We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1088 Xiuyan Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201315, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #139 of 3,975 Hotels in Shanghai
Lower Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for business and it was ok. The room was clean, but a little musky smelling at first. I think it's the way the bathroom is situated -- very open to the sleeping space. Cool looking design, but I can see how the room could hold water over time. Internet access was a bit spotty but workable.

The staff was helpful, the location was pretty good--close to a lot of offices, and the common areas were interesting. Some evenings the bar had live music which made for a pleasant diversion.

Overall, fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and comments. We are pleased to hear that you are generally satisfied with our service and facility. However, we do notice that we have some of the points that we can improve on to make your perfect stay. Regarding the smell you mentioned, I have informed our housekeepers and they will continually spray all the rooms after the cleaning. We offer rooters to enhance your in house wifi experience upon request, you are welcomed to call our operator to have one in the room during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    104
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
23
18
11
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was my second several-day stay at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao. The hotel rooms are high quality and the elevators to get up and down are generally quick. The lobby staff are quite helpful, and the espresso at the lobby bar is quite good. The breakfast buffet is outstanding in variety and quality of food, serving fresh salad ingredients, fruits, miso soup, congee, western breakfast food, etc. The coffee served at breakfast time is mediocre and varies greatly in temperature depending how long the server has been carrying the beverage around, but they are smiling and helpful.

The hotel is in a reasonable area of restaurants and shops, but the nearest town centre is Wanda. Cabs are nearby beside the KFC outlet and a ride to Wanda is inexpensive although I prefer to walk the 3 km or so. Wanda has excellent restaurants and shopping and is almost entirely devoid of foreigners, which makes a visitor feel immersed in Chinese life.

The major downside of the hotel is its remoteness. 20km to the subway, which is at Longyan Road at the end of the maglev train from Shanghai Pudong airport. A cab ride is the only reasonable way to get to the subway and can be slow due to heavy traffic at times.

Internet is expensive in the hotel room but is free in the lobby and is quite good. Only when the lobby is really crowded with internet users does the speed slow noticeably. The coffee bar in the lobby makes internet surfing more expensive.

I recommend this hotel for business visits to the South Shanghai area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for continually staying with us and spending your priceless time on these detailed comments. We are delighted to hear from you that you have enjoyed your both stay with us. Though you are generally satisfied with all the service we offered, we recognized that there are some of the points we can improve on to make your stay much better . I have informed the manager of the breakfast service, we will change the coffee and tea times to times to make sure that you will be served with fresh and hot drinks during the breakfast. We are looking forward to have you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you're wondering why have you never heard of the area the hotel is situated in, don't worry, its because the hotel isn't sited in a tourist destination. Rather this hotel caters to the needs of business travelers with offices in the area.

The only other downside to the hotel is that the variety of food at the cafe restaurant food isn't as stellar as the quality of its rooms. Good enough if you need a quick bite, but if you want greater variety, there are plenty of other choices nearby. However, when you have breakfast in the cafe, choose a seat by the windows, the garden is modern and open, with a great scene to munch your food to.

Other than that, the hotel is great. The gym is definitely worth packing for, and the pool with the see-through bottom is definitely a great selling point if you're into swimming.

The hotel furnishing is very modern and clean. From the moment you see the facade, you get a sense of open space, and a modern setting, which is well reflected in the lobby, gym, down to the room.

The room is large and spacious, with a huge comfortable bed. The option of having soft or hard pillows on the bed is a definitely a nice touch. Although the table and chair really isn't a comfortable option if you need to work in the room.

Also, in the sweltering heat of Shanghai's summer, the ice-cold air-condition is a god-send.

Service in the hotel might be a little slow, but everyone is approachable and happy to help. Although some of the concierge staff tend to look bored and don't smile, they are very helpful when it counts.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you're in Shanghai for sightseeing. The closest underground train station is Long Yang Lu, which apparently is still a 15 minute drive away according to the taxi drivers, and the hotel is a good 30 minute (approx RMB 80) into the town areas.

However, if you're working nearby, this hotel is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and your detailed comments. We are delighted to be informed about your satisfaction of your stay. We apologize that the food variety in our SML all day dining restaurant on the ground floor did not meet your needs. We will try our best to satisfy our guests as much as our accommodation does. On the other hand, I would like to invite you for a bite in our Guofeng Restaurant on the third floor which serves authentic Cantonese food and Dim sum Buffet at the weekend at a great value rate. Regarding the location, the nearest subway station which is only 5 minutes walking distance is under construction, thus we have scheduled shuttle bus to Longyang station every day. Our concierge staff is willing to help you for more information. I have informed the head of the concierge about your observation. He will make sure that the smile service delivered during your next stay! Look forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel seems catering to business people rather than holiday-goer, even its repeating TV commercial portraying a working lady emphasized on this.

Room amenities and hotel facilities has nothing to complaint about, the swimming pool on the 24th floor is something not to be missed, previous posting complaint that the management do not allow guests to use the pool if they do not have a swim cap, the management had now rectify the problem by providing free usage of swim cap to the guest, kudos for its fast response.

The only drawback of the hotel is its location, the hotel is far from town and any metro station, the management should consider providing more/regular shutter services to the airport, metro station, town (the Bund), and etc.

