We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit lux” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan to your Saves list
Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Jiangbin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200023, China (Dapuqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #65 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A little bit lux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A great hotel. Got a room with an open bath room which meant I could end my evenings watching telly from the tub! As clean and tidy as they come. Staff speaks understandable English (which is not that easy to come by in Shanghai) and are very friendly and service minded.
Breakfast was great too with both European as well as Asian cousuine.
Located not too far from where the action is (well... the tourist infested areas that is) and taxi is virtually free in China.

Room Tip: As high up as you can afford :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    57
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
4
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napoli
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is located in a very quite location in Shanghai, 20 minutes by taxi from the Bund and about 26 rnmb. The rooms are large and comfortable, quite and clean. The breakfast offers a wide selections of meal (do not choose the continental food, I didn't enjoy it), they have an amazing Chinese and Noodles station. The personell at restaurant is caring but very poor english. Healthy gym, indoor pool and sauna. I've paid 100 euro per night, great value and great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Pros: Nice big room, bathroom is excellent! Nice gym, free WiFi but slow.

Cons: not a very convenient location, there's not much around. 5 min walk to a gas station which has a convenient store, that's about it. Too far to walk to a subway station.
The service is not quite 5 star standard,and the food is so-so. No outdoor pool,indoor pool is small, jacuzzi and sauna are not functional.

If this is a Best Western, I'd give it a higher rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I have just returned home after my first trip to Shanghai. I was fortunate enough that the group that I was travelling with booked the new(ish) Marriott Luwan. The high quality is exemplified from the moment that you step out of your cab with the warm welcome from Harry and the other porters to the front desk check in. I had reserved a suite and was very impressed with the size, cleanliness, comfort and amenities. Dinner at the Blue Moon was excellent Chinese food and very reasonably priced. The morning breakfast buffet definitely covered all palates and the Executive lounge was a welcome finish to a day of work.

While there, I was licky enough to be invited along with my colleagues, to the grand opening night of their new top floor / roof top bar "YU", a wonderful event!

As said before, from the front door, to the top Management (who were always visible) the staff here are a truly great team!

Yes, it is in a new area with not much around, but the taxis are so cheap, all the action that you need is only 10 minutes and a few dollars away.

I look forward to returning to Shanghai and this will be my hotel of choice!

Room Tip: If offered, try to use the upgrade to Executive Suite level - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel is rightly ranked high in the list of the best hotels in Shanghai. I've now stayed here five times for 2-3 nights each stay over the last year, and have enjoyed a friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff, with clean and comfortable rooms and attentive service in their restaurants, from their concierge desk and their front desk.

Very good breakfast buffet, but make sure to get it as part of your room rate. I usually adventure out on an evening, but their room service has an adequate selection and its presentation is as good as any for eat-in-your room.

You will feel well-looked after here at the Luwan location, and have a terrific vista on the River View side. The Metro is fairly close if you want to get around on your own, but make sure to take a hotel business card with their map because as a new property (just over a year old), some taxi drivers don't know where it is yet.

Also a terrific value and a hotel I will recommend with confidence and come back to myself in Shanghai.

Room Tip: I am a Marriott Rewards member but not any special level, but every time I have visited I asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I will preface my review by stating that I just checked in last night! However, as a world traveler I can emphatically state that this hotel is one of the nicest I have stayed in anywhere. The hotel is only a year old so it's all brand new, including the huge gym, pool, restaurants and very well appointed and quiet rooms. There are plenty of common areas and the young staff is very attentive.

I requested a pick up at the airport which was wonderful after a 27 hour trip over. They were waiting for me with a clearly marked sign and a brand new, spotless mercedes to take me to the hotel (about an hour drive). Check in was seamless.

The only downfall is the location as it is located in a new area of town with not much around in terms of restaurants and shops. But, the counter to that is that you have glorious views of the Huang Pu river where you can watch the shipping activity move up and down the river.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed 2nights. I m a platinum but hotel said they didnt hv my rewards number even though i hv called twice before to confirm. Anyway was upgraded to executive floor but no welcome gift. Went to chinese reatsurant downstairs and since it was past 8 and we (2 of us)werent that hungry, we ordered 1appetizer and 2 main. Waitress kept asking if this is all what we want and pressure us to order more food!!!. At night i went to front desk and ask wheres my gift, they then presented it.
Next day buffet has huge selection however utencils were not cleaned. Staff there were unattentive. When i ordered egg white omelette from chef, he looks very reluctant! Perhaps it was already 10am n he even told me buffet stops at 10.30!
Gym looks good but didnt hv time to try. Overall good value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan

Address: No.99 Jiangbin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200023, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Dapuqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shanghai Marriott Hotel Luwan is centrally located along the Huangpu river in the new CBD of Huangpu district. Surrounded by river side park, shopping complex and office buildings, it’s an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is adjacent to the Puxi EXPO site and is easily accessible to Pudong through the Dapu tunnel. Tianzifang, Xintiandi and the Mercedes Benz Arena are all within 5km from the hotel. With its unique location the hotel is not only accessible but also enjoys a spectacular view of the Huangpu river and Pudong EXPO sight. There are 290 tastefully decorated rooms including 6 river view suites. Other hotel facilities include multiple original food & beverage outlets, 24 hour health club and an in-door swimming pool. A total of 1,600 sqm of function space is available for banquets, weddings, meetings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Hotel Shanghai Luwan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.