We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan

Save Saved
You added Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Jiangbin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200023, China (Dapuqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4
Ranked #82 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

From arrival at reception, service was friendly, efficient and mostly helpful. I arrived late, and even though the receptionist was clearly due to finish her shift, she took the time to answer all my questions, change some currency for me, and ensure I knew where I was going the following day. The room was fantastic! Very clean, spacious, with wonderful individual touches to make my stay more comfortable. The view over the river should have been magnificent. Only the Shanghai weather spoilt it. The hotel laundry service is excellent and again the attention to detail was impressive. Each day I was there the Concierge service made sure I got a taxi at the time requested, and although not in a central location, taxi's are so cheap, it doesn't really matter! A most enjoyable and comfortable stay, although at 2 nights, was far too short.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
5
1
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel, Marriott Luwan, is nice, and the rooms are nice, but that’s where it ends to make it a Marriott Hotel. Staff barely spoke English. In a city, where it is not difficult to find workers who speak good English, is pretty bad hiring policy for an international hotel of this caliber. I am a Marriott frequent resident and usually stay with the Marriot ChanFeng Park which is a very good Marriot. Marriott Luwan probably is brand new, and sort of out of the way. I stayed so I can get some variety into my hotels. I have stayed at most of the Marriotts in Shanghai.
Coming back from the Hojo in Ningbo, which probably is one of Hojo’s very few 5 star hotels on the planet (read my separate review on that), the experience at this Marriott was pretty dismal. The check-in was ok. More like a Chinese 5 star hotel, where you go straight to check in, and get your check in done. I was told they were upgrading me to a river-view hotel, when that is what I picked when I booked at Marriott.com
Anyway, I tried to have dinner at the 28th floor restaurant, but left because of poor service. I was given a table which was reserved, and then a few minutes later was asked to move table. My rule, poor service equals to bad food. So, I left, went out of the hotel, to the back of the hotel and had dinner at a pasta joint called Hungry Man. It was hand made Fetucine with jumbo shrimp in white wine souce. Cheap and extremely delicious. This is when I remembered, Marco Polo brought pasta from China to Italy. Rest is Italian cuisine history.
Back to Marriott Luwan, being still a little early in the evening, went up to the 28th floor sky-deck to have a few drinks. Layout of bar is pretty poor. High chairs block off the view. I wonder what idiot designed this room? There was a jazz band, but they were hidden in a corner. I never learned why hotels in China hide the bands? They treat them more like elevator music. So, heard the music but never saw them. A Heineken beer was approximately US13.00. Expensive. Had 3 drinks and went back to my room. They were short staffed with one single bartender, with a fairly full room. All the waitresses could do, was sit and watch, while the bartender played catch-up.
Saving grace – The hotel is probably brand new. So, carpet is unusually clean. Gym is well kept, and with decent equipment. Also the hotel is right next to the river which has a river walk. All brand new. I couldn’t resist getting up at 6 am and taking a run on the riverwalk. It was very pleasant. A lot of walkers early am. Did two rounds and ended up the gym for some light weights, and back to the room.
This is a nice and relaxing place to stay. Getting here was not very difficult. Subway is not too far away. If only they can improve the service, improve the menu, bring in better food and staff. And English speaking staff. For $159 a night, 3 nights, not worth it. This was more like a Courtyard then a regular premier Marriott. I could not find coffee in the morning. If you are morning coffee person, bring some Via. I probably will go back to my usual ChangFeng Park location and skip this hotel.

Room Tip: Nice hotel to relax. Recommend this hotel if you are looking for a very nice, very clean, up-scale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Not dead central but this new hotel was great and fantastic value for money. Would recommend to anyone, stayed by chance and will be back again.
Everything spotless and great service, got free access to executive lounge for a special event and that just rounded the stay off.

Only thing wrong : i am booked in elsewhere tomorrow night.

if your a visitor just get a taxi, you will be arriving and using them anyway so being slightly out doesn't matter a jot.

6th hotel of this trip and a standout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Why it is good:
Competitive price -- lower than any other Marriott in the city
Newer -- newest Marriott (real Marriott)
View -- near the river (South side), look into the (Ex) World Expo site
Friendly Staff -- if you stay there twice, they try to "know you"

Why I like it:
I can get to anywhere in the city -- I am public transportation capable (taxi is also easy to come by)
This is the new hip location of the city

Room Tip: Note: the address (English listing on Marriott is incorrect -- but Google Map can find it [and corre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Room was spacious & very comfortable beds, we upgraded to use the Executive lounge for relaxing & enjoy the food & drink provided. The breakfast was very good with wide spread of food.As there are 3 of us, we use the taxi rather than walking to the metro to do our shoppings & some sightseeings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel is rather new, room and bed were not bad. They had a pillow menu but requested pillow was not available and room service was very sweet and told me they would recommend me another type for a great sleep. Room's temperature was too cold, and could not be adjusted any further, but they supplied us with a heater, great!

Location was rather secluded and inconvenient. There was NOTHING at all within walking distance from the hotel, you have to travel (via cab) for at least 15 minutes for food and stuff. But the cabs in Shanghai are very affordable, which made up for it!

Reception and concierge service was mediocre.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good location, a little difficult to find due to road system, just make sure your taxi driver knows the hotel before starting out. Excellent restaurant for the a la carte, Buffet not very good. Try the Chinese restaurant, excellent. Everyone very helpful. Negative, bar on the top floor had little atmosphere, maybe just the time we went.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan

Address: No.99 Jiangbin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200023, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > Dapuqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shanghai Marriott Hotel Luwan is centrally located along the Huangpu river in the new CBD of Huangpu district. Surrounded by river side park, shopping complex and office buildings, it’s an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is adjacent to the Puxi EXPO site and is easily accessible to Pudong through the Dapu tunnel. Tianzifang, Xintiandi and the Mercedes Benz Arena are all within 5km from the hotel. With its unique location the hotel is not only accessible but also enjoys a spectacular view of the Huangpu river and Pudong EXPO sight. There are 290 tastefully decorated rooms including 6 river view suites. Other hotel facilities include multiple original food & beverage outlets, 24 hour health club and an in-door swimming pool. A total of 1,600 sqm of function space is available for banquets, weddings, meetings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.