Given that I am the regular customer to this hotel chain, it is in my opinion that this branch would probably be the best among the rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and your five star review. We are delighted to be informed about your satisfaction of your recent stay. Our cantilever swimming pool has been voted by travellers as the Top 10 amazing swimming pool in the world. Thank you for your recognization of the service improvement. We treasure your comments and suggestions. Regarding the shuttle bus service, an afternoon pattern has been added to the schedule to subway station.Our concierge staff is willing to assist you for more information. Look forward your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel staff were generally helpful, but noticed that the staff were young and inexperienced. At breakfast, my plate, juice, coffee and cutlery were cleared while I was getting more food. At times, they would stand around and not clear empty plates from the table. As there are a variety of eateries around, when asked if there are any suitable for Muslims, the front desk was not sure. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, was pleasantly surprised with a tray of whole fruits in my room one day when I returned. The hotel should consider having more trips to the subway station and offer return trips if advanced bookings were arranged. It was difficult taking a cab from Longyang station as none of the drivers were willing to turn on the meters and for a flat fare instead. They would also ask us to cover their fare for their return trip from the hotel to the station! A very well-known brand and good place to stay if you want to avoid the traffic to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and comment on our service. We do apologize about the breakfast service which shows some of our new staffs do not have initiative in the service. I have informed with the restaurant manager and service training will be carried out soon to make sure all the staff with the line of standard service. Regarding the taxi, we would like to suggest you to take standard taxi which will take you from long yang station to hotel with meters with no doubts at the rate from RMB 30-40.In the other hand, our concierge service is willing to help you to call a standard taxi upon request. Look forward your next stay with us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel staffs generally spoke fair amount of English. Ready to help whenever needed, even when I was away from the hotel and needed them to speak to locals over the phone (e.g. giving direction to the cabbie who lost the way back to hotel and another to my office). The hotel is fairly new, hence not many cabbies really know how to get there. Rooms were clean, full amenities, complimentary bottled water and was truly enjoyable. Hotel is at walking distance to shopping malls and restaurants.

And now a few tips:

Shanghai Metro (subway) is one of best public transport. The nearest station to the hotel is "Longyang Road" about 20KMs away. You can commute to downtown, where the iconic Oriental TV Tower is (at "Lujiaxui Station") using the Shanghai Metro (subway).
There is a total of 8 Subway lines. You will need to go to Metro 2. The same line also reaches all the way to Pudong International airport but will require a line interchange in between.

1. Very very important - if you are travelling without a local aid who can speak Mandarin, you need to keep the hotel phone number and address close. Often times, they are the only ones who will come to your rescue to communicate with the locals.

2. Get "Taxi Cards" at concierge desk, most hotels do have this. The hotel staffs will write down whichever destination you want to travel to in local language (Mandarin) on the card. You can just flash it to the cabbies or the locals. Most cabs/taxis are VW Santana Vista model. If you see one, you probably can flag it down. Just be vary, city cabbies will likely beat every traffic regulation there is. So buckle up when seated.

3. If you are getting an airport transfer to the hotel, it's cheaper to have the hotel arrange it than getting your own transport at arrival. I had to pay at least additional RMB200 than what the hotel quoted.

4. Public toilets are available in most part of the town. But no water is available in the stalls and only some might have toilet papers and soaps. So keep handy tissue packs, wet tissues or sanitizer.

5. And finally if you are going on the river cruise at Huangpu river (you need to go, it's a delight), be there earlier than the departure time stated because they do depart quite timely. I was thinking that'll be the gate open time and missed my first ride. They were kind enough to allocate me to the next ship.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Moreover I would like to thank you for deciding to stay with us to spend your Holidays in Shanghai. Hotel is ideally located in the the centre of the great Pudong, 25 minutes driving away from the Shanghai International airport. We are so delighted to be helpful during your holidays. I would like to invite you for another trip in Shanghai with us and develop some local areas with shanghai traditional ancient towns and typical local food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for five nights on a business trip. The hotel was very busy but the staff coped well and the service was good, the room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The real high point however was the pool on the 24th floor, with a glass bottom looking down onto the street below- not recommended if you suffer from vertigo!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and most specifically our cantilever swimming pool. Indeed we are the only one in China to have a indoor swimming pool and as you rightly said it is amazing.
We all very much look forward to welcoming you again in Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao

Address: No.1088 Xiuyan Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201315, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#118 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#126 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao is invested by SPG Land (Holdings) Limited, managed by InterContinental Hotels Group, one of the largest International Hotel Management Group.As the first International branded hotel and the travel landscape in Zhoupu and Kangqiao area, Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong kangqiao is ideally located at the center of Pudong New District. The hotel is close to Shanghai New International Expo Center and connects to national-level zone such as Kangqiao Industrial Zone and Zhangjiang Hi-tech Park.The hotel consists of 390 spacious and contemporary designed guest rooms and suites offering a higher standard of accommodation, personalized service and a host of special privileges and amenities. Featuring four restaurants and bars, 1,100sqm pillar-less Grand Ballroom with seven multi-function meeting rooms and a 680sqm Winter Garden that can accommodate up to 1,000 persons, the hotel is the perfect venue for conference, exhibition, meetings and events in any style. One of the additional features of the hotel is the Cantilever Indoor Swimming Pool, which allows you to swim 24 floors above the ground with nothing but a glass bottom underneath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.