We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1088 Xiuyan Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201315, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #132 of 3,950 Hotels in Shanghai
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Tremendous Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Since our stay here was part of an all inclusive package tour, I am assuming it was a very competitive room rate, as airfares alone would have been about 50% of the 8 day package.
The 4 other hotels on the tour were similar standard, but this was probably one of the better ones.There was Chinese and Western breakfast, but it seemed to lack table service.
It is located in the Pudong district which is about 11 stops from the airport on the Green Metro Line2.
We did make enquires about the nearest metro station (Longyang Rd) but were unable determine if it was walking distance as the advice was to get a taxi. There is also a Maglev line from there to the Airport (As per the Metro Map).
While waiting for transfer to Airport spent few hours after Check out at the nearby Mall which also has a huge supermarket and department store.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are so glad that you had a nice closure with us of your great trip in Shanghai. The place you went with the supermarket and department stores called WanDa Plaza which is 3 kilometers away from our hotel and offers bilingual cinema and Starbucks. Regarding the breakfast table service, I have informed the restaurant leader. We will pay more attention on the breakfast service. We look forward to have you soon in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    89
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
16
9
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We live in Shanghai and are gold members of the Priority Club, so decided to stay a Saturday night for Mother's Day and take a little vacation, mainly to use the pool! We booked using points (only 10,000 points!) and the manager Jeff went out of his way to welcome us. He offered us a crib right away, gave us discount coupons for the hotel bar, walked us in, then stopped in to check on us as he was heading home and told us that he'd put our rooms in for free breakfast on the executive floor as it wasn't included with our rooms, and had some cookies and fruit for the kids delivered to our room.

This is a great "destination" hotel for a night. The pool is beautiful, unique, and empty (unusual for China!) Swimming to the edge of the cantilevered pool and then standing up on the edge in the widow, over the side of the building was a very cool experience, even though the glass parts were smaller than expected.

It wouldn't be great if you were staying long, as it is too far from the downtown, activities, and restaurants. The hotel restaurants and bars were virtually empty, which was perfect for us since we could let the kids run around and not bother anyone; it would be lonely if you were traveling alone though.

We ate at the "Sports Bar" and it was quite Chinese. For example, there was a "beef burger" on the menu, then a "bacon and cheese burger." Normally, you'd expect the "bacon and cheese burger" to be a beef burger with bacon and cheese added to it - however the sandwich actually had no beef, just bacon, egg, lettuce and tomato. We've lived in China for 6 years and it tasted good, so we didn't mind.... but a regular traveler might be a bit upset.

My husband was also very impressed with the gym - all new equipment in good shape.

Overall, we had such a relaxing experience and good time just hanging out at the pool we would rate it excellent. We will be back again with more friends!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for spending your time on the comment. We are so glad that you and your family had a great vacation with us. All our staff was trainned to offer a personal attention to our distinguished guests. We aim to be a great hotel that guests love. I would like to take this oppotunity to introduce some family-friendly get away places near by the hotel to you: Ancient town- Xin Chang and Shanghai Wild Animal Park. Welcome you to contact our concierge for more details during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I normally stay here when I have business within Pudong area as our company 's local office have a corporate agreement with the hotel. Nonetheless, its always a pleasure staying at this hotel as the rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable although at times there may that slight tinge of cigarette smoke smell left over by the previous guest (tends to happen in most China hotels although the floor/rooms is designated 'non-smoking'. Breakfast is typically a varied and good spread of local and western options but tend to close rather early before the stipulated closing time. The Chinese restaurant serves pretty good Chinese dishes too. There is also quite a number of restaurants within the hotel's vicinity which one can opt for for more choices. Taxi ride from Pudong Airport is approximately 45-60 mins.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are pleased to hear your satisfaction of our service and facilities. Regarding the closing time of the breakfast you mentioned, I will feedback to the management team to make sure all our services are up to standard. When you come back next time, please try our world famous cantilever swimming pool. Wish you a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed whilst on a course in a local International school. One of the better Holiday Inns I've been to. Reasonable gym and the weirdest pool with a glass bottom overhanging the 24th floor- but the water wasn't heated so no swimming for me. No surprises.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It is our honor to host you in our hotel. We are glad to be informed about your satisfaction of our service. Our cantilever swimming pool is one of the amazing pools in the world. We have warming system around the pool under the marbles. However, we may not warm the water as we did during winter in this spring season. We will consider extending the warming system for the water upon our guest’s requirements. Thank you once again for your comments. We are looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

we actually live in SH, but I saw the the hotel pool is on top ten pools list, so we decided to stay there one night to try the pool. it is a nice pool in general, but I don't think it is compareable to other pools in the list. the glass bottom has large concrete frames to hold the large glass. if the frames would be more narrow, the glass could be bigger, it will be much more exciting!

