremely delicious. This is when I remembered, Marco Polo brought pasta from China to Italy. Rest is Italian cuisine history.
Back to Marriott Luwan, being still a little early in the evening, went up to the 28th floor sky-deck to have a few drinks. Layout of bar is pretty poor. High chairs block off the view. I wonder what idiot designed this room? There was a jazz band, but they were hidden in a corner. I never learned why hotels in China hide the bands? They treat them more like elevator music. So, heard the music but never saw them. A Heineken beer was approximately US13.00. Expensive. Had 3 drinks and went back to my room. They were short staffed with one single bartender, with a fairly full room. All the waitresses could do, was sit and watch, while the bartender played catch-up.
Saving grace – The hotel is probably brand new. So, carpet is unusually clean. Gym is well kept, and with decent equipment. Also the hotel is right next to the river which has a river walk. All brand new. I couldn’t resist getting up at 6 am and taking a run on the riverwalk. It was very pleasant. A lot of walkers early am. Did two rounds and ended up the gym for some light weights, and back to the room.
This is a nice and relaxing place to stay. Getting here was not very difficult. Subway is not too far away. If only they can improve the service, improve the menu, bring in better food and staff. And English speaking staff. For $159 a night, 3 nights, not worth it. This was more like a Courtyard then a regular premier Marriott. I could not find coffee in the morning. If you are morning coffee person, bring some Via. I probably will go back to my usual ChangFeng Park location and skip this hotel.

Room Tip: Nice hotel to relax. Recommend this hotel if you are looking for a very nice, very clean, up-scale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Not dead central but this new hotel was great and fantastic value for money. Would recommend to anyone, stayed by chance and will be back again.
Everything spotless and great service, got free access to executive lounge for a special event and that just rounded the stay off.

Only thing wrong : i am booked in elsewhere tomorrow night.

if your a visitor just get a taxi, you will be arriving and using them anyway so being slightly out doesn't matter a jot.

6th hotel of this trip and a standout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan

Address: No.99 Jiangbin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200023, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Dapuqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 3,977 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shanghai Marriott Hotel Luwan is centrally located along the Huangpu river in the new CBD of Huangpu district. Surrounded by river side park, shopping complex and office buildings, it’s an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is adjacent to the Puxi EXPO site and is easily accessible to Pudong through the Dapu tunnel. Tianzifang, Xintiandi and the Mercedes Benz Arena are all within 5km from the hotel. With its unique location the hotel is not only accessible but also enjoys a spectacular view of the Huangpu river and Pudong EXPO sight. There are 290 tastefully decorated rooms including 6 river view suites. Other hotel facilities include multiple original food & beverage outlets, 24 hour health club and an in-door swimming pool. A total of 1,600 sqm of function space is available for banquets, weddings, meetings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.