the hotel is nothing special. one thing to mention is that there is a piece of paper in bathroom written with" Dear guests, if just in case you forgot something in the room........." I didn't read because I didn't think I would forget anything becasue normally I don't. But unfortunately, I forgot my swimming suit in the room. After we checked out, we had lunch close to the hotel for almost 2h, but hotel didn't call me. I didn't realize this until I got home. then I called the hotel, they confimred my swimming suit was with them and asked me to go back to get it after they got to know I was from SH!! it is 1h drive from my home to the hotel. then I asked them to courier to me. they agreed, so I thought this was not too bad. Guess what, the next day I got the courier and it was pay by receiver, cost is only 6RMB(1USD), a 5-star hotel! Maybe I should have read that piece of paper to see what is on it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear XIXI,
Thank you very much for staying with us and comment on our hotel. I do apologize for what you have experieced regarding the Lost and Found. I have informed the management team about the service. We will continually trainning our staff on customer service towards our hotel mission: Great Hotel Guests Love.
Regarding the room reminder you mentioned is written: Forget Something? If you have forgotten any essential toiletry item, then please contact the housekeeping department. We will be pleased to deliver with our compliments: shaving cream. disposable razor,comb, toothbrush, cotton wool and female sanitary products.
Once again, we sincerely apologize to the inconvenient may caused to you. Please allow us to have you again in futhure with better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My son and I made the trek to the hotel for the pool alone. We read about this on the internet and just had to do it. Yes, the pool is VERY cool! It was our last night stay in Shanghai so we headed to the Holiday Inn Pudong Kangqaio for a little less noise and a unforgettable swim. Hotel staff was great, very clean and large rooms, easy to grab a cab to and from the Maglev station (around 35rmb one way).

That's the only thing keeping it a 5. If you're a tourists... It's a trek to get here. Number 2 or 7 line subway to the Maglev station is out of town to begin with, then add another 15-20 cab ride to the hotel. You are pretty far out there so not a huge selection of restraunts compared to town, but I assume a lot of business travelers versus tourists so maybe not a big deal for most. We ate in town before heading out to the hotel. (There is a restaurant on site but to be fair we did not eat there.)

We went to the Pudong airport the next morning and the cab cost us 160rmb. It would have been faster and more fun to take a cab back to the Maglev and take that to the airport. Lessons learned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciated your comments. Hotel is located in the center of Pudong New Development Area. We have selections between local and international bars and restaurants just opposite the hotel. Within 3 kilometers, we have a shopping plaza which has various kinds of shops, dinning restaurants and coffee shops. Please let us know when you come back, our professional concierge staff will be willing to show you around. Once again,thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel recently and I really enjoyed it. Room decoration was nice and the staff very helpful. I also appreciated the quality of the breakfast and lunch. Definitely for business trip travelers since there is not so much to do around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn K, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We do appreciate your comments. We have just won the "2012 most preferred hotel for business travelers of China’ by Starlight awards . We will keep doing better to meet all our customers' needs. Looking forward to have you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao

Address: No.1088 Xiuyan Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201315, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#115 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#139 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao is invested by SPG Land (Holdings) Limited, managed by InterContinental Hotels Group, one of the largest International Hotel Management Group.As the first International branded hotel and the travel landscape in Zhoupu and Kangqiao area, Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong kangqiao is ideally located at the center of Pudong New District. The hotel is close to Shanghai New International Expo Center and connects to national-level zone such as Kangqiao Industrial Zone and Zhangjiang Hi-tech Park.The hotel consists of 390 spacious and contemporary designed guest rooms and suites offering a higher standard of accommodation, personalized service and a host of special privileges and amenities. Featuring four restaurants and bars, 1,100sqm pillar-less Grand Ballroom with seven multi-function meeting rooms and a 680sqm Winter Garden that can accommodate up to 1,000 persons, the hotel is the perfect venue for conference, exhibition, meetings and events in any style. One of the additional features of the hotel is the Cantilever Indoor Swimming Pool, which allows you to swim 24 floors above the ground with nothing but a glass bottom underneath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong Kangqiao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.